Things forgotten during pack up

Submitted: Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 12:49
ThreadID: 84987 Views:2986 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Just noticed a run of things people have forgotten to do as last minute items when packing up camp lately. We are out on the roads working everyday, and yesterday saw a large newish van cruise by on the highway with a rather large hatch still sticking up that hadn't been closed.
I know we nearly took off once with out the 4 poptop latches shut ourselves. Only 2 weeks ago we had a van come past with its poptop still up at 80klm h.!

Reply By: Bunny - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 14:04

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 14:04
We don't trust our memory anymore and I have devised a checklist which we religously follow each time we pack up.....it's a godsend knowing that we have everything covered.
AnswerID: 448180

Follow Up By: David Jje - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 19:17

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 19:17
Yep and that works well until your neighbour comes over for a chat and breaks the routine. Packing up while talking is when i forget things. i now know that three tent pegs will get the trail a mate jack working and jacking that up all the way allows me to get the WDH chains on easily. lol.
FollowupID: 720555

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 14:41

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 14:41
Wow...and I thought I was bad forgetting to pack the can opener. I can breath a sigh of relief now.

Seriously...safety chains, electrical plug and raising jockey wheels seem to be the all time favourites.

Fab.
AnswerID: 448184

Reply By: ob - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 14:54

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 14:54
Yep, easy enough to do especially as the years add up....I make a habit of walking around the van before moving off starting with the drawbar area, checking levelling jacks, roof vents, windows, hoses and power leads.....so far so good.

ob
AnswerID: 448185

Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 15:18

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 15:18
As Bunny said ... have a check list. Its a mongrel to get outback and find you've left the leads for your camera's battery changing at home, or worse, your heart pills!
Capt.
AnswerID: 448186

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 15:36

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 15:36

I once left on a 3 week 4Wd trip and forgot my inflatable mattress and yes I had a check list.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 448190

Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 00:45

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 00:45
Hi Phil, I usually walk around the garage and spare bedroom/storeroom and look at everything and wonder do I need that, and usually still forget something
Rob Mac
FollowupID: 720695

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 15:52

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 15:52
Only 5% of trailer boat owners have never put their boat in the water without the bungs in. Funny though 5% of trailer boat owners have very long noses.
AnswerID: 448193

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 18:58

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 18:58
LOL,
Hmmm and how many boat owners forget to lift their motor?
Funny listening to the skeg hitting each speed hump as they leave the boat ramp/park.
And yet they keep driving

What they can't hear it?
The whole park can.

FollowupID: 720553

Follow Up By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 00:19

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 00:19
Hairs & Fysh,
In WA, we have been amazed at the number of boaties who trail with their motors down. They bring it out of the water down and drive off up the road too.
Some have high trailers, so I guess its 'safe' but heh, speed bumps and driveways are the enemy of boats and vans.
Bill B

FollowupID: 720690

Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 00:42

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 00:42
Hi Jon, funniest thing I saw years ago in Tom Price was a bloke come back from a fishing trip to the coast towing a small trailer with big esky/fridge on back, turn into is severely sloping driveway travelled a long way with the jockey wheel raised to the highest notch (not swing up) the jockey wheel hit the sloping driveway and popped the ball no safety chain/s and off down the road it went.By the way I picked up my camper trailer last Saturday so if the planets all line up I will be at Levuka.
Rob Mac
ps don't forget to program the gps to go ACROSS creeks and not up them :-)
FollowupID: 720693

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 05:39

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 05:39
Thats Funny Rob.

Spending my later teenage years and early twenties in Byron Bay in the late eighties, I reckon nearly once a week some kid from QLD would forget to tie their surfboard to the roof racks.
Fiberglass has a very distinct sound when it hits bitumen.
Or it's even funnier, when they placed their boards on the roof without racks and when they reversed, Off it came. Hello, you pulled up with it hanging out the back seat window, you don't have roof racks.
The look on their faces has the scratched their heads wondering how that happened.
Priceless.

FollowupID: 720702

Reply By: i'machocoholic - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 23:34

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 23:34
We've only been travelling for 7 weeks and already we have forgotten to put the bungs in the boat once, accidentally left the brake cable from the van attached to the car and nearly driven off, and only today, somehow I forgot to lock a window in the van and someone overtaking alerted me to the fact that the window was open....all this, and I'm not even a grey nomad!!!
AnswerID: 448261

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 08:16

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 08:16
We forgot the Aeroguard this weekend Laurie - not usually a problem really but this weekend in victorian desserts there was large amounts of water lying around and it was 30+ , and mosies abounded so we drove 70km to nearset service station in Pinnaroo SA just to get some - $10.95 a can , what a ripoff but then there was $40 in fuel as well.

We had to drive through fruit fly inspection zone as service station was 4km past it, and we worked out a plan to drop off my wife at checkpoint with plastic bag containing our fruit , and I would go into the foriegn land for 10 minutes , get Aeroguard and head back to Vic land.

However it was closed and all was good - but we still needed to light a fight for extra Mossie protection.

AnswerID: 448280

Reply By: landseka - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:27

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:27
When we bought our current van a couple years ago we did a 300km round trip as a shakedown to see all was ok with the van as well as to note things we had forgotten to pack

Well, there was not a terribly long list of things including Sat dish tripod but at the top of the list was a pad & pen to make a list with! Had to borrow them from a fellow camper.

How embarrassment!
AnswerID: 448289