Forward facing recording video cameras

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 16:55
ThreadID: 90574 Views:2616 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
With all the modern technology and the legal system we have come to the point of some, recording what happens in front of us.

A few of my old mates have them and the reason is they can prove it wasn't them that caused an accident or were to blame.

I was talking to a driver from Emerald Carrying and he had just bought one. He said he was sick of lunatics overtaking on blind corners with the potential of him being blamed for an accident. He travels the Peak Downs highway which is like a slaughter house, you just have to be in the right place with a fridge pan to pick up the bodies.

In a recent letter to the Owner/driver mag a driver threatened to give video to the RTA of company trucks continually passing him well in excess of the speed limit. Beside the safety side he has to compete with these trucks on an unfair basis.

I know technology is catching up with all of us but I would like to know what others have to say on this and whether they have a recording camera.

RA.

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 17:09

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 17:09
Hi rockape, I have one and use it for 2 reasons. First you can take photos as well with the push of a button and it records your trip. Second If I was to have an accident I could show it to the police for them to see who was at fault. Down side, It can not be used in a court of law. But just to record a creek crossing or a hill climb or just the scenery. It also is sensitive to movement so will record anyone around the car when your not there.
Andy

AnswerID: 472157

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 08:19

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 08:19
G'day Andy....I'd be interested to know why such a video couldn't be entered into evidence in a court of law. It might be a bit of a struggle getting a Judge to agree in a civil case but not impossible but In a criminal proceeding or a coroner's investigation into a death I would think it would be important that all available evidence was presented. In a criminal matter (ie dangerous driving causing death etc) I would be very surprised if a video purporting to demonstrate a charged persons innocence wasn't presented by the defence counsel. But you are right....for the most part any/all evidence submitted is subject to challenge by opposing counsel and may only get into play if the judge allows it.
FollowupID: 747000

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 09:57

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 09:57
Hi Patrol 22, The only people that use it in court is insurance company's. As it can be altered, edited or deleted. But showing it to police at the time of the offence will give them an idea as how it happened and who to charge. I mainly use it to record trips on rough tracks as I am alone and need two hands on the wheel.

FollowupID: 747008

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:04

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:04
Andy,
I have been told that highway police are taking them seriously when presented quickly. Many of the recorders give time and date stamped videos.

RA.

FollowupID: 747010

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:12

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:12
Thanks Andy....yeah I can see where the argument would build in such circumstances but I've personally witnessed many cases where security video in a business or pub etc has been used by prosecutors in lower court proceedings and I'm thinking that this sort of recording is also subject to edit, change overwrite etc. Certainly is an interesting area for debate though and will be even more interesting as improved technology and the law become more aligned.
FollowupID: 747013

Follow Up By: Athol W - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:35

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:35
Andy,
There is no reason as to why footage from such a camera could not be presented in court, but only by the person who was operating the camera and then only as supporting evidence, that is to support the evidence in chief of the person giving evidence under oath.
It would still be subject to objection from the other side (prosecution, defence or defendant) and the final decission would be up to the Magistrate.
FollowupID: 747019

Reply By: Flighty ( WA ) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 17:35

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 17:35
Rockape
Know a guy in Tom Price who often travels over Marandoo hill ( very steep on both sides) and he has photos of "minesite" Vehicles overtaking him in a fully loaded triple on the bends and oblivious to the double lines.
The numerous photos he has in quite incredible, with most quite clearly showing No plates and I.D numbers.
After speaking to both the local and other towns around police have told him that it is very hard to prosecute, as they have no way of identifying the driver at the time.
Pretty hard even with the proof, but the point is very true, unfortunately it seems that innocent victims are required, before they can slap the idiots on the wrist.
IMHO The idiots that are getting the slap, need a bigger book thrown at them an a decent penalty for their actions, to help curb that type of behaviour.
Cheers & Regards

AnswerID: 472158

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:39

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:39
If those vehicles are Rios' or contractors going into Marandoo minesite all you friend has to do is to hand them into the Superintendant and the offenders will be sort out and reprimanded or worse.

Easy fix - Rio Tinto take safety very seriously.

Sue

Karratha WA
FollowupID: 746972

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:42

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 20:42
Sorry might have misunderstood, upon re-reading I think you are talking about being overtaken by a triple road train. I would have thought that highly unlikely on the hill you are talking about unless the driver in front was going at a snail pace.
FollowupID: 746973

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:56

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 07:56
So the police told him that it is very hard to prosecute, well it don't seem to hard when they have their own shots from Red Light Cam's and speed cam's.

FollowupID: 746997

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:15

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 10:15
I agree with Ian & Sue, If you can get the rego number or the truck number report it to their boss, as today it is his responsibility as to to conduct of his employees and he is the one going to court if he fails to do anything about it. I have done this to a sand mining company who was delivering to a road construction site on the Pacific Hwy the trucks where speeding through a small town. Within 1 day the trucks lost 1 round trip in the day because their boss was sitting by the side of the road checking their speed. But if you don't report these sighting of bad behaviour then nothing is done and people die.
Andy

FollowupID: 747014

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:11

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:11
I can see a time when all cars will come fitted by manufacturer a forward facing camera - the same as we all have seatbelts, air bags, ABS brakes etc.

And the cameras will be used as evidence for or against you.

Is it good ??? or just times will be changing.

There are already so many video surveillance systems around I believe if you work in the city areas you will be on video about 7 times a day. These are already used in court actions.

Some things are put there 'for our benefit' but more often later become tools of channeling the populace into having more money taken from them. For example - a credit card is a handy item but the banks will on-sell the information of what you buy, where you buy, your demographic pattern etc without actually detailing your personal details. Big marketing enterprises can then use this information to streamline the sales pitch to you the customer - is that bad or just making it more convenient for you.

Just my opinion.

I use a windscreen mount to attach my 1080hd camera when on outback adventures. Makes for great home movies. I do not have it mounted when on the hwy so a bit different to these traffic monitoring cameras.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 472160

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:43

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:43
I have often wondered why we don't have a mobile version of Neighbourhood Watch to "out" the road users who deserve to get caught but are canny enough not to. With current technology it would be quite feasible.

Val

AnswerID: 472166

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 10:15

Monday, Dec 12, 2011 at 10:15
They do in Victoria, its called the hoon line 97476561. I have called it and the driver was prosecuted. It helped that someone had also may a report about the same incident.

Cheers Tony.
FollowupID: 747114

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:39

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 21:39
I have a camera, cost me $318 delivered, $75 for the 32 gig SD card, $99 for a 2 terrabyte hard drive.
When recordind in highdefinition, I can hold 11-12 hours of recording, once I get home I transfer to the hard drive, the 2T hard drive equates to about 2 months of driving 6 days a week.
If I get some sort of claim against me a week or even a month after, I can easily go back and check the files as they are stored in time and date format in 2 minute units.

Shane
AnswerID: 472197

Follow Up By: nickoff - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 11:03

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 11:03
Shane,

any chance of a link to your supplier. Interested in one myself.
FollowupID: 747022

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 19:56

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 19:56
Go to onsitecameras(dot)com.(sorry, I cant hyperlink on this computer)

I just had a look and they have discounted the one I bought :(
You have a choice of what might intrest you, I have the basic one which gives a time and date stamp (if you choose to), or the flashy model which imprints speed and gps co-ordinates, good brackets and suction cups, no need to modify

They can sell you an SD card, I dont know how savy you are with this stuff, I'm most certianly not, but you need a class 10 32GB sd card, DONT go to hardly normal, they what $300+, mine cost $75, i can't recall where from, I googled "cheap sd cards" and found what I needed, make sure you are looking at a 32 GB not 32 MB, big difference and it MUST be class 8 or higher

Wow sight and sound for the hard drive.

Shane
FollowupID: 747071

Reply By: menace- Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 14:34

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 14:34
I dont think the usage of video footage in court is issues regarding editing etc ...there are methods to determine if it is the raw footage...I think it is more associated with having authority to use it...I am all for it ..especially in shopping centres and malls etc..again especially with how things are now publicly...it can still be legally given to businesses regarding the actions of their employee and most of them will take it seriously.
AnswerID: 472272

Reply By: Trustme - Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 17:02

Sunday, Dec 11, 2011 at 17:02
Check out www.onsitecameras.com
Also ACA are running a story on them on Monday the 12/12/11
AnswerID: 472287