Monday, Jan 26, 2015 at 11:17
My 2 cents worth.
I specifically aim this view at outer rural and remote facilties.
Some peoples expectations of superclean public facilities in outlying and outback areas appears rather high, there is a cost to any
well used facility and priorities in some areas leaves the public convenience last!
Given the availability of Time, water, dusty/muddy conditions and persons whose state of being disallows using a facilty in a clean and sanitary manner often the staff/owners have a lot more to do than many realise in keeping a facility running.
My experience when working in remote areas was that keeping the generator running ie the freezers cold and stocked, cleaning the filters on the tank water, serving citicentric customers with expectations
well outside the resources of staff working long hours 7 days a week in arduous conditions means that its not always going to be Westfield standards.
Remember major shopping centers charge extortionate rents to
shop leasors to employ professional cleaners.
The staff often not only run the pumps and
shop but clean the Dongas out the back, change the bedding , wash the towels and bedding, dipping the fuel tanks, change the tyres, and make the teas coffees and cooking that travellers expect. Keeping a keen ear out for the UHF to take the Roadtrain 5
miles out food order so he doesn't have to spend more time than neccessary to keep supplies up to the roadhouses and stations who needed everything yesterday!!
No wonder some tired overworked proprietors and staff find it hard to give the beaming Colgate smile when a
well dressed nomad with city concepture grumbles because a menu item is unavailable due to delivery being late OR as I experienced a Melboune Range Rover driver complained bitterly when our tyre stock didn't include the low profile 220Kph rated 20 inch tyre he had fitted his new Rangie with, he had two damaged rims and a shredded tyre.....my fault I guess.
Many staff are inexperienced back packers who try their best in conditions
well outside their normal experience. Staff turnover is high in some areas.
I certainly agree that a clean dunny is a wonderful thing but it is simply amazing what some people do behind a closed door then furtively leave the mess for overworked staff to deal with.
The cost of pumping a septic system in remote areas is high! Composting
toilets are very misunderstood by most in regard to what is allowed down there for proper
breakdown. Many people revere the "longdrop" in folklore or poetry, however are too squeamish to use one! There are a lot of alcohol riddled travellers and locals who don't give a rats ***** about the mess they create, let alone the drive offs at the pump forcing some proprieters to have to lock and unlock pumps or switch pumps off between sales.
The best that can be done sometimes is to hit the offending mess with a hose or a water blaster if the
water supply is in a good state.
And I would agree with a previous poster that backpackers who are often the mainstay of staff in remote areas can also be the worst offenders, having a shower at the wash basin, washing clothes and undies in the sink leaving the tap running constantly then driving off after filling the van (mostly) with their spare jerry cans and pumping up the saggy tyre with the air run by the fuel consuming 25kva diesel generator that will need replacing soon!
If it appears that I am a bit critical of some coastal/city based travellers then Yup ! GUILTY! no political correctness here, there is quite a gap in the perceptions and expectations between rural/remote and the 88- 90% of Australians who live in by world standards pampered conditions. and have little understanding of the rigours of living and working in less than ideal conditions.
My vehicles all have a plastic bag under the
seat containing
toilet paper, matches (for burning used paper and a short shovel in the back for burying my waste. my caravan (yes I am semi retired now) and travel does contain a
toilet.
I might add that like many other
grey nomads I will bag up rubbish left along the way at pull in areas. I do believe that most Nomads are the best travellers in this regard and usually leave an area tidy. Their are a couple of groups who are the worst offenders, those who don't care (ignorant) and the heavy drinkers testified by the huge numbers of alcohol bottles, cans and wine cask bladders strewn up and down highways and the tracks.
I believe it is reasonable to charge to cover the costs of maintaining a reasonably clean facility and know what it is like to clean up other peoples ****!
Follow Up By: Karen S2 - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2015 at 03:01
Tuesday, Jan 27, 2015 at 03:01
2cents worth? Mate that is a million dollar essay. I don't believe you left anything out.
I think some have lost what this is about. It is in regard to an article in
Broken Hill newspaper about roadhouses in that area- not the City or Urban servo.
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2015 at 21:37
Tuesday, Jan 27, 2015 at 21:37
Yeah Karen, I thought it was worth heaps more than 2 cents.
Great post
Ross!