Tuesday, Sep 03, 2019 at 11:55
I have to admit, on a historical basis, I have fond memories of parts availability in
Coober Pedy!
It was July 1969 and a 21 yr old year mate and 20 yr old myself, were doing a "big lap" of the Great Unknown Outback of Australia -
Perth to
Darwin to
Adelaide and back to
Perth - in a 1968 HK Holden ute. My own work ute, in fact.
It was my first great civilian adventure, before I was being forced to join the "Green Machine" as a national Serviceman, on 1st Oct that year.
We left
Perth the 1st July '69, and headed North. We zig-zagged across the Wheatbelt and Murchison and
Pilbara of W.A., on roads that would all be classed as ""4WD only" today, with appropriate warning signs.
There was little by way of road signs in those days. If you were lucky, the oil companies and the RAC had put up some road signs - and if you were very lucky, they were still standing.
Many had been ravaged by termites, fire and the elements.
The formed and sealed section of the North-West Coastal Highway ended at Barradale Roadhouse (long gone) on the Yannarie River, 200 kms N of
Carnarvon.
After that, the NW Coastal Hwy was just two wheel ruts across the plains, punctuated by massive holes in the road, where some poor truckie had been bogged to the makers name by a big rain - and when he'd been pulled out (usually by a station
grader), they never bothered to fill the hole in!
But the old Holden performed flawlessly, despite being pounded along at breakneck speed through washouts, deep bulldust and massive potholes by two over-eager youths.
We made it to
Darwin after 2 weeks, and then set off to
Adelaide.
But the Holden engine weakness was just waiting to strike. We'd just made about 30 or 50kms over the N.T./S.A. border, when disaster struck!
That weakness reared it's ugly head and laughed, as the fibre timing gear stripped!
There we were - broken down, and as far as we could get, from anything slightly resembling "civilisation", in the centre of Australia!
We had a good selection of
tools onboard, and a range of spares - but NO TIMING GEAR!! What a bummer!
So we sat in gloom for a couple of hours, and then a truckie with a semi, arrived from the direction of
Alice Springs - in an early 1950's, wooden-cab Foden!
He pulled up, and we told him our predicament, and we discussed what was best to do.
We were closer to
Coober Pedy than
Alice Springs, and there wasn't a lot of spares available in
Alice Springs.
The truckie mentioned a new mechanical repair
shop had just started up in
Coober Pedy.
It was either
Coober Pedy or
Adelaide for a new timing gear, and it looked like
Adelaide was going to be the only place we could get one.
I thought it would be a good idea if the truckie towed us, we could get the ute closer to civilisation that way.
So we hooked up to the semi with the chain we had on board, and off we went.
Despite the old Foden being flat out at around 60kmh, when being towed, we got showered constantly with gravel and rocks!
Then it got worse! One of the rocks smashed the windscreen!!
A short while afterwards, the truckie pulled up to see how we were getting on, and he was surprised to see we weren't faring too
well at all!
So, we pushed the ute off the side of the "highway" and leaving my mate there alone in the wild and lonely Outback (I don't think he's ever forgiven me!), I jumped into the cab of the old Foden and off we went,
Adelaide-bound.
The truckie drove all night, and neither of us slept, we just yarned away all night.
I reckon we averaged about 30 kms an hour, as we pounded our way through continuous corrugations, and what seemed like endless creek crossings.
We pulled into
Coober Pedy about 7:00AM, and my heart sank. There was hardly a building in town! Just a small roadhouse, a few
shacks - and a new shed up the far end of town!
The truckie pointed out the shed and said, "That's the new mechanic in town, walk up and see if he's got anything, and I'll order breakfast for us here at the roadhouse."
So I set off on foot to the far end of town, to the fancy new shed, and walked into it. The bloke had just opened up for business for the day, and when I glanced around, my heart sank.
The shed was virtually empty! It looked like a trip to
Adelaide was going to be on the cards!
I walked up to the owner and asked casually, "You wouldn't happen to have a timing gear for a red Holden motor, would you, mate?"
He thought for a second and said, "Actually, I think I do!"
He walked over to the corner of the shed, where there was an open-topped 200 litre drum.
He reached into that drum and rummaged around and pulled out a red Holden engine timing gear!!
You know those times when you could kiss a bloke? That was one of them!!
Over the moon, I paid him for it, and set off back to the roadhouse, where breakfast was just being served.
The truckie was quite amazed that I'd acquired the gear - so we ate breakfast together, we shook hands and I thanked him, we parted company, and I walked North out of town, hitching a ride, while he set off for
Adelaide.
It actually didn't take long to get back to the ute. I hitched a ride with a big group of Aboriginals riding on an 8 tonne truck for a start!
That was an interesting ride, as they passed flagons of wine around, and asked if I wanted a drink! - at 8 o'clock in the morning!!
They dropped me off about 50kms out, as they turned off the highway, and it wasn't long before I got a ride with a bloke in a car going to
Darwin by himself.
I arrived back at the ute
well before lunchtime, much to my mates surprise! - as he expected I'd be gone for a week!
I'd even brought back some fresh bread from
Coober Pedy - sheer luxury in the wilderness of the Australian Outback!!
We set to, and ripped the timing gear off in a pretty crude manner - just chiselling the old one off and hammering the new one on! We weren't in the mood for proper replacement techniques!
We got the ute going again by late afternoon, and we were on the road again, heading for
Adelaide!
We made it back to
Perth at the end of July, where the old ute had to undergo some serious further repair to fix all the damage we had endured, and to fix the leaking timing cover gasket that we hadn't managed to seal properly!
But I've never forgotten the luck we had in the Outback of Australia, and our greatest parts find in virtually the most remote town in Australia!
But those were the days when Holden parts could be acquired in the most far-flung
places, and people kept spares on hand, as supplies were infrequent, freight was slow and irregular, and weather events governed whether you got freight or not, on time.