How loud is too loud

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 07:13
ThreadID: 91368 Views:4017 Replies:18 FollowUps:22
Checked the 5kva generator yesterday with a view to quietening it down for travelling. 1 metre 81Db; 10m 72Db; 15m 68Db What would be considered an acceptable level seeing that most levels I have seen are around the 55-60 mark?Anyone checked their Hondas at all? Bill

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 08:11

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 08:11
Personally I would ask my wife if she thought it was too loud. If she did think it was loud then I would quieten it down. I don't go too much for figures myself. But then again we don't like loud bikes or cars.

AnswerID: 475638

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 08:15

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 08:15
I think the Hondas and Kipor claim 54 to 59 dB at 7 metres. A few of our Caravan Club members use tham and they are never offensive at that level, so aim for around that. Remember every 9dB increase means you are doubling the sound pressure level.
AnswerID: 475639

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:37

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:37
A smidgin out mate.

Every 3db = double the power. Every -3db = half the power

FollowupID: 750624

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:53

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:53
Well actually not really,

There is quite a discussion here
Sound Levels discussion

Have a read, it talks about a lot of ratios including Perceived Sound Level Increase among other things.
FollowupID: 750627

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 10:28

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 10:28
If it isn't 3db then my experiments at RMIT would have failed. They didn't.

Sorry but I proved it in the labs.

FollowupID: 750633

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 12:19

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 12:19
Is it correct that a change of 3dB is just detectable as a change in volume? So 9dB could possible represent a very fuzzily defined doubling of apparent volume?

A very subjective assessment, I will admit.

Frank

FollowupID: 750648

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 13:48

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 13:48
I'm afraid that there is more than one dB in this world.

dB in audiometric terms relates to Sound Pressure Level and is a logarithmic scale where a doubling (or halving) of SPL is represented by approx. 9dB.

dB in electrical engineering relates to the ratio of electrical power where 3dB represents a change of doubling (or halving) of power from the referenced level.

So, Oils ain't Oils. And there is a lot more to it than the simple expressions above.

FollowupID: 750661

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:51

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:51
So does that mean that me who ran away from home at 13 and didn't do RMIT, just might be right. Whacko!
FollowupID: 750676

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 17:48

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 17:48
Yes Notso, you are right about decibels relating to acoustics.

And Phil is right about decibels relative to electrical power.

So you are both right in your own way.

I too attended RMIT and was taught about dB ratios in electrics, but it was not until some years later that I learned that decibels in sound measurement were somewhat different.

FollowupID: 750685

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 18:36

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 18:36
But, the question was asked in relation to Sound Pressure levels, not "lec lec mek him go roun roun", so that makes me more right than him. And I didn't have to big note meself either!
FollowupID: 750691

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:43

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:43
Hi Allan

Yep I was talking about power. Made a mistake. Also I should have stuck to my guns about asking the boss did it sound loud. It's like the ads on TV they are the same volume but the "loudness" is cranked up. In my first thread I was trying to say to hell with the exact figures. It's what it actually sounds like by the listener that counts. Not the db level.

Like the dripping tap in the middle of the night. You wouldn't hear it in the morning. Do you lie there and say its below 50db (or whatever) and tell your wife to go back to sleep or do you get up and fix it. Personally I would rather she slept better so I fix it.

Knowing that your generator is at the correct db level won't help one tiny.

So to our learned friend who is calling me a "wacko" and saying I am big noting myself, it's not worth responding to him/her. Yes I made a mistake and I would have responded earlier if he/she had been civil about it.

Have a good one Allan

FollowupID: 750744

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:59

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:59
Well, Whacko, is an Australian expression of delight, wacko, means a bit of a nut case, so I wasn't saying you were a nut case, but expressing delight about being right! Right? Mind you Big Note seems to fit?
FollowupID: 750747

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:38

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:38
Good to see the original question is not being aloud...lol to interfear with the chest beating
FollowupID: 750766

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:43

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:43
There's nothing like good robust discussion is there? We all learn so much.
FollowupID: 750768

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 12:48

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 12:48
Nothing at all wrong with a bit of robust debating as long as it does not degenerate into name calling and straying away from the basic subject in question.
Notso sure "Bignote" falls into that....but then again that is just my humble opinion.

Anyway have a good one

FollowupID: 750774

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:07

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:07
If you were playing music at night, 75Db from 7 Meters or more you are breaking the law so that might give you some idea. Anything over that and it is classed as harmful to your hearing. Exposure to noise longer that 1 hour above 75Db at 7 Meters is harmful to you and others. By your readings it looks like your are harming your ears already.
Andy

AnswerID: 475648

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:58

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 09:58
Sorry Bill,

What the hell do you need a 5kva generator for?

I go into the outback to get away from noise.
Therefore, no sound at all is acceptable to me.
It is not just the sound of a generator chugging away (no matter how "quiet" it is) but also the kind of equipment often plugged into it.
Halogen floodlights, boom boxes, etc. have been experienced by us from time to time at campsites along the Murray and coastal areas of our State and there is nothing peaceful about being camped close to a caravan with its aircon blasting away 24 hours, supported by a generator, which always seems to be on our side of their campsite.
The folk themselves you rarely see because they are cooped up inside watching television. They must get really stressed out if reception is bad or non-existent.

Now we head bush and try to pick campsites that are elusive to the genny brigade.
Our friends that often travel with us are like minded and we all get away with nothing more that silent solar panels to add a charge back into the batteries.
We find no need for an air conditioner in the great outdoors. There is always a shady tree to sit under during the hottest times and with no noise besides the laughter amongst good company.

AnswerID: 475652

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 10:44

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 10:44
I'm with you Bill... if I pull into an area with gennies on the go.... I go.
Kinda spoils the whole feel. 12v and lpg does fine.

Mind you, if I was travelling with the gennie mob and in the spirit of things, I guess I'd adapt.
FollowupID: 750635

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 11:19

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 11:19
I've used a small 1kva honda in the past...but rare emergencies and we were in remote locations with no one else to bother.

Firmly believe that ANY noise they makes is too loud.

(mind you if I needed it to keep a freezer full of yabbies I would repent :-) )
FollowupID: 750642

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:04

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:04
I will look after the yabbies for you Brenton.

We have two fridges used as a fridge and a freezer.

One very big vote for no generators.

FollowupID: 750670

Follow Up By: ross - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 23:40

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 23:40
They need to come up with"generator free" camp sites and publish maps so I can find them and those that have generators can bugger off to noisier places.
I think generators are the next most obnoxious thing after unburied toilet waste.
FollowupID: 750725

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 11:25

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 11:25
Place the generator beside your TV next time you're out camping & if annoys you then it's too loud ;-)
Cheers Craig..........
AnswerID: 475661

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 14:15

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 14:15
If it's your neighbour's generator, place it beside HIS TV !!!

FollowupID: 750663

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 11:44

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 11:44
When you buy the noisy generator, also buy a big hammer, that'll fix the excessive noise problem.
OJ
AnswerID: 475663

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 12:32

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 12:32
My lawnmower says its 75db, i guess that for the operator.. I would definately say it too loud!! let me know where you are camping and i'll make sure i'm not there. LOL!! Michael

AnswerID: 475665

Reply By: CSeaJay - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 14:07

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 14:07
In answer to your original question:

It is too loud if fellow campers can hear it during the day over the noise of the water trickling down the river, or the sea, or the birds in the bush (which is why we go there)

And if it is on at all after 6pm, it is too loud. Sound travel at night, nothing worse than listening to a generator never mind how soft the hum.

CJ
AnswerID: 475671

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 14:44

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 14:44
My 2 cents worth. If you need to ask how loud is loud, it is too loud! We carry a Honda 2 kva and also only use it in emergencies and then if we are near anyone I ask first. (Have solar back up power.) We have also come across heaps of quite camping places, bush camping type, and then a group will turn up and start up a noisy generator, mainly just to run a huge bank of bloody bright lights! It does ruin the whole experience.
I don’t have a problem with generators, but we all must follow common courtesy. 5 kva does sounds a bit overkill, what do you need to run?
AnswerID: 475673

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 15:32

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 15:32
Hi Bill,

Regardless of what your meter says its the relative levels that count as well. If I am camped in some quiet spot with just the sound of the wind and the birds then ANY mechanical noise will be an unwelcome intrusion.

As others have said, put the thing as close to your camp as possible then see if its too loud for you. We have often seen generator users put their generators behind a barrier for their comfort - but facing towards other campers!!!

Was camped once in a quiet spot when a neighbour fired up the genny which then ran for a couple of hours in the middle of the day. We were proudly told later by the owner of said gennie that it was so they could cook a loaf of bread. This illustrates a need to think about options and to have a sense of proportion - was it really necessary to have hot bread while out in the bush, if so could it be cooked some other way. In the example above they had a camp fire smoking away and a camp oven. So there was no need for the noise from the genny at all.

Val

AnswerID: 475674

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 15:33

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 15:33
Bill,
I don't believe you can shut up a 5kva genset. The cost would be prohibitive + the gain in weight and size.

I will give you an idea of noise. Once built an earth bund wall on three sides of a 100kva silenced generator. I was told in no uncertain terms that I was wasting money and should not have done it by the controller of money and all things fun.

My reply was that it was dirt I had to get rid of anyway and it only took an hour or two to complete. I remember adding that you may thank me in the future.

Now this genset was a very quiet Aggreko unit but a couple of months later I was there and a few of the residents thanked me for the bund. They had there barbie site on the northern side of the bund and noticed the difference the wall made.

I believe any man made noise is annoying in a peaceful place except if you are full of turps. Bill not judging just stating what I have found.

Have a good one and may you hear the Nissans rusting on a quiet day. LOL.
RA.

AnswerID: 475675

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 15:57

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 15:57
Having read and enjoyed the above posts I must say that a 5kva sounds a bit over the top for camping. Why on earth that big. Are you trying to supply the whole camp ground.

If it was me I would NEVER use nor need one that big. Before getting a modern quiet replacement I would really look at my needs.

A bit of side interest: The one and only time I ever took one that size out into the bush was for an amateur radio three day long weekend contest running five HF transceivers at maximum allowed power of 400 watts with a bunch of UHF and VHF radios as well, including supporting kitchen, computing assets and lighting for a group of 20 operators plus mums and Billy lids up in the Brindies on a competition weekend. We were not near any campers and had permission to be in an isolated spot away from anyone. The generators exhaust was extended with a length of flexible metal pipe into a hole in the ground and fully covered with rocks. It was as quiet as a mouse. For the hams it was a John Moyle Field Day weekend.

Halley's comet was in the sky and there we, who were not on shift, were with dates, chips and peanuts, jatz and dips, with many a drop of wine laying back looking at the Halley's. Wow of a weekend. Nah we didn't with. The big mob up at Melaney beat us.

AnswerID: 475678

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:08

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:08
Presume you have that gennie for other purposes and have decided to take it travelling - it's not a travel gennie - more like a municipal power facility ! - I've got a 1K for battery tops ups - 2k's are often used for air cond - even the 2.4
's etc, but 5k's - seems way over the top.
AnswerID: 475680

Reply By: Andrew & Jen - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:15

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 16:15
Hmmm ...... what am I thinking?
06:43 - been a bit quite lately - why don't I stir the place up a bit.
Now what gets people going? Ah - generators and their use at campsites
5kva should get them going I reckon ;-)
And lo it was thus ......
bill f - are you sitting back and enjoying a beer or three and a quiet chuckle?
Or are you serious - in which case we are in deep doo doo
AnswerID: 475681

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 19:13

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 19:13
To be fair to Bill F he did say he was checking the gennie "with a view to travelling" so maybe he has owned the large gennie for other purposes?

AnswerID: 475710

Reply By: Member - bill f (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 21:31

Sunday, Jan 22, 2012 at 21:31
Hi All, THanks for all the replies. To clear things up. We too prefer the silence in the bush. Haven't turned the TV on in 12 months & all lights are 12v LED. Gas for cooking (outside only) & refrigeration. Have made do in the past with a very quiet 900w Mitsubishi running a 10amp charger. Have now backed that up with 160w of solar panels. Small things i.e. phone are charged thru inverters The question re the 5kva gennie was to gauge reaction as the cook said she would like to use some of her home appliances some of which need 2000w. The big gennie is sitting there doing nothing. Just waiting for the next power outage. Hate to see things not being used. If anyone is wondering what happens in an outage while we are away. The only thing left on is one small freezer & the mitsu will handle that.. THanks to all again Bill
AnswerID: 475733

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:19

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 08:19
My apologies Bill - I thought you might be having a lend of us suggesting a 5kva with those noise readings ! :-)

In these situations, noise is usually measured in dbA - a scale that has the high and low freqencies removed as they are beyond the capabilities of the human ear.

It is a logorithmic scale (as are the others) and, as some have corrrectly said, an increase of 10 dbA from, for example, 70 to 80, represents a 10 fold increase in perceived noise (with 3 being an approx doubling). Thus your reading of 68 (possibly not dbA - depending on the instrument you have and the settings) at 15m is some 10x the 55 to 60 you mentioned as acceptable.

A couple of other factors might be useful for your considerations.

As a general rule, sound reduces as a function of the square of the distance, that is, double the distance, a quarter of the sound.

Some frequencies can be heard over the greater distance - hence being able to hear the low frequency drums in dorf dorf "music" a long way away.

Sound is more noticeable and more annoying at night when the ambient noise level is lower and (most) people are trying to sleep.

Sound carries a long distance over water, so if you are on the opposite side of a lake (for example) to a noise source, it will be much more noticeable than the same distance over land.

FollowupID: 750739

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 09:15

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 09:15
We do tend to jump a bit when it comes to generatots at camp sites Bill.

FollowupID: 750750

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 00:50

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 00:50
It all depends where and when your running it.
Not everyone is in the same place for the same reason.
If you pull up some where to camp and everyone is sitting around knitting and listening to the trickle of the river.......its too loud.
If you find a place away from anyone and you want to use it....use it?
If someone pulls up and doesnt like it they have the option to move on.
Buggered if I know why everyone wants a set of rules for everything? Just use a bit of common sense and consideration for others and it might become contagious.

AnswerID: 475748

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 13:08

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 13:08
Hairy,

For a bloke that drinks XXXX you seem to be a very insightful bloke.
My humblest apologies if the can in your signature line belongs to someone else or it was there for the benefit of your "dinner guest".
My 2.0 Honda although pretty quiet only gets used if the aircon is needed and then it gets shut off no later than 8.00PM.
If I pull into a campsite I try to find a spot away from those that do not have gennys running and were there before me. If I am the first there I still try to be "out of the way" if I intend to use it. Those that show up later, pull up next to me and want to bitch about what is a fairly quiet genny....well lets just say you may not get the response you want.

FollowupID: 750776

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 10:14

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 10:14
This whole discussion of hearing annoyance caused by generators is pretty wooly with lots of dB numbers being quoted, some quite wrong and most rather meaningless.

I have, sitting at my elbow, an audiologist (my wife), who, whilst she can recite the numbers, tells me that they are rather pointless as they are very subjective and in any case the human tolerance to sound levels varies considerably between individuals. This is particularly so with the perception of annoying noise. And this is not necessarily because of their rational behaviour but can be physiological to some degree. Therefore they cannot simply "Harden-up".

It is also pointed out to me that whilst objective sound measurements such as dB Sound Pressure Level are employed in audiological assessments, subjective loudness perception becomes the final criteria to the listener.

So whilst a generator (or any other noise source) may be ascribed with a noise output level, probably in dB-A, it remains entirely relative to similar sources and can only be somewhat indicative regarding comfort of the listener.

So what myself, not my audiologist wife, would say is if you find it annoying, then it is offensively too loud for you. Now what you do about it depends on your demeanour....... you either negotiate with the noise producer (No, that does not mean an axe through the genny!) or you move on to a quieter location, or you grin and bear it and complain continually to your spouse.
My wife would probably say "Oh shut up and pour me another chardonnay".

AnswerID: 475761

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 18:25

Monday, Jan 23, 2012 at 18:25
Hello Allan,
How's life treating you?

I can so very much understand exactly what your wife is saying.

Technically in a hearing test I'm legally deaf. Too much exposure to loud noises in industry as a young bloke.

Loud TV's and radio's irritate the daylights out of me. My wife has to have the volume on the TV at red line. I have to leave the room.

Honda and Yamaha 1 and 2 KVA gennies are outside my audio range. They aren't a factor in my life.

It's all far too subjective to draw a proper line in the sand.

FollowupID: 750804