Engine oil turning black.

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 11:31
ThreadID: 29133 Views:2806 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Why is it that some engines turn the oil black in a short period of time after changing . and others dont?. With the landy 300 tdi engine the oil stays a silvery colour for about 5ooo ks then slowly discolours from there. Had both mits and mazda motors in good condition but oil went very black in a short period of time.
Axle

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:49

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:49
Not sure about the Landy specifically....but in general, diesel engines tend to turn their new oil black very quickly as a result of the soot content thatis ever-present.
AnswerID: 145410

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:07

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:07
Roachie regarding your heating problem have you tried blocking the small coolant line from the thermostat housing to the radiator neck,was having a look at one during the week and this coolant is bypassing the radiator straight into the neck and down and back into engine.
It would be interesting to try!
FollowupID: 398928

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:17

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:17
Sorry ACDC, not sure I know what part you're talking about? I know the 80 series cruisers have got a short hose near the thermostat housing (can't remember what it does or where it takes water to/from), but the GU Patrol doesn't seem to have any small coolant line (except for the overflow hose that goes to the expansion tank).......
I'd be interested to see a photo of what you mean, please.
Cheers and Merry Christmas
FollowupID: 398958

Follow Up By: prado_95 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 13:41

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 13:41
Landy's have a bypass filter (like the old toilet roll type) that assists in keeping the oil clean.

This type of filter has been around for over 40 years (perhaps thats why its still on the LR), but works well. The filter element is quite fine.

This would be a contributor to 'cleaner' engine oil. You can buy these as after market from some USA sources, but they are expensive for what they are.

Daveo
FollowupID: 399278

Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 13:55

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 13:55
Amen to Roachie's comment - and in the case of my Isuzu 3.0 in the Jack, quite a bit of old oil does not drain out when changing - trapped inside - that doesn't help. Re the Landie staying quite clean ......... clean-how could this be ?
AnswerID: 145417

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:00

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:00
Its a landie mate , something has to be right with them. Ha Ha.
Had a lot to do with Isuzu When operating earthmoving gear, fabulous motor , seen 20.OOO hrs on a 4bd1 engine never been touched. Landrover should have stayed with those engines, would have helped there reputation heaps.
Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 398942

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:24

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:24
The Landy stays clean because as fast as you put it in it leaks out. So the oil is never more than a few K's old
FollowupID: 399010

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 11:34

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 11:34
Dont think so David , changed mine yesterday level had not dropped in 6000 km
Have a great day.
Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 399057

Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 13:58

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 13:58
Tafe gave me a younger laptopforpersonaluse- thespacebaronly works intermittently .HELP !
AnswerID: 145418

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:13

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:13
Sounds silly, but try pushing the other end of the spacebar - I had a laptop that wore out on the right hand side from using my right thumb to type spaces all of the time - had to reteach myself to type spaces using my left thumb in order for the spacebar to work. Sometimes there's two physical contacts under the spacebar, and only one of them is bad.
FollowupID: 398956

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:37

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:37
Some later Landies have a centrifugal oil filter and I reckon this is a worthwhile innovation for others to follow.

Could keep some particulates out of the oil.
AnswerID: 145429

Reply By: brd - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:56

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:56
Hi Axle

The Landrovers, like 3L Patrol, TD Cruiser, Jackaroo, Rodeo and others are direct injection. That is the fuel is squirted directly on top of the piston. Others (eg Patrol 4.2, Cruiser naturally aspirated, and most earlier stuff) iare Pre-combustion.

What happens here is that the fuel is squirted into a pre-chamber...a sphere inside the cylinder head. Combustion starts here and then migrates into the main combustion chamber, where it is completed. It is not as efficient or as clean as direct injection, but creates less noise at idle.

Direct injection is probably a good 20% more fuel efficient than pre-combustion, and better power too. Pre-combustion also necessitates higher compression ratios, so a combination of producing more soot from combustion, and also higher compression means more soot gets into the oil in PC engines than DI's. Me...I'm sold on DI's...oil service intervals are much better, since the soot doesn't knock out the oil's detergency so early. The simpler the better.
AnswerID: 145432

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 16:29

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 16:29
Thanks for the info mate , I was thinking about this indirect injection thing, once before. Did not realise the soot deposit could be the issue. And dont they frustrate you when you travel a1000 ks turn off, come back 1/2 hr later and wont start without pre heat Bl...dy Toyota dynas.
MerryXmas Axle
FollowupID: 398952

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:20

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:20
finally! i know why all the modern diesels are lower compression! i thought they were going all new age, throw out, high revving, jap style soft on us.
FollowupID: 398959

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:11

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:11
hi axle
Yes i agree with BRD
but there is help for the other type of engine Known as the jap engine
if the black soot is happining quickly ie 1000 ks try the klen out oil as advitised in 4WD monthly
u see these jap engine should if you are using the engine in stop start journeys to change the oil every 2500 klms
this will clean out the soot but run the engine first do not change the oil when its cold it has to be warm to hot
Snailbait
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 145439

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:31

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:31
The soots not a problem as long as you change oil regularly. And as mentioned before, the indirect, mechanically injected diesels go black quicker than the Direct Injection diesels.

Its not something that should bother you. If the oil goes black quickly, its a good sign - means the oil is doing its job. Thats part of the joy of having a diesel :-))

AnswerID: 145466

Follow Up By: brd - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:42

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:42
You're dead right Phil. The oil going black does indicate that it is doing its job.

Only problem is, what happens when the oil runs out of detergency? This can happen even if the oii is changed every 5000km religiously.

If the oil stains your fingers, it can't do its job any more. And that's when it would be crazy to not be concerned about it.
FollowupID: 399003