A Poo Question

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 11:48
ThreadID: 90863 Views:7099 Replies:7 FollowUps:29
The bog

Got a Jimmys Thunderbox and have a couple of questions.

According to their site you can use the biodegradable bag liners in a couple of ways

1. Cut the bottom out, this means the waste goes straight in to the ground, the liners are to keep the TB clean. I assume you bury the liner with the waste
This is OK if really remote where some one is not Likely to stop soon. But would not be good on some sites.

2. Where option 1.  above is not suitable you can do the following
Put the liner in a bucket, do not cut the bottom out so that all your world goods end up in the bag.
They say that when doing this you should use gelling agents.

Now for my questions
Can some one tell me a BRAND name for these gelling agents ( even though i am an experienced pooer i have not used a potable dunny before :)).

What do you do with the bag of goods when you have finished,
Do you bury it some where away from your location 
Can you drop it in a dump point, i doubt this one even though biodegradable
Do you take it home and give to the kids as a present or keep as memories,  i am not keen on carrying it.

Rich,
!!

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:23

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:23
G/Day Rich

Burn it.

AnswerID: 473471

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:35

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:35
Dazza,
A good idea, if it burns.

FollowupID: 748313

Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:32

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:32
hi rich
3 solutions to your problems
1 take the tb back for a refund
then you dont have to worry about waste material and/or carring the tb and its contents
2 when you need to transact bush business just walk to a suitable site dig a hole transact a deal in the pit then fill it in and walk away
3 no ongoing problems and no contents or t/box to pack and unpack
enjoy your trip its called uncomplicated camping
the more items we buy and try and take with us the less enjoyment we gain from what is suppose to be a problem free trip and a relaxing holiday
imho keep it simple
cheers for the N Y
AnswerID: 473472

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:23

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:23
Cheers Maz but I'd hasten to add that the loo paper needs a bit of attention particularly if you are in arid areas.

Loo paper needs water to break down and when we dig a hole out bush, water is usually the scarcest of commodities. In desert environments, dunny paper will live well past its use by date and survive many years. This often means that it ends up blowing about many bush areas having been shallowly buried and disturbed by critters, or not buried at all.

We always try and burn our paper after use. This may mean collecting it and returning it to be burnt off the camp fire (preferably after the cooking is complete lol) or more often carrying a packet of matches or the gas stove lighter with you on your morning walk. Burn it off while it’s in the hole and then fill.

When on Fraser a few years back, many of the campsites were in a most unattractive condition because of the amount of crap paper left lying about and blowing into the bushes around the camp sites. We almost filled and burnt an entire garbage bag with paper left around the Desert Queen Baths campsite in Rudall last year. People really need to think about this stuff when they’re out there.

Mick

FollowupID: 748312

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:37

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:37
Mazcan,
This is my current option, although with age and shape squatting over a hole full of me and the risk of falling in is much less desirable..

FollowupID: 748314

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:50

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:50
It depends where you are and what time of the year it is of cause, but I usually drop a match in the hole to burn the crap wrap rather than bringing it back to the camp fire? Dont reckon the baked spuds would taste quite the same after someone chucked a heap of bum wipe in the fire???
FollowupID: 748315

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:55

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:55
In reference to gelling pwoder i came across a product called Bio-Gel but cant find where to get it in Australia.

FollowupID: 748317

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:56

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:56
Hairy,
It would give a definite after taste, not to mention the points of dicsussion you could have comparing each others burn offs.

FollowupID: 748318

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:58

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:58
hi mick
yes i new someone would reply re the paper
it comes down to a basic common sense issue
if a decent depth hole is able to be dug then i always burn it
one only has to walk into the bush at a truck bay on the road to perth from bunbury which i now refrain from doing
as you will altermately step into some ones fresh body waste as no one bothers about digging a hole and the odour is unbearable too

and rich but doig the balancing act helps keep one fit and adds excitement to the challenge of the trip while getting it out of your system
simple solution eat less and poo less also cuts down on the overall expense lol
FollowupID: 748319

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:51

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:51
Mick,
I certainly could do with eating less but do enjoy the peAce of the morning bog, where no one is game enough to disturb you.

Squatting over a hole full of s#%% would not do it for me, despite the oppotunity of getting some more exercise :).

Ps hard to approach this topic without a sense of humour :)

FollowupID: 748327

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:30

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:30
Depending on where you are, grab a handful of leaves .lol

As to eating less resulting in reduced need to go, what about the AGB? Does this mean we should not drink either?
FollowupID: 748364

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 07:34

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 07:34
Rich,

I'm using the $20 plastic fold up seat from Ray's. Most camping places stock them. A bit small fior the likes of me and won't take a lot of weight but they get the job done. You just have to have the precision of a WW2 bomb aimer lol. I've been trying to score a good solid old whale bone dunny seat that I would then have a set of sturdy folding legs made to suit. That would add a much greater degree of comfort for the dawn constitutional.

Bombs away. Mick ;-)

FollowupID: 748378

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:56

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:56
We carry a Jimmy’s and a portaloo. We try and use Jimmy’s as much as possible. Depending on the ground, we will dig a very deep hole and use the biodegradable liner, bottom cut out. If the ground is not suitable we then use a 10l bucket, do not cut the liner! Then we find a suitable place to dig a hole and bury the bag. Gone are the days where we try and balance on our legs to squat. So much more comfortable to sit and relax. And better for the old back!
Yes, you do come across lots of paper, but in our travels most are at roadside stops where either the toilets are disgusting or there are no toilets. Mind you, I do not think that is an excuse.
People also do not dig deep enough holes and animals just dig them up. Not sure why they would want to dig up you know what?
We find the Jimmy’s brilliant. Tried using a gelling agent once and gave up. (Some travellers use an gelling agent and then dispose the bag in a rubbish bin.) We carry a double pop up ensuite, one side for the shower and the other for the loo. Perfect.
AnswerID: 473486

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:38

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:38
K&K,
Thanks for the reply.

I guess why i was looking for a gelling agent is for when based some where for a few days, but not to many before dumping the bag.

Burying it or burning or both sounds a good idea.

Do you use any thing else to overcome the smell, unfortunately mine does stink :).

By the way do you know of a brand name for the gelling powder i can look up.

Also do you use the bags supplied by TB people or do you use other bags..

Thanks again,
FollowupID: 748330

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:53

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:53
Hi Richard,

You should be able to find water absorbent gel at any decent garden centre.

Have tried the burning method once or twice when burying was not an option - it is possible but takes a while and uses a bit of fuel as "the business" has to be dried out before it will burn.

We use a folding toilet seat (home made but you can buy them in camping stores) placed over a decent hole, or a bucket if a hole is not possible. Much more comfortable and easier on the knees.

Burning toilet paper is not as easy as you might think. Out in the desert a handful of dried grass will help to get it burning properly, but otherwise its easiest to pop it into a plastic bag and burn it in the campfire - as others have said, AFTER the cooking is finished!

I'm a bit dubious about these biodegradable bags - maybe I'm wrong but I thought that most biodegradable plastic needed exposure to UV light (as in sunlight) to break down? If that's the case then burying it isn't going to help it break down?

Val.

FollowupID: 748332

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:00

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:00
Thanks Val,
Not sure if my wife will like me chucking a bag on the gas stove after dinner. :).

We often use the gas cooker as always seem to be in a rush and a bit more convenient for us.

Any way the nightly roast would be entertaining at least.

FollowupID: 748333

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 17:48

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 17:48
If using the old fashioned method suggested here instead of the thunderbox, remember burning anything is not an option over half of the country for half of the year. Best to take a 'freezer bag' with you, seal the used paper in and dispose of it with your rubbish. Sealing ensures no odours and with most of the air removed it takes up very little room in your rubbish bin or bag.

FollowupID: 748340

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 08:49

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 08:49
We use the bags supplied by Jimmy's. From their web site - In-viro™ fully degradable toilet bags are designed for landfill, compost and soil deposit - They will ultimately biodegrade when buried with toilet waste, only carbon dioxide water and biomass will remain, leaving non-toxic by-products.

We have a bucket with what ever is about, sand or dirt or seaweed. After we complete our number 2 we just throw a hand full in and quickly close then lid!
Seen and smelt a lot worst things then our natural happenings.
And, had to sit through a lot worse noises and smells at toilets in caravan parks!

FollowupID: 748380

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 08:58

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 08:58
K&K,
So you dont use a gelling agent at all.
I understand what you mean about caravan parks. Some are good but some are just awful.

I have some of the bags from TB as well.

Seaweed sounds interesting.

FollowupID: 748381

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:02

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:02
Or, just do has this happy traveller did...
FollowupID: 748382

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:10

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:10
Now that guy takes his pooing seriously:)

FollowupID: 748384

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:13

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:13
No gell, tried it once. Used seaweed once when free camping at a beach in Tasmania and it worked a treat.

Fantastic spot, unfortunately we did not allow for high tide!
FollowupID: 748385

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:35

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:35
That is why you need a comfy dunny, to be able to sit back and take in the scenery.

The other reason is when you see the tide coming in :)

Happy Pooing,

FollowupID: 748386

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:45

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:45
Lovely camp Kris and Kev :). Lucky it was in Tasmania not Derby WA :O

Mh

FollowupID: 748388

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 08:39

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 08:39
yep, that flooded campsite was my 50th birthday, I wanted water views...got em! Camped at 9 mile beach, just north of Swansea, looking over to the Hazard mountains and Freycinet National Park. As Kev mentioned, we used seaweed, but that wasn't in the Jimmys Thunderbox, that was in the long drop toilet at that free camp, someone must have started the trend and it did seem to work. There were a few boozing up fishermen there, and seaweed seemed to neutralize the plentiful AGB!!! Wow, that was a great spot!! Kris
FollowupID: 748427

Reply By: Macca44 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:30

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:30
Gday Rich, We use jimmy thunder box inside a pop up shower tent, I dig a hole about 18 inches deep where possible , Then line the box with news paper then when time to move camp push paper into hole and cover with dirt. If the smell gets a bit high then put in some garden lime . When we get home give poor old jimmy a good wash. Regards Macca.
AnswerID: 473492

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:53

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:53
Ma.cca,
Good idea,
Cheap and can read the news at the same time.:)

The lime seems to be the a good idea.

The reason i am looking for gelling agent is because in some places you can not dig a hole near where you are camping.

FollowupID: 748339

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:37

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:37
From memory, camping etiquette tells you should dig a hole a minimum of 300mm. Then when finished, marked with a stick.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 748365

Reply By: Gramps - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 21:57

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 21:57
Hmmmmmm

Memo to Self:

In future, always start new campfires. Do NOT reuse existing/pre-loved sites.

Eeeeee yukkkkkkk.
AnswerID: 473517

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:27

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:27
Sure makes you a bit more careful about kicking the old ashes.

Mind there has to be something said all sitting around the fire watching the sacraficial poo burning ritual.

FollowupID: 748363

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 14:28

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 14:28
Gramps/Richard,

My late Dad did a lot of bushwalking before WWII, and he and his mates, nicknamed "The Wals", used to do "Last Rites" before leaving a camp site. They would stand around and piddle on the ashes of their fire, thereby dousing any smouldering coals, and no doubt emptying the bladder, ready for the day's walk.

Never thought to ask if they used the same fire place, on return trips........!

FollowupID: 748445

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 14:45

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 14:45
I must admit we normally just cook via the gas and have sat around the fireonly a few times.
but when i have i have thought we should do this more often.... Until now:).

I am sure the next time we do, i will be looking out for a baked browny or the sweet odor of pee.

Rich
FollowupID: 748446

Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:34

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:34
What about the gelling agents that are used for cat trays, or even kitty litter itself?
Would that work?
AnswerID: 473521

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:41

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:41
I contacted the makers of the Thunderbox and they reckon a couple of products called
Plant Gel or Water-Store from a nursery would be ok.

FollowupID: 748366

Reply By: Fab72 - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:16

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:16
Put the word "POO" in the thread title and bingo...694 views in a 24 hour period. Hahahaha.

Fab.
AnswerID: 473530

Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:36

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 09:36
That sure is a lot of. POO :)

FollowupID: 748387