What do women like about camping?

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 18:51
ThreadID: 85315 Views:4234 Replies:15 FollowUps:20
On another thread today Kevin S asked "do you have any suggestions that would help me get my wife to like camping? Cooking won't do it! "

Well I dont know what tips we could give Kevin, but it got me thinking - what is it that appeals to those of us - wives, partners, mums, girlfriends, whatever - that go camping, travelling, living on the road etc.

For me its the simplicity of the lifestyle, the challenge and satisfaction of being self sufficient and the pleasure of seeing all those wonderful landscapes, plants animals and historical sites. And being able to take our time and stop to explore, take photos, wonder. Not to mention the fun of driving outback tracks, having a campfire at night, meeting other like-minded folk .... in short there is not much that I dont like about camping!

What do other camping/travelling women think?

Val

Reply By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 19:50

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 19:50
Hi Val, last time we went away bush I realised that I shouldn't have put that Wolf Creek DVD on the night before. Just a tip for all the mere males out there. Cheers Mick
AnswerID: 449740

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 05:04

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 05:04
Hahaha, thats funny, i did the same thing before our July desert trip last year, it was only the the 4th time my partner had been camping, it was an interesting first week hehehehe.
FollowupID: 722205

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 19:55

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 19:55
Thought about that at the time to Val and we have discussed it.

One thing that I think answers more of John's question , is that whatever you do try and include everyone.

I thought I pretty well did actually , but when we did our father/son crossing of Simpson on our trail bikes - well their was no one to drive the car and trailer support vehicle.

The obvious - my wife driving it sort of didn't occur to us immediatly.

When she suggested it , and then drove right across , with no one else in the car for the 3 days, well it was as much a personal achievement for her as our ride was for us.

Everyone in the family got to be challenged and participated and this really made the trip and put serious points on the board for future adventures.

P.S.
We found out her secret only afterwards - no matter what hubby says just punch in both lockers and never let them out.

AnswerID: 449741

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:22

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:22
Robin, you wife deserves a medal! Seriously though, that's a wonderful achievement and I bet she got a real thrill out of doing that - with or without lockers.

Val

FollowupID: 722162

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 08:23

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 08:23
And a very good point Robin, include everyone.

Both my partner and I like camping, and our son has always been along for the ride and enjoys it also. But as he has got older (11 going on 20..) we realised that we needed to be cogniscant of his interests and to give him time to enjoy the things he likes about camping and being out and about.

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 722342

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 20:02

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 20:02
Hi Val,

You and I must enjoy similar places and activities. I could have written all of those paragraphs above.

I love the huge starry skies and the silence of an outback campsite occupied by just the two of us, a meal cooked over the campfire in the camp oven, glorious sunrises and sunsets. Also the moon in all its phases, the varied cloud formations, and just generally being more attuned to nature and its cycles.

Also I love walking through the landscape taking time to stop and photograph plants, animals and other unique features, enjoying the stunning views from lookouts and mountain peaks, absorbing the aromas and sounds and I do try to plan our route with walking opportunities in mind.

Camping or travelling means there is a flexible structure to the day and time for pursuing more creative pastimes.
I keep a look out for small 'found objects' such as leaves, seed pods, unusual bark patterns and feathers which I either photograph or carry back to the van and then use to make drawings and other simple artworks.

And yes there is satisfaction in being able to stay powered using our solar panels rather than always firing up a generator and destroying the silence, conserving our water, making our bread by hand.

I also enjoy meeting others who are also travelling in a similar way to us, regardless of their vehicles and have met some really interesting and wonderful people.

Lastly and very importantly ...theres no housework much to do, laundry is reduced, clothes can be worn for days and no one notices because you or they move on (I wear merino clothing, anti stink!!), cosmetics stay in the cupboard, the mirror loses its importance......

In fact, writing this......I can't wait to get back on the road and we only returned from Tassie a week ago!!!

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 449742

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:27

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:27
Heather you have summed it up perfectly. And yes we do seem to enjoy similar aspects of travelling. So true about the housework too - and there is even less to do in a Troopy! When we are travelling we make do with a bare minimum of plates, cutlery and mugs, so washing up is quick and easy. I can never quite believe how soon after getting home we are back to heaps of washing up!

Val

FollowupID: 722163

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:13

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:13
G/Day Heather

That's exactly how the Cook feels, she loves every thing about Wild Life ect, the only thing that she stipulates is to have comfort, and a shower every night, oh and maybe a glass of wine most nights around a fire.

FollowupID: 722176

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:21

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:21
Heather, exactly how I feel, just love to get out there, the moon, the stars, the sunrises, sunsets, the serenity of the bush, even down to watching the ants working, listening to the birds, I can feel the relaxation of it all just typing about it. House work, ohhh the house work or lack thereof, definitely a big plus. I know we are all different but I do find it hard to believe that there are people who have no desire to check it out and experience it at least once.
Now I want to go again LOL Who started this thread Val???????
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 722187

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 00:58

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 00:58
Thanks Heather, my wife hates it out there, but when i tell her she can stay at home she said i could die alone out bush, so she comes along. I hope the more i go the more she will get used to the bush.
Cheers Mario.
FollowupID: 722194

Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:00

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:00
Thank you all you kind people. I will take all this on board and use it carefully.

But seriously, my post was a bit tongue in cheek in response to Motherhen's comment that children be allowed to help with camp cooking to help them to get to like camping. Hence my question. I didn't expect it to spawn a new thread!

I have been happily married to the same wife for almost 49 years. In our early married life we did quite a bit of camping which we both enjoyed. But somewhere along the way she found out about 4 and 5 start hotels.

Now in retirement, we travel a great deal in a conventional caravan and we have been pushing back the boundaries. Last year we left the van at Wilpena and drove to Arkaroola and later at Bourke & Wills to drive in to Lawn Hill. This year we are planning to park the van at the Noccundra Hotel while we overnight in Innamincka and again at Windorah to spend a couple of nights in Birdsville. The caravan park holds happy hour on top of Big Red, I believe.

I would love to camp down along the Birdsville Track and all those other wonderful remote places that I read about in EO, but you can't have everything. I am probably doing well and wife is happy. So what more could I want. To go camping, I suppose.

Thanks again for the input. Sorry to be long winded but I thought folk may be interested in the story behind the question.

Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 449754

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:35

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:35
Hi Kevin,

It sounds as if we are of similar vintage, so I am pleased to hear that you both do indeed get out and about and "push the boundaries". I guess camping is just a variety of accommodation that you use when travelling - our version of camping involves sleeping in our vehicle, so to some thats not strictly camping either. But for the rest of the adventure, Heather has described it better than I could.

Happy travels and thank you for sharing your story.

Val

FollowupID: 722164

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:05

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:05
Hi Kevin,

I loved reading your story. Sounds like you have had a long and happy marriage and still enjoy travelling together.

And Val if your version of camping isnt strictly camping then ours certainly isnt as we tow a caravan with a corner ensuite. However we regard it to be camping because of the places we often choose to stay. i.e. in campgrounds or free camps, bush camps etc.
It is certainly a simpler life than when we are at home and while we are away I never even think about the house or all those 'things' we do without when we are living in the van.

Heather

FollowupID: 722174

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:28

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:28
Hi Heather,

I reckon that "camping" covers a multitude of different kinds of traveling accommodation, and I agree its about where you stay. The main thing is to get out there and see and do things. As we get more mature and creaky in the joints a bit of comfort doesn't go amiss. Certainly there were times when we were in WA when it was wet and windy that a caravan would have been bliss.

Val

FollowupID: 722178

Follow Up By: Fried Rice - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:39

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:39
Hello folks

Felicity and I have done many thousands of Kms together, mostly in motels, cabins etc.
Now we're about to do the big lap in our campervan she's reminding me she's always enjoyed sleeping under the stars.. preferably five of them!!
We are looking forward to the journey though, especially if it stops bl**dy raining soon!

Regds Richard R
FollowupID: 722182

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:30

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:30
Val, wet and windy in WA, geezzz that must have been a long time ago, it sure isn't wet here at the moment, or not in our little corner of the State.
I define 'camping' as basically tenting, sleeping in the car, (which hubby and I do quite a bit of when we are too tired to put the tent up for one night LOL), we caravan too but not with an ensuite, (we have an older van) but that is definitely our preferred mode of travel.
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 722189

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:05

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:05
My wifes idea of "roughing it" is a motel with no room service !!

Gazz
AnswerID: 449756

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:39

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:39
Hi Gazz,

In my working life I got to travel a bit and generally stayed in pretty good hotels/motels. But I quickly became disenchanted with them - after all they were just a bed for the night, and after a while they all started to look and feel the same. Call me ungrateful ....

Now, on the road no two camps are ever the same!

Val.

FollowupID: 722168

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:16

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:16
4.00 p.m! That's the time we usually are enjoying the nibbles and drinks around the fire and enjoying the sunset with good friends while Mikey is preparing one of his gormety meals for us, AND; not knowing or caring what day or time of the day it is.

Queen Vik. (or, as I'm often referred to; the "Pocket Rocket"..."the Princess"..."mother of the Crown Prince" etc etc).

AnswerID: 449759

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:45

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:45
Hello Queen Vik,

Yes thats a special time of the day isn't it. Camp set up, fire going, drinks cold from the fridge. Then a great sunset.

John is the chief cook in our household, but I dont mind campfire cooking, its part of the pleasure of camping. But from what I have read I doubt that either of us is up to Mick's gourmet standards though!

Val

FollowupID: 722171

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:21

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:21
Val - your comments about what you like could have come out of my mouth (or fingers) in this case. Love seeing new places in this great land - love the colours of the outback - the blue of the seas - the diversity of the people and the towns - the freedom to come and go as I pleae - the relaxed lifestyle - minimum housework - and the list goes on, and on......................
AnswerID: 449760

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:51

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:51
Hi Julie,

I think there are a lot of like minded women travelling around. It doesn't really matter whether they are tenting or caravaning or whatever, its just so good to be out and about experiencing all the wonderful things our country has to show us.

I'm at a bit of a loss when I hear women say that they would not even consider travelling into country areas, but each to their own. It certainly leaves it less crowded for us to enjoy.

Val

FollowupID: 722172

Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:16

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:16
Hi John & Val

Fiona dosen't hang out here because she has her own website to look after, but I will speak for her honestly here, because we do catch up with heaps of people all over the place.

When I first lined up the camper trailer to go on specific photography expeditions Fiona's idea of camping was a five star motel and she found a camper trailer from All Terrain Campers at Seven Hills at a really good price. The interesting thing here was that she did it "to help me get started" and she came down with me to pick the camper up. Naturally she got trained in puttin it up and pullin it down, and I would have given it all up after six months except for one thing, Fiona, she decided to come along for a couple of trips to make sure I would look after myself and to see, just a little bit, what it was like.

Another camper and two caravans later she is asking where we gonna go next when we start heading home from wherever we end up. Seven years and forty trips later we are still having a ball, she trusts every decision I make and if we end up somewhere else following her navigation tips we were both wrong. We get to go rock hunting (Fiona makes lots of stuff) and I am amazed just what she get's to find out there. Every day is a new adventure!

When I get it wrong and we end up in the rain or still moving at dusk because of bad calculations on my part I get heaps, but it's all in good fun. She will stay on for a couple of extra days when I am waiting for a particular photograph, but I know not to push the boundaries, then there are the surprises as she learns about photography and says OK, two more days! - all is good!

Regards Fiona & Paul
Paul H
OZ Downunder

AnswerID: 449779

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 16:40

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 16:40
Hi Fiona and Paul,

That's a great story. When we only had film cameras I tended to leave the photography to John but now that we have digital cameras and there are no printing costs we each have our own camera and have a great time taking heaps of photos. They bring back wonderful memories.

I enjoy rock hunting too - each trip I carry a small canvas bag and pop into it interesting bits and pieces that I find. At the end of the trip these are arranged into a tall clear glass container so they are easily visible - another source of memories.

Val

FollowupID: 722248

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:25

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:25
When my hubby wants to go home after two or three months, he has remarked that talking to others around the camps, it is often the men who enjoy two or three months but that is enough, and the women want to tour on somewhat indefinitely. Of course we have met a few poor fellows who's wives hated it and lived in misery confining themselves to their caravan polishing and washing everything as soon as a puff of dust blew their way. Poor fellows - send her home, i reckon.

Really, it has to be a compromise so both get some time doing what they want in life.

For me, to be in a new place almost every day, seeing sunsets and sunrises we tend to miss at home, brilliant star shows with no lights for hundreds of kilometres to dull the show, camping and knowing that you are the only people for many kilometres, and seeing and doing all different things in this vast, varied and wonderful country. I love every bit of it (except cities and large towns). We both hate crowded airports, hotels, and waiting in queues.

Most of all, it is the relaxing lifestyle of having no deadlines, and being able to stay, move on, or change direction because it feels right.

Waaaah - I wish i was out there now!

AnswerID: 449797

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 07:12

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 07:12
Hi MH,

I always enjoy reading your input on EO. We seem quite similar.

In our case it is always me who could stay longer either in a particular campsite or away from home on a trip. I get used to preparing meals on a tiny area of sink, using minimal cutlery and crockery, and preparing meals to be cooked over the fire (my favourite type) and generally doing without all the things I enjoy having at home.

During the last week of our recent trip to Tassie, my husband remarked casually that he didnt really want to be away for the 5 months or more that I had planned for our 'Winter' trip this year. It really surprised me as I thought he was happy enough on the road, but I have tried to be understanding and have come up with a couple of suggestions as to shorter trips of around 8 to 10 weeks with a break in between. He misses his vegetable garden I think!
(I miss seeing the little grandchildren on a regular basis but we get sent emails with photos and talk to them almost every day when we have reception which is pretty good).

As I had started planning for this trip with more excitement than the Tassie one, I was a bit taken aback really! I feel so much at 'peace' in the outback and feel I need to experience it regularly to keep healthy which sounds weird I know for a person who grew up on the NSW South Coast (although it was on a cattle property with many acres of wide open spaces to explore on horseback)! There is something about the red sand with perfect animal and reptile tracks, the rocky many hued ranges, the clumps of spinifex and stunted trees and that amazing blue sky in the outback which draws me back. Its a particular light which has attracted artists such as Heyson in the Flinders R.

I long to see the country around Uluru and the McDonnell Ranges again as the first time we were there I injured my leg and couldnt really do a lot of the walks I wanted. So we have 'unfinished business' there! We are hoping to travel via the Oodnadatta Track but that depends on weather and road conditions.

Anyway I digress...

Now to decide on a date to leave.....should I start hinting so he starts to think HE put the idea into MY head!!!

Heather

FollowupID: 722212

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 16:52

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 16:52
Hi MH,

You are spot on with your observation that compromise is the order of the day. If we are lucky we get better at that as we mature.
Interesting comment about it being the men that are the first to want to get home - I had not noticed that. When we come home from a big trip its a bit strange living in a house again, and we do miss the simple life that traveling brings. But pretty soon its time to start planning the next trip...

I do wonder why some folk travel - I recall a couple in Kunanurra a few years ago. She was busy washing everything inside the van, seat covers, curtains the lot, and he spent all day washing and polishing the outside. I reckon in that part of the world there are plenty of more interesting things to do. And they were not living permanently in their van either.

Val.

FollowupID: 722250

Reply By: John and Lynne - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 15:54

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 15:54
Hi Val and Others
It seems as if there are a lot of us out there who really love travelling and camping, wherever and however we go. Apart from the joy of just being there and experiencing all the wonderful places I had only read about, the best thing is actually being away.
It seems that a lot of the men are the first to start missing the routines and comforts of home - including mine!
To me that suggests that, while the women are delighted to be away from all the domestic routine of laundry, vacuuming, ironing, baking, gardening etc to say nothing of being free of the need to manage all our appointments and commitments, as well as his, this may be exactly what the men miss! We just make them too comfortable at home!
There could be a message there! Happy camping! Lynne
AnswerID: 449854

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 17:01

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 17:01
Hi Lynne,

Interesting observation about home comforts! Haven't noticed that myself, but over the years we have shared most of the things that we have done. John is the main cook and I seem to be the one to discover any mechanical issues with the vehicle! All makes for variety either at home or when traveling.

When we do decide to head for home its usually by mutual consent and then, having made the decision we just want to hit the road and get home quite quickly.

Val

FollowupID: 722252

Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:30

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:30
I just asked my wife what she liked about camping, hoping she'd come here and type it in, but she just said "I don't have to do anything."
"What?"
"I LOVE CAMPING because i don't have to do anything. No cooking, no cleaning, no housework, no nothing!"

Well there you have it.

Cheers, Paul B, Kalgoorlie
AnswerID: 449923

Reply By: *Rusty* - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 21:37

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 21:37

I personally love "doing nothing". I can go for a walk down to a beautiful beach or down a windy little overgrown track and discover new things, muck around with my camera in nature, lay on the beach, watch the sun go down (or come up if the birds wake me up before the sun).

I love camping food cause we eat soooo much better than we do when we camp. Fancy Cheese and biscuits every day with a beverage! I love cooking on an open fire, and roasting marshmellows.

We take our dogs with us, and taking them for a walk and letting them run free on a deserted beach.

I love most of all - no housework! and no mobile phone range!

We pack plenty of books when we go away - just sitting there just reading in the sun.

Exploring new places, we usually go for a daily explore in the car and avoid getting stuck! lol.

I would do it every day if we didnt have to work to be able to afford the fuel.
We are even saving up now so we can take at least a year off work to travel oz.

AnswerID: 450019

Reply By: Member - Chris and Lindsay (VI - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 22:33

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 22:33
I love camping because I don't have to look at the floors that need vacuuming, the fridge that needs a clean and the bills on the fridge door. Actually it's where you go and the beauty and isolation. I am glad that many women aren't out there camping in my spots and I suppose the economy needs some people paying dollars to stay in accommodation. Actually I do enjoy that too on occasion. We are heading to the High Country in about a week . Yippee!!!!!
Cheers,Chris.
AnswerID: 450373

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 18:32

Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 18:32
Hi Val,

You really got me thinking. Basically, I love the freedom to stay or go (as it is only very rarely that bookings are made anywhere) and, as others have said to enjoy everything the outdoors has to offer. Outback with it's big sky and starry nights is where I'm most happy but one of my greatest pleasures is to lay in the trailer at night listening to a roaring surf.

There is something about only being separated from the elements by some canvas that I find satisfying.

I love cooking outside even though we don't often cook on a fire. We eat extremely well using a Cobb or a two burner gas stove and plenty of fresh fruit and veges and frozen meat, and I rarely open a tin. It seems easier to decide what to eat because of forward planning.

And NOOOO housework, not even washing up because someone else does that!

John and I enjoy each other's company even after 47 years of marriage. It's nice meeting other people along the way but if we don't speak to anyone else for days we don't even notice it.

Neither of us likes to be away for more than 3 months at the most but as soon as we head for home we start planning the next trip.

Min
AnswerID: 450510

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 20:08

Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 20:08
Thanks Min, couldn't have put it better myself. Your point about camping close to the ocean, which reminds me that John and I haven't done that for far too long.

Val.

FollowupID: 722995

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 20:12

Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 20:12
Thank you to everyone who has thought about this and responded. It seems there is a big vote for getting away from domestic routines as well as an enjoyment of all those special outside things, some of which are hard to pinpoint but nevertheless very real.

Hopefully we will meet up on the track someday.

Val.

AnswerID: 450524