Distance behind rear seats
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 10:47
Member - Pesty (SA)
Hi peoples, hope all had a Merry Xmas and the swelling from over eating is starting to subside !!!
Hope all returns to normal before the New Year fiesta !!!
I have a sister in Bunbury W.A. who has recently purchased a late model Off Road Cavalier Camper and is thinking of getting a fridge.
This also presents a space problem as they still have the falcon, so they are now thinking about biting the bullet and buying a late model 4wd , like a Pajero or Prado or Jackaroo, what we would like to know is what distance is available behind 3rd row of seats on all these vehicles, to fit fridge in, and what size fridge's others use in this area, as they will also want to use 7 seats from time to time.
I have warned her that this camping and 4wd camping festers and much money will be needed to be poured into it to satify needs !! LOL
As a result they are now thinking of joining a family orientated 4wd club to go camping with in the Bunbury area , so was wondering if anyone knows of any in that area that they could get involved with to meet people and get ideas etc, or maybe even someone who is involved with one.
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 10:55
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 10:55
Pesty,
There is not a lot of room behind the rear seats,regardless of what 4WD your sister buys. In most cases the 3rd of seats are split so that one can be taken out. This might not help if they require the 7 seats.
Even with the fridge fitted side ways in the back it might be a push to get it in even in either a 80/100 series or GQ/GU.
Could the fridge be fitted in the camper?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:00
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:00
Dead right Wayne,
There's no way I would have been able to get a fridge (maybe a 15 litre Waeco type, but too high on power consumption) behind the 3rd row seats on either my GQ or GU. So, I'd be VERY surprised if you could fit anything bigger than a 6 pack esky behind the 3rd row of the vehicles that Pesty has nominated......no way!!
Sorry Pesty, they may have to go for a........(can I say it???).....a troopy.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:49
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:49
I was about to add that I'm sure Roachie would recommend they buy a 3.0l trol but he has obviously jumped ship. it's too early for New Year resolutions so what goes Roachie?
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 14:11
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 14:11
Roachie,
I must be slipping, didn't even think of a real 4WD aka The Troppie.
Even as a 8 seater it will still hold a fridge, tent, chairs,BBQ, and all the spares a Patrol will need but has not got the room to carry.
Hope your Christmas was good and have a Happy New Year.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:47
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:47
Hi mate, i went thru this a while back. I can't even fit my esky behind the 3rd row of seats in the GQ.If they get one with split 3rd row seats they may be able to have a 6 seater with a fridge. Don't get too wet for new year mate. May need to take a boat.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 00:10
Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 00:10
get rid of that photo brew , hasnt someone blown up that place yet lol
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 12:58
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 12:58
Oi! whats this 'behind the 3rd row of seats' thing.
Ms Lucy once upon a time had 11 seats and Gods gift to 4WD's the JEEP has 5 seats in two rows which is all that is necessary according to the land that invented 4WD's.
(also can fit fridge behind same)
So, what is this 3rd row thingy - some bull CHIT imaginary halucination that only 'crow eaters' are prone to or what.
Never seen such a thingy or heard so much Verbal Diarrhoea in my life.
I think you all must have been at a Pesty BBQ and sniffed his bug killer.
remember:
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from a rigged demo.
It is better to have a permanent income than to be fascinating
My motto is: Contented with little, yet wishing for more.
And, and, and
I quote others only in order the better to express myself.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 13:05
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 13:05
Mr Lucy,
obviously in your part of Mexico, the weather never warms up enough to warrant the requirement of a cold beer at the end of a good days 4wding. At a current temperature here of 38, the beers just slip down nicely. keep the warm stuff for pommy land.
PS Be nice to me as we are in mourning for the loss of my uncle kerry.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 13:29
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 13:29
Aw! Mr Des I am always nice to you, just couldn't help myself as usual.
C U in the new year.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 15:50
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 15:50
Sounds like you yota blokes are starting to do a bit of in-fighting and will probably self-destruct if we give you enuff rope (sorry about the mixed metaphore).
If I could buy a troopie with Nissan running gear, I reckon it'd be the best 'real' 4x4 you could hope for. I must admit, they do have oodles of space in that cavenous rear end...hehehehe
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 16:28
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 16:28
Roachie you Nissan DUD
Tell the truth, you wouldn't be able bring yourself to get into any sort of a vehicle that is made by the T word manufacturer.
Where as Mr D Lezzie and I have an esprit d' corp that crosses all
forum bagging boundaries and meets in the ral world on a vary social basis.
Also I must confess that you give me a recurring nightmare.
I am driving along in either the worlds best 4WD (the JEEP) or the Troopy and I come across you at the bottom of a hummock with a molten motor all smoking and steaming.
Being the good samaritan that I am I just can't get into position to tow you fast enough.
Here is the killer.
I wake up every time just as I am about attach the strap to your towing point.
Remember:
I am a part of all that I have met.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 17:15
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 17:15
Quote:
"I wake up every time just as I am about attach the strap to your towing point"............ at this point I am wondering .....where is your hand when you've just woken up??????? hahahaha.....the mind boggles!!!!!!!
You really should do yourself a favour and get that bloody big Nissan that you've been seeing in your dreams...... we won't make fun of you just because you've finally woken up to yourself; honestly we won't ;-))
I mean....if it's got to the stage where you're actually DREAMING about Nissans (something that even I don't do....),
well all I can say is that you've been
well and truly bitten by the Nissanitis Bug and the only known cure is to own one of these pieces of marvellous machinery.
Let me know what colour you decide to get.....I strongly suggest you don't get the 3L motor version though, as this would be only a small improvement over the motors you currently have in your 2 existing "machines" (apologies for using that word lightly). No, the 4.2 TD is the only way to go.
Reply By: Sarg - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 15:55
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 15:55
Suggest you spend some time around the car yards & have a look for yourself.
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 19:49
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 19:49
Not to many up this way , but yes had thought of that, but thought there might be some vehicle owners that could just put a tape measure over this position so i didnt have to travel long distance to see!
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: greydemon - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 16:49
Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 16:49
Hi Pesty,
You might want to consider how you are going to fit a cargo barrier to keep the fridge and victims, sorry, passengers apart. There is a recent post discussing cargo barriers which your sister may want to read.
With a bit of extra wiring you caould carry the fridge in your trailer, though a sprung base would probably be a good idea, the Cavalier campers are great but can rattle around a bit on dirt roads.
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:58
Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 22:58
Pesty,
From experience the biggest you will be able to go is a 21 litre engel. That is enough for the beer for a picnic anyway.