Cargo barriers

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 10:31
ThreadID: 29206 Views:1890 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
G'Day all,
I hope everone had a great Christmas and did'nt eat and drink as much as I did, because I do'nt feel that flash at the moment.
On a more serious note ... anyone out there considering getting a cargo barrier fitted ...DO IT! forget the cost or inconveniences, JUST DO IT! A good friend of mine just bought a new 4by and was in the process of changing all the gear over, and fitting a new barrier. On Christmas eve, he was stopped at a set of lights, and got nailed from behind by a small car doing obout 80klms. His tool box became a missile and nearly took his head off. He lived, but he'll be in hospital for quite a while. It is expected that he'll have brain damage.
So, as I said ... DO IT NOW, get it fitted before you put anything back there. It could happen to you.
Bazza.

Reply By: marcus - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 10:42

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 10:42
You are right Capt.It is one of the last modifications i have left to do and in hindsight perhaps should have been the first.It is time i organised it.
Hope your friend can make a good recovery
Cheers Mark
AnswerID: 145770

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 10:45

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 10:45
Mate, that's really sad/bad news about your mate. I'm a bit confused how the tool box got fired forwards if a rear-ender though? Usually, in a rear-ender any stuff in the back is flung backwards (not really, but the effect is the same as the vehicle is thrust forwards due to the impact of the vehicle hitting it and any gear in the back is sort of left in the same spot and thus hits the back door/s etc). Generally, stuff flies forwards if the vehicle is the one doing the front-end damage (ie: if your vehicle runs into the back of a semi (heaven forbid), or a brick wall....then anything in the back is gunna want to keep going ......and these are the things that can clobber you in the back of the scone!!!
Sorry for splitting hairs, but I am a bit confused...
AnswerID: 145771

Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:06

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:06
G'Day Roachie,
Apparently a large metal tool box was sitting on top of his spare tyre. Not a great location anyway, in hind sight. The Police report states that there is indications that it bounced off the back door before it traveled forward. The small car that that hit him never had the brakes applied and ended up under the 4by. The young lady driver is also in a serious condition with multiple injuries. No one wins. Especially both the families.
Bazza.
FollowupID: 399265

Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:08

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:08
Believe me, things WILL travel forwards. Even a box of tissues can kill or seriously maim. I shudder when I see car with builders helmets on the back parcel shelf.

Happy trails, Mike.
AnswerID: 145776

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 18:58

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 18:58
good point...see it all to often (helmets on rear shelf)
it would be hard to fathom if reading a newspaper report on an accideet...driver/passenger injured by safety helmet when car runs into rear of another
FollowupID: 399297

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:17

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:17
Anything in a vehicle can be a missile in an accident, there was a case about ten years ago when a woman went to sleep and drove off the road into a ditch, had slowed considerably by the time it hit a dirt embankment and the car was still driveable, driver was still strapped in the seat, unmarked and no sign of injury.
After the autopsy it was said she died not from the impact or anything but by a biro off the back parcel shelf which had stabbed her in the back of the head/neck and killed her instantly.
The hard brim on a baseball cap has also killed in an accident from the parcel shelf.
It is truly amazing what comes out when you turn a 4wd over, things that are so firmly packed you can't physically move them break free when you turn it up side down.
AnswerID: 145777

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 12:33

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 12:33
I'm all for using a cargo barrier in those monster trucks :))) some of you guys drive but as for

a box of tissues
a biro
hard brim on a baseball cap (unless it was one of those full on plastic helmet types)

causing death or serious injuries, I'm more than a little cynical.

Maybe someone here with more than a passing interest in physics could advise on the force achieved in propelling these items forward over a short distance in a rear end collision.

I can understand being hit with a heavy metal toolbox causing serious injury or death, but the others, to me, fall into the category of urban myth :))))

Happy to learn something new and be proven wrong.
AnswerID: 145784

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 15:51

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 15:51
I don't think a cargo barrier is available yet for the post-Sept build GXL Landcruisers.

When one is available I'd like it to be easy to put in and take out as the need arises. Any one got clues on this?
AnswerID: 145792

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 17:32

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 17:32
I recently had a serious prang in my 100 series. It was enough to write off both vehicles. I do not have a shadow of a doubt that I would not be writing this today if I didn't have a cargo barrier fitted.

I am a cynical and outspoken critic of the 'sky is falling' safety brigade and firmly believe that a hell of a lot of the OH&S rules are pure horsesh*t, but having a rudimentary grasp of physics convinced me that a Milford was money well spent and it is. Deccelerating from 50kmh to 0kmh in a few feet generates a lot of kinetic energy in flying objects.

My wife and I both walked away with nothing worse than a few bruises. Looking at the cargo barrier later on, it was dented from my tool box and the mounting points on the floor had copped enough of an impact to lift the floorpan up and bend the brackets. That is a substantial hit in anyone's book.

You can pick them up secondhand for around $150 in the Quokka / Trading Post. It is life and death stuff, don't stuff around I reckon. A Milford was the very first thing I fitted to my new 100 series.
AnswerID: 145801

Reply By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:07

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 20:07
Last year I had the good fortune to drive from Ingham to a dry creek crossing 70 km west of Greenvale via Mt Fox late one afternoon.
I say good fortune because I went to pick up the pieces after my 72 year old part- time prospector Father in Law had rolled his Toyota Hi-Ace campervan in a creek bed.
The vehicle was totalled.
Pop had a few cuts and bruises and severe shock.
His gas cylinder had the biggest dent imaginable. (It had travelled @ 2 feet)

I have never seen such a mess.
Pop survived.
Pop had a cargo barrier.
AnswerID: 145806

Reply By: angler - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:58

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:58
Make sure it's a millford barreir and not one made by another mobs called something like caddyshack.
AnswerID: 145837

Reply By: muppo - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:27

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 15:27
Saved my life in a rollover years ago in my Mitsubishi work van, stopped the roof caving in and all the tools and gear in back from ending up in my lap.

As for the old tissue box on the back parcel shelf, in a 60klm frontal collision the box has enough force to crack you skull.

First accessorie to be fitted! Even before tyres, tyres help you drive and stop but they don't help the other clown that doesn't see you and just ploughs into you.

Highly recommended.
AnswerID: 145890

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 17:09

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 17:09
"As for the old tissue box on the back parcel shelf, in a 60klm frontal collision the box has enough force to crack you skull"

Muppo, I've heard this said several times but have'nt seen anything re a source or definitive proof. Do you know of a link or anything that proves this ??

FollowupID: 399405

Reply By: muppo - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 23:13

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 23:13
Gramps, I think I read it in some of Milfords brochues years ago!
AnswerID: 145959

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 00:33

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 00:33
Thanks mate. I don't have a problem with cargo barriers, in fact I think they are an absolute necessity if you've got any loose kit above floor level in the vehicle.

I'm just interested in the tissue box example as it seems extreme to me :)
FollowupID: 399469