upgrading...non toyota persons need not reply

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 18:47
ThreadID: 29218 Views:2744 Replies:19 FollowUps:51
thinking about up grading ....
what should I get
100 series v8 or turbo diesel and your reasons why?

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 18:54

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 18:54
TD fuel economy of 11l/100k's and grunt although the V8 has awesome power.
Is this your xmas pressy from the dragon lady?
AnswerID: 145805

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:31

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:31
no! absolutely not...its from me lover
FollowupID: 399306

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:17

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:17
"...its from me lover"

Didn't know you felt that way about Des Lexic...oh, no pause after "me".....

I guess what you were trying to say was "...its from MY lover"

Sirry irriot!!! (shaking head)
FollowupID: 399311

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:07
yes gary ..we are not all script writers like you...you irriot!
she, my lover...(certainly not des) will never be divulged
FollowupID: 399318

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:17

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:17
Gosh oh darn!!!!!!!!!!! NOBODY LOVES ME sob sob
Oh well tomorrow is another day'
FollowupID: 399321

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:59

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:59
I do Des, with a passion

and Nudie, don't EVER tell anyone about us OK?

FollowupID: 399335

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:07

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:07
Oh Bonzie, my faith in humanity has been restored. Don't tell Marie though'
FollowupID: 399336

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:10

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:10
Not a word Lexie

FollowupID: 399337

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 09:05

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 09:05
Great to see Nudie getting heaps of advice to help him with his difficult decision from his very very dear friends
FollowupID: 399362

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 09:16

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 09:16
its just a pity some of them are nissan owners isnt it...they mean well I guess hehehe
FollowupID: 399364

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:23

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:23
Toyota Corolla or a RAV....You don't seem to get out much.

Only one gathering in three years...tut tut

Get the V8 and fit a foxtail on the aerial....hahahahahahahaha
AnswerID: 145807

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:31

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:31
i'll ignore this comment......zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
FollowupID: 399307

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:41

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:41
I think the 4.2TD would be the way to go. Only one other suggestion though; get it from a Nissan dealer, NOT a Toyota dealer...hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 399313

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:01

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:01
contempt is how i'll deal with this comment...
FollowupID: 399315

Reply By: Philo - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:52

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:52
i think the diesel is the way to go, i have drove the lexus v8, and it used alot of fuel, compared to my old mans diesel, ok it had more acceleration, though the torque of the diesel is a lot better
AnswerID: 145819

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:03
my thinking too but ...service costs? and cost of diesel? can buy a lot of petrol fuel for difference between petrol and diesel configuration
FollowupID: 399316

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:52

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 21:52
hmm, upgrade eh, just what are you upgrading from. Must be one sick puppy if you're calling it an upgrade. Do you want an upgrade or just a new vehicle.
AnswerID: 145820

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:00

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:00
mmm only sensible no one other... answer to date
new vehicle mad dog?
although going up to v8 or td would be an upgrade would it not?
FollowupID: 399314

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 08:56

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 08:56
maybe maybe not, depends on the intended use and what you're upgrading from.
If not travelling remote go the v8 for the power.
FollowupID: 399360

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 09:18

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 09:18
upgrading from 4.5 100 series of course.....
nissan owners would say im downgrading ...but what would they know:)
FollowupID: 399365

Reply By: fox - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:13

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:13
Hi Nude Nut,
Our 2 cents worth is go for the V8-5 speed auto...Ours is great, the sweetest motor for all round driving and a lot quieter than the TD.

Our highway consumption, loaded but not towing is 13.8L/100k and loaded and towing a new Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition also loaded we get 17.1L/100k.

Yes, the TD is going to use 2 or 3 litres less fuel per 100k and this only equates to a saving of a few dollars($25-$35 per 1000 kilometres). The TD is $12,500 more than the V8 petrol to purchase.....Without doing the maths, Blind Freddy can see that it will take a very long time to wipe out the $12,500 price difference...after which, the extra economy of the diesel will start to save you money.

Overlander magazine did an article on just this scenario and if you can use their calculations as a guide, then after having travelled 350,000 kilometres, they reckon you will break even in your TD. Not many of us will keep a vehicle from
0- 350,000k's

If your passion is to own a LC TD, then I would suggest that you wait til 2007 when the all new replacement for the 100 series is released here in OZ. The all NEW Landcruiser will have a 4.4 litre V8 Twin Turbo diesel. That should really be something...but again, it's bound to have a price tag to match.

Back to today and we are very happy with our V8 petrol, it's a lot smoother and quieter on the road.

Happy Camping
Rick & Julie
AnswerID: 145825

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 01:37

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 01:37
those calculations assume that the petrol and diesel models are worth the same second hand-which I dont think they are??
FollowupID: 399352

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:09

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:09
4.4? but 2007........i cant wait till then....i want it now!
FollowupID: 399385

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:51

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:51
Nudie,

Both are fine choices and either is the answer but do the sums on the initial purchase price difference, kms you will drive per year, and the extra fuel consumption that the V8 will use over the diesel and of course the difference in fuel prices.

The answer you get from that will be your choice and in most cases you would be in front with the V8.

However if you are doing a lot of remote area driving then maybe diesel would be best for safety and availability.

Both are excellent vehicles.
AnswerID: 145834

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:12

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:12
i know you mean well but....you have'nt helped me one little bit hehehehe

yep excellent...but which one...wont get black again though

FollowupID: 399386

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:01

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:01
I bought a 4.2 TD recently and it is brilliant.

The V8 is a great vehicle too.

It's not about comparison of fuel and servicing cost, for me the diesel choice involved: 1) personal preference 2) better range out of the tanks and 3) fewer bits to go wrong.

I aim to hold the vehicle a little longer - worth it when you have had some extras fitted and loss (depreciation) averaged over the longer term is lower..
AnswerID: 145838

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:03

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:03
Nudie, If you are planning on going outback a fair bit then go the diesel, the extra range will be a boon, if not then go the V8, the extra boot will be a boon.

GWBoon

AnswerID: 145839

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:45

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:45
amost thought you were calling me a hoon....
yep undecided.....v8 or td...or wait till 2007?
FollowupID: 399432

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:37

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 23:37
the new TD has some fantastic power and the V8 is very thirsty. I woudn't put it on gas , so my answer would be go the TD. I do however have a V8 Rigid axle available lol . Trying to get TD's with the same in the new year . Looks like it will happen .
AnswerID: 145842

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:14

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:14
had one car on gas and that went up in smoke...swmbo survived the ordeal....:(

wont have it again
FollowupID: 399387

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:46

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:46
Gas is a little diffrent these day lol ,, Go the injected version , more HP than running on petrol and around 100 k per tank better off . Down side is that a kit fitted will cost you around 3 to 4 k
FollowupID: 399415

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:46

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:46
nope not agian
FollowupID: 399434

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 07:08

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 07:08
I think a Patrol would suit your purposes!!!!

AnswerID: 145850

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:16

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:16
do you have two going cheap so you can afford to get a lancruiser eh?
FollowupID: 399388

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:46

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:46
!MPG:4!

FollowupID: 399397

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:13

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:13
its a yuk badge....almost as ugly as the car
FollowupID: 399399

Reply By: Dazmit - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 07:22

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 07:22
I went the TD as I use it for towing a van - I love the extra torque of the TD over the V8 and with a Dtronic it is much better again - When I test drove a V8 I expected it to go better than what it did.
I went through the arguments of petrol Vs diesel when I bought a 98 100 series 4.5 l petrol with the theory that I could buy a lot of fuel for $10 000 saving in purchase price. Sounds great in theory but I didn't add the $10 000 to the vehicle loan and have it in a seperate Fuel bank account - hence it cost me dearly every week when filling up.
Only trouble is now that diesel is a fair amount more expensive than petrol so it probably evens it out a lot , mind you I love the sound and torque of the TD.

Darryl
Brisbane
AnswerID: 145852

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:18

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:18
decisions .....decisions.........
FollowupID: 399389

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 08:12

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 08:12
V8 Nudie.....

they're a lovely car!!!!!

;-)
AnswerID: 145854

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:08

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 14:08
so is the td
FollowupID: 399384

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:00

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:00
Patrols are lovely vehicles.. added advantage is they will go places the Lancruiser 'soft roader' wont!!!!

FollowupID: 399407

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:06

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:06
yeah...really...pull the other one
FollowupID: 399409

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:45

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:45
No...no...The 100 series will get there...... just that when either the front end or the front diff breaks you'll need a tow out again. And deep pockets IF you modify them and therefore void the warranty.

It's no secret that Nissan drive lines are stronger.

Watched a Rodeo and a 100 series drive a play area a couple of weeks back, rating about easy/maybe medium"ish", the rodeo got through fine, the 100 following it broke it's diff as soon as it reached the medium"ish" bit.....

Nudie, I have been in both the TD and the V8 at our clubs DAP track, and they are both awesome cars.

If your driving doesn't include anything too hard, go the V8...... the TD I think is still available with the rigid front end????? (Willing to stand corrected here!) So for a bit more off road, The TD!!!

Either way they are a beautiful vehicle.
FollowupID: 399412

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:47

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:47
thanks brian...your comments appreciated
FollowupID: 399435

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:04

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:04
Nudie,

As we have an 80 series GXL turbo, I'd have to say go with the TD. Economy, effortless torque and good resale. Add a Dtronic and 170L rear fuel tank, and you've got the ultimate tourer. Pity about the IFS.

V8? Powerful, ultra quiet and thirsty. So quiet, in fact, that one has to keep checking that the engine is still going. Pity about the IFS.

Save money with the V8? Dunno, but you don't see many of these bean counters driving the standard diesel wagons, in an attempt to save money. They're $7K cheaper than a V8 too. Buy a lot of fuel for.....etc. Umm, keep healhtier too, winding those windows up & down, by hand.

There's just those dirty bloody diesel bowsers, why can't all servos leave some gloves at the pumps?

Your choice, Nudie, hope you enjoy whichever you pick,

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 145883

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:14

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:14
standard is out as i need..no want an auto....and they come with power windows so i guess i will have to keep up my regular jogging
FollowupID: 399395

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:44

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:44
Real nice prices at the moment on the v8, and fuel quality for diesel still means no efi injecters on t/d...only the pump.....so i suppose it comes down to what u will be doing with the cruiser....if u can gas the v8, then that would be the cheapest option by far....but if you tow alot of weight or go off road where there is no gas.......the diesel would be better....it will take many kms to pay back the extra initioal cost of the diesel......u may be able to get the v8 gassed from new as a deal??
AnswerID: 145897

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:14

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:14
no gas for me
FollowupID: 399400

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:14

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:14
Not even the new injected gas??....power increase, fully automatic, belly tanks mean no spare wheel problems......
The diesel would keep its value alot better....i mean a LOT better....might be worth considering....keeping your 80 till 007 :-)
FollowupID: 399426

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:49

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:49
nope
read above where swmbo was was driving a gas car at the time when it went up...she is still alive...so need to get something else
FollowupID: 399436

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 06:41

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 06:41
Ok, one more feather for the diesels' cap :@) Petrol and gas are on par for combustability....i suppose the gas has the extra "not oem" variable.
Happy hunting
FollowupID: 399478

Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:59
C'mon Nudie, make up your mind. The suspense is killing us.

You've already decided on a 100 series Toorak Taxi. Just flip a coin and go with it. I'm sure the other soccer mum's will understand LOLOLOLOL

AnswerID: 145907

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:04

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:04
i'll let you know...when i make the double sided coin...dont need it for so much bu swmbo ....she wants a beema, merc (sedan)....but i might have to toss her for it (not her she;s too heavy...the coin) ....i'd rather she have a alfa 147? ( i think thats the model)....they go like the clappers
FollowupID: 399408

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:04

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:04
hahahahaha I thought so. You've already decided (99.999999%) but could'nt resist playing some games just in case someone thought of something you had'nt considered.

Careful, you could end up with the X5 :)))))))
FollowupID: 399414

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:42

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:42
like michael from mossvale...we are a 2 4wd but landcruiser family...
swmbo wants something not so big...it aint me...
she drives mine and i drive hers
when we swap i can trade mine in?
FollowupID: 399431

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 00:46

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 00:46
Fox may have the right idea re waiting till 2007. It's not THAT far away if you're not having any real problems with your current chariots.

The only possible problem that I'd be worried about is would they have the same clowns designing it as they used on the latest Hilux :))))))
FollowupID: 399472

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:00

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:00
mmm....probably would have same designers.....theyve built one ugly car...so on with the next...ex nissan designers?
FollowupID: 399481

Reply By: OMN - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:09

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:09
Same as many others comments but i went throguh the same scenario as yourself and asked these basic questions,

1/ how much will be city driving vs country or offraod
2/ price difference between the models
3/ trade in values down the track
- if used off road a fair bit both will lose more value than a school drop off car
4/ noise, do i like the sound of V8 or diesel
5/ cost of fuel for both
6/ cost of servicing
7/ km's i expect to drive
8/ do i want to accesorise the vehicle and if so what is my total spend capabiltiy
9/ how do they drive

there were a few other questions as well but at the end of the day i went the V8 and have spent much of the differecne on accesories and i love it. Have driven both the turbo and non turbo since when mine has had somethign doen to it and was just so happy to get back into the V8 after the diesel.

As for fuel economy it sicks but it is actualyl better than the 4.0litre V8 Lexus SC 400 i traded out of.

hope this helps

AnswerID: 145923

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:51
thanks mark
FollowupID: 399438

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:10

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:10
Go all out and buy a 60 and get a bit of mobile history LOL

AnswerID: 145924

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:51
great pics ..but too old for me
FollowupID: 399437

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 06:45

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 06:45
What the 4wd or I is to old.

FollowupID: 399480

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:45

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:45
Buy a secondhand 'as new' (under 50,000km's) live-axle, petrol, GXL Toorak Tractor and get Brunswick Diesels / Linquip / Mark's to fit a blueprinted 6.5 V8 TD in it.

Kings, Koni's, a trip to Tyrepower and then drop by ARB while your at it.

Simple, reliable, economical, legal, diesel, V8, auto, sounds good.....goes better.

Nudenut, you'll be laughing all the way to the sperm bank with that baby in the driveway. Should come in cheaper too.
AnswerID: 145928

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:52

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:52
sperm bank...at my age....good grief!
FollowupID: 399439

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:32

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:32
Bugger the 100 get a ute so you can get to these sort of spots with the added advantage of there being no chance of bumping into nissan owners !MPG:8!
AnswerID: 145941

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:53

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:53
my accountant keeps telling me that so i dont have to pay fringe benefits
FollowupID: 399441

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:35

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:35
So I guess the accountants right - so it will be a 78/79series with a rigid front end and factory TD :-)) How could you say no??

phil
FollowupID: 399448

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:03

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:03
but i wont listen...ive become very much used to electric windows and auto
FollowupID: 399482

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 09:23

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 09:23
Geeze, I was about to say the only problem with the 78/79's were the electric windows. Theres no chance of an auto until maybe the next series in a years time.

If you plan on doing extended desert trips, go the TD. For everything else, go the V8.
FollowupID: 399492

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 10:04

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 10:04
ive talked you out of not being able to talk me into getting a 78/79 series???

but yeah...the v8 sounds ok

but so to does the td

i'll procrastinate a little more...
wait till swmbo's in a good mood..........
FollowupID: 399495