Fires, necessary or optional?

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:21
ThreadID: 84072 Views:8460 Replies:36 FollowUps:52
Every time we camp near others we notice how many people make getting the fire ready the first priority. We have fires occasionally, but usually keep them small. There's no doubt a fire is a part of the whole outdoor-camping scenario and seen as iconic in the outdoor world. Question is, why? Okay, I'm being a little facetious, the answer is obvious. But is it essential? And, given the fact most fires are inappropriate, can the use of camp fires become an occasional event, something of a celebration rather than a necessity?

Apart from bringing your own "green grown" timber (plantation), using local wood for burning is unarguably bad for the environment, depriving sometimes struggling species of habitat and cover. This is especially true of desert areas, yet how many pictures of groups surrounding the roaring fire do you see in posts on remote desert treks? We've often observed people setting up camp, starting a blaze then walking off and doing other things! Why?

Not suggesting all campfires should be banned (though there are clear precedents for some areas and times) but can anyone see a way to get people to treat campfires as an exception, rather than a rule? Or am I going to get blasted as a do-gooder greenie politically correct moron? Reality is, you are going to find more and more "no woodfire" campsites, and this is probably a good thing, but can we adjust, or blame others for "more rules"?

Cheers, (from the almost the driest, least forested continent)

Reply By: Wilko - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:37

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:37
Hi Silkwood,

I don't necessarily need a camp fire every time I go camping as I regularly use the gas cooker but Its like having a beer I dont need it but its great to have one and creates a special atmosphere.

It kinda like getting back to nature and getting rid of all the "crap" parts of modern living (No phones, noTV's, No internet) just roughing it. I quiet often dont go somewhere if I cant have a fire (high fire danger periods excluded)

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 443957

Follow Up By: Wilko - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 06:32

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 06:32
Hi Silkwood,

I believe the major issue is overpopulation. If Australia Had 15 mil people instead of the Bloated and fat number we have now, then the impact on the limited resources (wood) would be reduced dramatically.
Most of the worlds and Australia problems get eliminated by population control. I'm not saying we need to cull but when are we gonna stop breeding?

If we keep growing in population then one day we may have to book a campsite let alone having enough wood for a fire.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 716062

Follow Up By: Wokwon - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:07

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:07
Wilko, that reminds me of a quote from bash:

"The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Replace America with Australia and it could also work for overpopulation.

FollowupID: 716068

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:42

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:42
At last someone with a similar view to our own!

We occasionally will have a smaill fire for cooking damper. We become really annoyed by campers who light massive fires with green wood and smoke everyone out - no thought for those who dont want their van full of smoke smell for days.

Some people seem not to stop and think about the trees they hack into and kill, not to mention collecting firewood which is currently being used by native fauna for shelter etc. This subject really cranks my chain as we lived in a remote area which was often drought struck and anything that grew was treasured, to have people (not just tourists) come along and damage the ecology just for the sake of a fire was so annoying to say the least.

OK I have let off a bit of steam and feel better now and glad someone else shares our thoughts.

Sue

AnswerID: 443958

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 06:35

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 06:35
I have to fully agree with your comments. Fire people are usually pretty thoughtless. Bob

FollowupID: 716063

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:23

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:23
Geez Bob, Toyota people are usually pretty thoughtless too, 4WD people are usually pretty thoughtless too mate, what a wide ranging statement totally void of any substance. Its no wonder we all get rolled into one useless mob and treated with disdain.

FollowupID: 716175

Reply By: Teraa - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:50

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:50
I agree not a great thing in the desert at all, count the trees when you drive up the Birdsville track or cross the Simpson next time.
I watched 3 x car loads with vans pull up on the Birdsville track,chainsaw in hand and cut down this poor little sapling that you could have knocked over.
It was the only tree for as far as the eye could see.
What was worse was they were heading South, where along the road lay tons of sleepers from the railway line.
In vans as well don't get that either.
No where now for the birds to land or nest, no shade for the stock just nothing now
Sitting around in the moonlight is stunning you be surprised what you miss having a fire,
Then theres the casualties of camp fire injuries and how many bush fires are caused by them. I f you don't think bush fires occur in the desert then your wrong. Two big ones Up above Birdsville 2 millon hectares , Hamilton station near Onadatta 126,000 millon hectares burnt for 9 days.
AnswerID: 443959

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:16

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:16
Hi Mark,

I tend to agree with Wilko that camping is an opportunity to get back to basics. Fires are part of that minimalist experience and I suspect appeal to some deeply buried part of us that harks but to much earlier ancestors. Fires provide a great opportunity to reminisce, to dream or just to be silent taking in the night. They are companiable, its hard to be lonely sitting in front of a fire with some glowing coals.

But I understand your point about wood becoming scarce especially in desert areas where growth rates are very slow. Yes more areas will have fires banned because of perceptions about shortages of wood. However many areas of Australia, including deserts, are regularly burnt often without human intervention (eg started by lightning strikes). Often the amount of wood and habitat burnt by campers is negligible in comparison.

We used to carry wood with us, but on an extended trip the little that you can carry from home is not worth the space it occupies. We often collect wood well away from regular camping areas and try to avoid hollow limbs because they are likely to be called home by by small animals. We also tend to leave wood behind us rather than throw it on the fire to burn unnecessarily. Our campfires usually look like this.Image Could Not Be Found

Having spent many years working on extensive revegetation projects, as well as many years camping I reckon I can see both sides of this particular debate.

But I totally agree with you that many fires are inappropriate, being much too big, being kept going for much longer than necessary (sometimes all day), and simply using more wood than necessary. If people would be content with a small fire most of the problems would disappear. And they would be much easier to extinguish properly.

Val

AnswerID: 443965

Follow Up By: Teraa - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:24

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:24
I doubt very much if deserts burn that often they are rarely that vegetated but what I ask is how many camp fires start bush fires ?
FollowupID: 716037

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:44

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:44
Hi Teraa,

There is plenty of evidence of past fires when driving through at least some deserts. And a look at Google Earth will soon show abundant fire patterns across the desert landscape.

I agree that some campfires start bush fires - indeed I well remember having to put one out (not our own) at a Gibb River Road camping area. It was only a few metres short of getting into long dry grass.

But the counter argument is how many bushfires have been made worse by excessive fuel loads. I recall a recent thread where someone named a NSW campground where National Parks actually encourgaed people to have a fire because there was an excessive amount of fuel on the ground.

I think the campfire debate is a more complex one than just yes or no. Whether it is safe or sensible to have a fire depends on a lot of things - including a fair bit of common sense.

Val

FollowupID: 716042

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:35

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:35
Read "Spinifex and Sand" by David Carnegie. He recounts the number of times that he observed the natives buring off in the desert and the benefits derived from such burning. Controlled burning over quite large areas can be beneficial to promoting growth.
FollowupID: 716083

Follow Up By: Teraa - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 12:13

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 12:13
Agree Spinifex likes a good burn but not all deserts have spinifex. Yes controlled burning helps to keep hot fires away but a unmanaged camp fire can't really be called a control burn. I reckon those who love a camp fire might need to hang out or grab some spare firewood for their desert trips from NSW didn't think there was any deserts in NSW.
FollowupID: 716403

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:21

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:21
Hi Mark,

I also support you. We very rarely have a fire. When we do it is a small one, and we enjoy it.

The thought of anyone cutting down a living tree for firewood in the desert is just beyond me.

Min
AnswerID: 443967

Reply By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:21

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:21
Mate ,since I was a kid I have been camping with my father and camped at many secluded spots and always had a fire when in season, now as rules have been introduced some spots are out of bounds for reasons of abuse by the minority, now I can not take my grand children to the spots that I fished and camped at with my children their parents. The point i am trying to make is stop making silly rules witch effect all campers because of the minority and stop trying to change the Australia that makes this Australia, or pack up the camp put out the fire clean up the rubbish and bleep of to New York City , try lighting a fire there. This is not a attack on you ,it is just for the minority that stuff it up fore people doing the rite thing and yusing there common sense when in the bush. cheers.
AnswerID: 443968

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:26

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:26
Harry, I'm pretty much the same, been camping for years, almost always used to have fires and now I'm taking my grandaughter away and having the occasional campfire. Not sure I can agree the problem is ONLY due to the minority, many of the places campfires have been banned (and the list will grow) are because of people like us slowly making major changes through minor behavours. As Crackles said, you don't notice over a couple of seasons but when you visit places over 20 years apart it becomes obvious. No doubt, however, those who abuse a good many things greatly speed up the process. Not sure where New York comes in, I've never even visited the place;-)

FollowupID: 716104

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:22

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:22
"... given the fact most fires are inappropriate,"
Who's to say they are inappropiate Mark? Is it inappropiate to have a fire for warmth, for cooking or even for socializing? While certainly not essential that really has little to do with if they're inappropiate or not. I believe it is all to do with if fires in certain areas are sustainable in the long term. Come to the Vic High Country & see the millions of tonnes of dry wood available, an area I have no problem with large fires, even Parks allow 1m x 1m.
On the other hand in over camped places like the Murray River where people ring bark trees so they have wood next time & vacuum every dry stick off the ground, it's no wonder additional restrictions are put in place. I suppose the problem is it's a gradual process where individuals don't see the damage done. One example I've noticed is the timber being removed from around Pedirka on the way to Dalhousie & the Simpson Desert. From my first trip in the 80's to today, all the Ghan sleepers have been removed for a kilometer in each direction & the majority of dry standing timber stripped from around the creek. From one year to the next no one could tell but over 25 years it's clearly unsustainable.
"We've often observed people setting up camp, starting a blaze then walking off and doing other things! Why?" Because obviously they want hot coals to cook tea on ;-)
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 443969

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:19

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:19
Craig, great points. Can I clarify my point about starting a fire then walking away? The thing that started me on this is a recent trip to the centre (around Alice). We're talking hot days. More than a few times I saw people set up camp, start a fire in the middle of the day, then set off for walks or to potter around camp. We are not talking getting the coals ready for cooking. At Palm Valley Campground a group pulled up, set up camp chairs, started a fire and set about having a beer and chatting. Nowhere near the fire of course, it was too hot!. After a few beers they packed up the chairs and drove off!

The problem, as I see it, is a campfire is seen as part and parcel of camping. I don't for a minute want to suggest it isn't a great part of the experience, but if it was seen more as an option I think we'd see more appropriate uses. The above example is by no means a one off. I'm simply suggesting a change of attitude may be possible, though judging by some responses I'm probably wrong :-).

Good point about a problem being a gradual progression. It's easy to think you're not doing much damage until you see things over a good number of years. One of the (few) advantages of getting older maybe?

FollowupID: 716101

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:29

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:29
i guess camping is something we most certainally dont need to do, there is no justifyable reason or point in doing it as it does damage to very fragile areas and most people seem to want to camp in national parks and other places that are set aside because they are recoginised as needing protection .....
But .....
We all love to get away from it all and we ALL love to sit beside a nice campfire and have a beer (or wine, or rum) and dribble and yarn and just generally have a really good time, as long as we are reasonably responsible we will never stop doing it, just imagine camping without a campfire, how un-australian is that eh, every trip away is a celebration !!!!!!
best way to stop it is stop camping and tourists full stop with "more rules" ........
Well that is the way i look at it, dont like it stay at home (((smile))))
Cheers Joe
AnswerID: 443971

Follow Up By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:38

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:38
couldn't agree with you more,.
FollowupID: 716040

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 07:38

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 07:38
Agree with as well
FollowupID: 716066

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:59

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:59
Spot on.
FollowupID: 716076

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:17

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:17
Here here
FollowupID: 716150

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:48

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:48
you know ..... we get the kids to gather the wood, get the fire site ready, set it all up AND light it and maintain it .... all of them, James 3, Amy 7 and Daniel 9 and not only do they absolutly love it, it teaches them to respect fire and be responsible with it and what it is for, we teach them to gather dead wood only, we teach them to be careful about snakes, lizards, spiders and other "nasties" that may be lurking under the wood .......... i know it will make them far more responsible with fire when they are older ....
Yes we have camped without fires but it is not the same, you just sit there and look around at every one else, they look lost, sad, depressed and bored $hitless .... the kids even get up set if we cant have a "fire" .... probally feel like the people that wont eat meat, go a bit funny after a while and hug trees n stuff...
O well it probally will happen one day but later than sooner please, i will be far to old to care then :-)
FollowupID: 716181

Follow Up By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 14:07

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 14:07
You've got it in a nut shell, Joe n Mel n kids. We used to spend many hours with our kids sitting around a camp fire & there are no words that are powerful enough to describe it. Sure beats sitting 'round a tv !!!
FollowupID: 716267

Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:42

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:42
When out camping last year in outback Queensland I lite a small fire for cooking. On this particular day I decided to teach the kids how to cook on an open fire. (two nine year olds).
Within half an hour I had a couple abusing the #$@ out of me for burning wood. Eventualy they left, but as a last comment they had to hurl a comment about kids cooking.

I have no problems for a fire as required. Cooking, warmth, etc It's when you have a large fire for maybe only one person I think is more a problem. If your with a large group, fair enough.

BTW. Snags, spuds, and damper were very tasty cooked in the fire, by the kids.
AnswerID: 443978

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:48

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:48
..... then there is the people that throw stubbies & bottles in to the fire, what the hell are they thinking?
AnswerID: 443980

Follow Up By: Member - Leanne W (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 16:25

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 16:25
I couldn't agree with you more.

We camped at Geehi three weeks ago. Campers near us would light a fire and burn all of their rubbish on it. On the morning they packed up to leave, they lit another fire and put the rest of their rubbish on it, then left with the fire still burning. We walked over and had a look, and there was bottles and tins and all sorts of other stuff that should never have been thrown onto a fire. It was an absolute disgrace.

We occasionally light a fire when camping, but usually only for warmth.

Leanne
FollowupID: 716115

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:56

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:56
Ferals

Site Link

https://picasaweb.google.com/riverswaggie/NoojeeToWalhallaToBlueRockDam#5556687121173921458
FollowupID: 716185

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:50

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:50
I am a self confessed pyromaniac, (not in a bad way). I love a good fire. I like it to be big enough for the group I am with to sit around comfortably and yet not so big that I have to sit back miles.

A couple of years ago I was travelling in a desert region with a mate who grew up on the land. At one camp site I built a fire to cook on. It satisfied the above criteria. We did some of our cooking on this fire and sat down to eat our meal. When we finished eating my mate got up and skull dragged a large dead woody weed onto the fire it was a great fire.

My concern was for the "damage" that this fire was causing. My mate explained that the woody weed should be burnt anyway because of its ability to propogate causing more problems.

Sometimes a big fire is not only good fun but good for the environment.

Having said that a campfire is not "essential". many a good night has been spent sitting in the bush watching the stars un-deminished by the light of a fire and sometimes it is just too
warm a night to sit beside a fire.

AnswerID: 443981

Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:13

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:13
Yep, this site gets GREENER evertime i stick my head in!

To actually read about is a campfire really necessary?

I was going to go full rant but its just not worth it.

Get rid of everything you own move to the bush and live under a tree, it will be less stressfull for some of you greenies!

Whats happening to this country?
AnswerID: 443985

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:10

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:10
No point mate Bob Brown holds the balance of power, we are all screwed. He proposes to ban fishing, god help us.
FollowupID: 716079

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:30

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:30
Really? Interested to see your evidence for that generalisation Jason.
FollowupID: 716105

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 15:14

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 15:14
What evidence do you need Bazooka the guy is a fruit cake! You are on this site so obviously enjoy camping etc, lets see how we go after he has been led by the nose and the National Parks no longer permit camping or other rereational pursuits.

I work in the fishing industry and I know that he has state level authorities very very nervous, with talk of further massive marine parks, including fishing bans and restrictions. Not all of the current marine parks are based on good science there are a number in place because it seemed like a good idea at the time.
FollowupID: 716107

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:27

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:27
So what you are saying Jason is essentially:
- that you don't like Bob Brown; (fair enough, your opinion)
- you THINK he'll somehow convince state and fed govts to ban recreational pursuits in NPs; (alarmist nonsense I'd suggest, but if you can point me to a statement which suggests otherwise I'd be VERY interested to read it. WA has, or used to have, wilderness areas from which people are banned totally - at least that was what a ranger told us as he berated a lone walker resting high on a rock above Geikie Gorge).
- and Bob Brown is not working to ban fishing at all. (correct)

If you work in the industry you would know that successive fed govts, Lib and Labor alike, have been supporting research and working with states to implement good, sustainable marine environmental management - which means in some cases to establish marine parks to protect breeding grounds and reduce/minimise overfishing. There are lots of documents about (both fed and state) which discuss the huge benefits which derive from MParks. Here is but one.

And here is a brief summary of the 'Greens 'Fishing' policy.
Have never heard of them making any statement about banning camping or recreational pursuits in NPs - unless you are thinking about their drive in NSW to ensure the ban on recreational SHOOTING in NPs is continued.

I'm not a member of any political party but I do support good policy which provides a balance between the needs of industry, the sustainable management of resources, and long-term environmental protection.
FollowupID: 716120

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:05

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:05
Ask Bob Brown where he was during & after the Victorian bushfires, he was strangely silent!

FollowupID: 716135

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:12

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:12
Thanks for the reply Bazooka you are right I am not a great fan of Mr Brown. It is my opinion an I to have no political associations.

As you have stated in your reply that you observed a "lone walker get berated by a park ranger" this is not uncommon as their are no go areas in most National Parks. If you get the rangers on a good day (I work closely with the NPWS) some of them will admit that essentially their policy boils down to conservation by exclusion. As we know locking people and hunters out of national parks can allow feral species to flourish, particularly pigs, foxes and rabbits and horses. NPWS does their best to address these issues with baiting and shooting programs all of which I have been involved at various stages.

It is interesting to note that the NSW Games Council Rangers have noticed a distinct decline in a number of key feral species since they have opened up various state forests to recreational hunting. I believe (and I am not a hunter and do not even own a gun) that conservation hunting has a place even in a National Park. To me this is evidenced by the fact that even the NPWS employ hunters and dog trappers as part of their management strategy.

Regarding the fishing issues I can only tell you what I have experienced from within industry and their concerns regarding Mr Brown.

I offer the following article for your info.

/www.dailytelegraph.com.au/election/bob-brown-wants-us-to-stop-fishing-but-his-research-is-flawed/story-fn5zm695-1225904672738

The fishing forums are a wash with this stuff and it is causing great concern to anglers. I am aware that some of this is based on crap, some on fact, some on experience and the impacts on coastal communities and some tourism businesses.

Whilst there is a requirement to enforce various legislation I am loath to see new laws or restrictions placed on our activities. Such perhaps as bans on camp fires or further mass marine park implementation. Whilst these types of restrictions have a place in some circumstances they only prevent honest people from undertaking the activity. The minority of idiots continue to abuse the system.

There are rules and regulations in place already that address most of the sustainability issues for fishing, behavioural issues with drivers etc. There is just not enough commitment from governments to enforce the rules in a targeted manner. It is cheaper to change an Act of parliament than to employ 2000 more police or 500 more Park Rangers or Fisheries Officers, who can target the offenders. Most people will voluntarily comply but you need the big stick to address the others.

Take fishing for instance their are restrictions on size limits, bag limits, possession limits, protected species, seasonal closures on fish species, seasonal closures on particular areas, total closures on areas where fish are vulnerable, recreational, and commercial fishing licences, gear restrictions, bait restrictions, et etc etc. These mechanisms are all capable of addressing all of the issues associated with sustainable fishing. It is just easer and cheaper to put a blanket restriction on an area and if your in there you are booked.

I can tell you from experience that the honest people do stay out. The crooks also love it because it gives them better opportunities with less eyes around.

It MY opinion that Bob is dangerous, with his current position of power.

FollowupID: 716137

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:15

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:15
Apology to Silkwood for crapping on in the middle of his post also.

FollowupID: 716138

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:18

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:18
Jason, no apology necessary, though you could have mentioned campfires! Actually your comments are related. You are spot on that exclusion is a major management tool for Parks Managers in all states. I've known managers in a few states who, if they could, would rather spend more resources on education and personal contact. Sadly, it's not possible. Far easier, with huge areas and limited resources, to simply ban or fence off. After a while I suspect this becomes a preferred option and a natural fall back choice.

FollowupID: 716151

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 21:29

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 21:29

Dealing with these guys regularly it does become obvious that it is an easier option for them to fence off and close an area from a management point of view. This culture has become more prevalent due to under resourcing as mentioned.

These managers both planners and rangers have massive areas to look after and limited budgets (and they do the best they can). I know they are under immense pressure to meet budget targets and as such many things simply get pushed back or ignored. What I have also noticed is that the squeaky wheel gets the oil. I have seen vast areas of easily accessible black berries in NP's not get sprayed as the budgets have been redirected to other areas because of political pressure in the form of people writing ministerial letters and annoying MP's etc. In one instance we used a boat to get to the offending area (2 plants). Whilst it was good to get to these black berries and spray them the cost was that a number of acres of other's went unsprayed that year as a result. It wasn't that one area was more sensitive to the other, it was purely that a local member got involved so resources were diverted inefficiently to appease them.

With regards to fires I agree with a lot of what you are saying, however it is very hard to legislate for idiots. Most people are responsible and consider the issues you have raised. I generally try and take wood with me if possible and do enjoy cooking in camp ovens etc. The rules and legislation that is already in place would address most issues if it was enforced efficiently.

The problem we have now is that Government and legislators are changing legislation so that it is cheaper to enforce, requires less resources to catch out the dummies and creates revenue. They are prepared and accept that 10% of the people will get away with it. The problem is that it is this 10% that causes most of the problems and the rest of us pay for it.

Look at the new mobile speed cameras. It is feasible that you could loose your licence on the way to work if you did 10% over the speed limit and went through a number of these. A lot of generally safe drivers have been stung by these things. Yet I lived in a small country town for 12 years that had a Police station that was closed at night with no Police available for periods. There were a number of very well known hoons who would do burnouts up and down the main street when it was "safe" (no police) for them to do so. The Police wanted to get them and knew who they were but didn't have the resources to address the issues without applying for special funding and jumping through hoops of fire to get it, as it wasn't seen as a priority to spend a that amount of money just to address 1 or 2 hoons.

Also these cameras are owned an operated by Macquarie Bank, surely they are going to place them at the most lucrative locations $$$ wise for both their investors and the Government and safety may come second.

In what I do I try and spend a significant amount of my budget targeting repeat offenders and those that are knowingly breaking the law. It is these people that need an attitude adjustment more than mum, dad and the kids that make an honest mistake here and there.

Again sorry for the various unrelated topics used in my examples.

FollowupID: 716163

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:35

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:35
In fact Jason there is little evidence that any of the restrictions you have mentioned have lead to an improvement in marine stocks or the marine environment (at best they may reduce the rate of decline marginally), which is one of the reasons MPs have been introduced by many countries (of various political persuasions).
As far as the Telegraph article goes, I notice they did not discuss the well-accepted fact that global fish (et al) stocks have been in significant decline for many years (not unexpected as the Telegraph is hardly the bastion of rational discussion). The Canadians in this particular study may well have got their % wrong but numerous other studies all confirm massive declines in marine stocks. Spreading ‘disinformation by omission’ is a common tactic by tabloids (and shock jocks of course). You can google as well as I but here are but a couple of artciles which talk about this very important issue:
50 years left for sea fish
UN Review of Migrating Fish Stocks:
"Currently, the UN Food and Agriculture Organization estimates that three quarters of the world’s fish stocks are in distress and nearing depletion and that the majority of straddling fish stocks, highly migratory species and other high seas fish stocks are either fully exploited or overexploited."

In regard to allowing recreational shooting in NPs – how would you propose to manage/police that in NPs? Shooters are permitted in state forests and on private property, and persoanlly I can see no reason why they should also be allowed into NPs as well. I’m sure you would agree that there is a HUGE difference between a properly managed professional cull and random targeting by (often) less-than-competent amateurs. I’m equally sure that you have heard of the anecdotes about lunatic fringe shooters breeding and releasing ferals (primarily pigs) so that they have ‘guaranteed prey’ (what do they shoot when they can’t find ferals I wonder). Unfortunately these animals don’t respect our boundaries and move into NPs.

Conservatives have tried (with some success) to paint Bob Brown as a ‘dangerous extremist’. I think the facts don’t support any such label and it’s lazy thinking that allows mud like that to stick. If he’s your/our greatest worry then we are doing very well thank you very much.
FollowupID: 716192

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:42

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:42
Bob Brown is a hypocrite & a fool!
FollowupID: 716193

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:54

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:54
Okay, if you say so. Got anything rational to say on any of the subjects being covered in this thread ?
FollowupID: 716194

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:57

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:57
Bazooka

You have widened the scope to include global fish stocks. Their is no argument that global fish stocks are in decline. What I am talking about are the restrictions placed on anglers in MP's. Essentially these issues are already being addressed with other management tools. Now as the NPWS manage MP's they are applying their conservation by exclusion principals to these.

Anglers get a bad rap and are treated differently to many other user groups in MP's. Many anglers practice catch and release now days and are very serious about their sport. The majority of key species that they target in MP's are pelagic species that are migratory and only seasonally travel through the Mp's any way.

The rules happily allow for recreational diving as the NPWS's sees this as a passive non threatening activity. But thought is changing on this. The Grey Nurse sharks at Seal Rocks now experience such large numbers of divers that studies are being undertaken to determine the impact of this of their feeding, breeding patterns etc.

Australia still has some of the best fishing opportunities in the world. We have very well managed fisheries and policy makers that are adaptable. Blanket MP's along the coast are not the answer (ask the tourism industry and locals around JB).

Also as a country make up just 0.3% of the world population, whilst we manage our fisheries well, many countries elsewhere are doing the damage. Preventing our citizens from accessing the resource in a responsible manner is not the answer.

Your quote:
"I’m equally sure that you have heard of the anecdotes about lunatic fringe shooters breeding and releasing ferals (primarily pigs) so that they have ‘guaranteed prey’ (what do they shoot when they can’t find ferals I wonder). Unfortunately these animals don’t respect our boundaries and move into NPs."

This is happening already, these are the 10% that need to be targeted by the law. They currently have massive areas of NP to hunt in that are locked up to other user's (because they follow the rules) these guys cut gates and fences for access in areas that are rarely patrolled by rangers.

Wouldn't a well set up licensing scheme where hunters are educated and pay licence fee's assist with the management of these issues? At present all of the responsible hunters do not hunt in NP's because it is illegal, so only the lunatics have access. The money could be put towards policing of NP's which is very lax at present.

What has been found with the Game Council trials is that the responsible hunters take their sport very seriously, and they know that access to the State Forests is a privilege not a right. The involvement of these responsible hunters has led to a reduction in the numbers of lunatics (can only speak for the Bathurst/Oberon areas) because these forests are now patrolled routinely by Rangers (employed as a result of the licensing scheme) and the Police. Also these responsible hunters have provided an unprecedented amount of intelligence to rangers/police about illegal hunters because they want to protect their sport.

FollowupID: 716217

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:31

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:31
Love a good camp fire.
Even bought myself a chain saw to take camping, saves swinging an axe.
Camp oven cooking on coals, nothing beats it. The kids help gather wood, help light it, we take a magnifying glass for the kids to try and light it with. The fire is never more than we need to cook dinner and then have a few beers around after.
We only ever use dead wood. Never cut a live tree down. If there isn't wood lying around a fire doesn't get started.

Mark,
You would like to think that the majority here and those that travel often would be doing the right thing. I know there is the element that go camping and would cut down any thing in sight for the sake of a camp fire, but thankfully I don't hang around idiots like that.
AnswerID: 443987

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:23

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:23
Jon....ditto on all the points you raise!!

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 716081

Reply By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:43

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:43
Silkwood, A couple of questions spring to mind. 1. Do you & family members have a fire when you camp? 2. Have you ever sat next to a fire someone else has lit & maintained? 3. Have you ever cooked over an open fire? If answer is yes to any or all of these questions you are an accessory before during & after the fact. I have a fire as allowed by law...DSE & Parks law if anyone tries to put my fire out or wish to take me to task over it for no apparant reason I will loan them my long handle shovel, but only for a very short time. As for people who cut down green trees or sapling, throw cans & bottles onto the fire they are not Morons because they are idiots. You see morons have more intelligence than idiots. There are new rules & fines out for people that do not comply with the restrictions on camp fires & some of the offences are; 1. Have a fire more than a metre square & not in a properly constructed pit (hole). 2. Leave fire unattended. 3. Have or maintain a fire not complying with the criteria (Rules) as set out in the DSE & Parks guidelines. ie close to bushland too close to river & on it goes. I think the new fines start at about $360. You don't use opera house nets do you? They are also banned & can incur a fine due to the fact Platypus are drowning after being caught in them!!!
AnswerID: 443988

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:47

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:47
Gadzooks, now it's 'unaustralian' not to have a fire when you camp? Hardly. Everyone (well almost) loves a campfire to sit around and socialise but there are many times and places where it is impossible or irresponsible. Of course this doesn't stop some people (hopefully Explorozers aren't included among them). And, as we all know there are plenty of alternative fuels available for cooking if you are prepared.

Scavenging wood from SOME environments is borderline environmental vandalism (Easter Island is an extreme example of what can happen).The fact that the tree/log would have decayed/burnt naturally or 'someone else would have chopped it down or picked it up if I didn't' is an 'interesting' viewpoint.

So, Mark, my answer to your question is NO - a campfire, while often a desirable part of the camping, is far from essential. Good company and/or solitude/serenity are far more important.

Another way of looking at it is - would I give up camping if I couldn't have a campfire? Not on your Nelly.
AnswerID: 443989

Reply By: Member - Josh- Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 07:35

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 07:35
Silkwood,
Does your house have wood in it?? Was it all platation grown?? When you have a fire or sit by a fire is plantation grown?? Do animals not live in platation grown timber?? Where is platation grown timber grown- on land once used by natural timber providing homes for milloions of animals. Do you cook on gas instead of open fires. Where does the gas come from?? How many animals homes are disrupted to get the gas??? What car do you drive?? When you go away camping do you have someone in front clearing the small animals out of the way so they don't get hurt or do they not matter????
I have no problem looking after our country but seriously how many rules do we need to live. Why not make the penalties for the idiots really heavy and let the rest of us get on with living. If you do want a fire go for it but leave the rest of us out of it.
I can't believe we are reading a post about this on a camping/travelling site. Lets get a big ball of cotton wool and rap everything up in it.
Everything we do destroys something and we should minimise the damage but let us enjoy life for a little longer.

Josh
AnswerID: 443996

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:56

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:56
Josh, your post confuses me regarding the main point. The first part of your argument appears to suggest if I have an impact I have no right to have or put forward an opinion on anything. Yet further down you point out yourself that everything we do has an impact. In that case why should you have an opinion or input into the conversation? I think your first response was more emotional than sensible.

Having said that, the rest of your post goes on to put some valid points. Where I differ is the last part. It's true we have a tendency to make rules instead of manage effectively but, as pointed out by others, Park Managers have to balance management needs with resource allocation. It's simply easier and more effective to ban something than properly police it. You're dead right this impacts the majority mostly. Those who would ignore the rules are usually the ones creating the biggest problem in the first place.

I do think, however, that the idea the "rest of us" are not to blame is unreasonable. We almost always see the problem as somebody else's behaviour. Many posts here are taking the presumption I suggested banning campfires. In fact I'm asking if people think SELF-MANAGEMENT, in other words, responsible behaviour, is a reasonable thing to expect. This, more than most things, will help minimise the rules in the first place. Not convinced it will happen though!

FollowupID: 716202

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:01

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:01
I was trying to make the point that everything you/we do impacts. In your original post you mentioned taking your own plantation grown timber to burn. I was making the point that plantation timber is not as enviromentally friendly as some people think. In Tassie they employ people to shoot possums, wallabies and any other animals that eat the trees which seems to be ok but not burn wood from the bush cause it will disrupt their homes.
I believe we need to look after our world and when we travelled we often took home home more of other peoples rubbish than our own. From the replies here it seems most people already self manage to a certain degree and those that don't don't care enough to. I know in some areas they are closed to fires to allow the area to recover and are then opened to fires again when they have recovered, other areas are then closed off to recover. This is management not banning fires.
At no point did I say you can't have an opion just as I can also have one even if it is different. I guess that's the joy of living in oz as is our right to having a camp fire TIC.
You make some valid points but as a number of people here took it that you wanted to ban fires maybe the wording of the post was taken the wrong way. I think you are preaching to the converted. I have camped in many areas where fires are banned and people still had fires.
If fires are allowd and collection of fire wood is allowd then someone having a fire is ok. We usually took our own fire wood so didn't collect it from where we camped.

Josh
FollowupID: 716338

Follow Up By: escapesilv - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 13:53

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 13:53
Josh

I agree with every word, lets not take things out of REAL prospective, every action has a consequence good or bad..

Cheers Rob.
FollowupID: 716414

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 07:45

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 07:45
I am an Australian, and it is my birthright to have a camp fire. This country was built around camp fires.

I go camping because I enjoy cooking and relaxing by a camp fire, with or without company. I will continue to do so as long as I am able. And the Greenies can go to hell !

Why not complain about bush fires? They are bigger than any camp fire I have been able to get going. And often caused by neglect or interference by Green mobs trying to save some never before heard of tree frog or similar.

As other respondents to this thread have commented .. "what is happening to my country".

Live begins when you get one!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 443997

Follow Up By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 13:04

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 13:04
Goodonya Jack
FollowupID: 716097

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:32

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:32
'do-gooder greenie politically correct moron'
Yep, or Troll.

AnswerID: 444000

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:03

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:03
A troll is someone who jumps in, makes a useless comment, then dissappears. I've tried to answer a number of responses to this. What have you contributed, apart from hot air?

FollowupID: 716203

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:09

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:09
You asked.
I answered.

FollowupID: 716204

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:16

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:16
Good point, if a little brief! ;-)

FollowupID: 716206

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:49

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:49
"Cheers, (from the almost the driest, least forested continent) "

Therein lies the rub Mark , you could have added , "and the least populated".

Fires are wonderful and a automatic must when appropriate for the circumstances.

As in all issues , there are those that abuse and the majority that do the right thing and extreme positions on either side won't help much.

In Victoria here our massive recent fire was caused by power lines sparking in high winds. A hundred years of campfires wouldn't cause as much damage
so should we ban electricity ?

AnswerID: 444002

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:56

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:56
Hi Mark

As they say, each to there own and my thoughts are different to yours, sorry. The first thing that we great ready when bush camping is a camp fire, for cooking and warmth. There is a very big difference from a camp fire to a bonfire!!

I think that you should get out more and travel to remote desert areas. They may be called a desert, but they are far from being barren, with more vegetation out there that you could ever believe.

Would you join my morning fire when it is minus 5 in the morning or would you do the right thing and sit back and freeze?

AnswerID: 444004

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:10

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:10
When I go camping I must have a fire...there is no other option unless I am somewhere where you are not allowed a fire or they have a fire ban. I will teach my children about fire and how to cook on them.

I think a healthy/good respect for fire from a young age is very important.

AnswerID: 444006

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:23

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:23
The problem is that once you start calling for the banning of anything because of abuse by a very small percentage of the population, the other 90% who are usually responsible in their outlook and actions are the ones most affected, the other 10% carry on their merry way and nothing has been achieved. (and I understand you didn’t call for the banning of fires, but many wood)

We enjoy camp fires, carry a chain-saw for use on tracks that have fallen logs, and to cut fire-wood from fallen timber.

I’m sure we are no different to most that frequent this site when I say we do this responsibly, give consideration to whether it is appropriate to take the timber from the area we are in, and whether it is appropriate to have a fire suitable for our purposes. We get out in the bush because we love it, not becuase we want to destroy it, and this thinking always is at the fore-front of aything we do when out and about.

And let me say, sitting around a campfire, chatting, contemplating, dreaming, with family and friends is one of the most enjoyable things we look forward to on our trips. Sure beats the hell out of glaring into the abyss of 40 inch plasma.....

We need to stop penalising and thinking for the majority of Australians who are responsible in outlook and actions, we’ll never rid ourselves of the 10% who act irresponsibly, whether they are the hoons doing 120klm an hour in a 60klm zone, irresponsible four-wheel drivers ripping up (closed) tracks or campers that need a towering inferno to cook dinner.

It’s all about balance......

Anyway, that’s my couple of bob’s worth,

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 444007

Reply By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:50

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 09:50
Interesting replies. Some seem to think they agree with me because I want to ban campfires. Sorry to burst anyone's bubble, I don't. I regularly have a campfire where the circumstances permit and would not like to see campfires stop becoming part of our outdoor experience. One of my points was we will see more and more "no fires" areas, and this is true. At least part of the reason is that in some areas campfires have denuded the local area of fallen wood. In fact I go places where I used to see a lovely bush campsite and now only see a barren patch with the surrounding trees sporting broken or cut-off branches. There is much comment about "the others" who spoil it for the rest of us. We never see ourselves as the problem.

There are times and places where it would be almost stupid not to have a fire. Cold evening, great location, loads of fallen timber. Reality is, though, these times are not the norm. For the rest of the time a decision is made whether a fire is necessary and usually the answer is yes. I'm simply asking, why can't the answer be "maybe"? Whenever anyone brings something up that people disagree with, respondents trot out all the times where their perspective is right, without commenting on all the times it isn't. But of course, it's everyone else who is the problem.

Try this, when you have a campfire do you need to go more than fifty metres from the fire to gather your wood. If the answer is yes, you are probably having a fire in a denuded area. Either you have to do this because all the surrounds have already been cleared or the area doesn't support enough vegetation in the first place. If you do need to do this and still go ahead with your fire I don't see how you have any argument when the "no fires" sign goes up.

When studying Outdoor Ed we were taught to only burn timber no thicker than your thumb, because that's what the surrounding area could sustain. Now I'll admit I've broken that rule more than a few times, but knowing it has always made me stop and think whether the fire is appropriate. We don't have to have a fire at camp, many if not most of our camps are fire free, but we can do so often in the right circumstances. Not trying to ban anything, simply wondering why we have to have fires as an obligatory experience.

First prize goes to Craig (Crackles) for picking up on my rhetorical, unsupported "fires are inappropriate"" comment. You're dead right, who says? I will admit I wrote that on purpose to get a response. I actually heard it first from a friend who works for Parks Victoria and pointed out to him it was syllogistic nonsense. His reply was- it may well be, but that is the feeling of many in the National Park workplace. Point is, if that is how some see our campfires we will inevitably see more places where they are banned. That attitude is wrong, almost as wrong as those who say "No more rules" (what a stupid argument) or the even more fatuous "I've been doing this for years, my grandfather taught me, it's my right as an Australian"! I suppose this is the same group who jump up and down when someone says Uluru, rather than the "original name" Ayres Rock, without seeing the ridiculousness of the stance.

Two points- 1. If we continue to have fires as an essential part of the bush experience, regardless of whether they are appropriate for the area, we surely cannot complain when they are banned in many areas. It's not "those who won't do the right thing" that are the problem, it's us.

2. I don't understand why people who say they love the bush can go to a cleared area and then proceed to clear the greater surrounds just to have there fire. Surely you want to camp in a beautiful bush setting, not a clearing which looks like a bush carpark?

I suppose I'll get roasted for having an opinion. Here's an idea, instead of simply posting that more rules are the end of the world or it's your right or other such "ban the greenies" ranting, have a think about what you want to say and put it down as an argument supporting your case. It would make for a much more reasonable discussion. I guess some just like an argument.

AnswerID: 444010

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 11:14

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 11:14
I read your first post ....

Thought it would have been better if you asked what is adequate as a campfire .... as Im sure there would been a bunch of sensible sized fire pics like John & Vals.

.... altho theirs needs to be a tad bigger to accommodate a camp oven and hot water can .... LOL

And - it is - "those who wont do the right thing" that are the problem .... as our legislators get all aroused and excited about creating rules affecting the whole population ...... instead of effectively managing a troublesome minority whether they be firelighters, poor drivers or wayward pedestrians.

Funny thing thinking about legislators .... The area most devoid of deadfall that Ive ever seen is that for several hours in most directions from canberra. No wonder some of the locals were shipping semi loads down from this area for a tidy profit .. LOL

"us" is only a problem when you consider the over-population aspect mentioned in above posts.

Studying "Outdoor Ed" ..... ???? ............ Therein lies the problem I think ....
FollowupID: 716088

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 12:21

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 12:21

I think you are generalising far too much. Many responses indicate a 'passive' approach to having a fire, not too many saying a fire 'at all costs'.......

And on rules, we need to have them, it's bad rules that achieve little that are the problem!

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 716094

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:57

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:57
As you would be well aware there are always a range of views on here, from the sublime to the ridiculous. Ignoring the immature ('I can't believe this is being discussed on a camping forum"), good to see you give some of the statements the treatment they deserved in your response above.

I think Landy best sums up how many of us feel when he says:
'...we do this responsibly, give consideration to whether it is appropriate to take the timber from the area we are in, and whether it is appropriate to have a fire suitable for our purposes. We get out in the bush because we love it, not becuase we want to destroy it, and this thinking always is at the fore-front of aything we do when out and about. '

The problem, as you infer, is that many actually don't give it a second thought -they want a campfire and they'll have one no matter what. Thanks for making us think about the issue.
FollowupID: 716106

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:17

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:17
OzTroopy, How about this then :-))

Mark, really like your final para, specially the bit about posting a reasoned discussion. One liners just dont cut it, particularly online.

You have made us think though - so thank you for having the intestinal fortitude to put your case and create some (mostly) useful discussion.

FWIW there is a great variety of what is called "camping" - from large caravans with all comforts and mod cons for cooking, provision of warmth and hot water to basic swag and tarp arrangements and all shades in between. I think this variety may influence ones decision to use a fire. For us its useful but not essential for cooking, a valuable way of keeping warm and it certainly takes the place of the telly that we might watch at home. Usually has better programmes too!

I do agree with you overall point - we should think about our actions, not just do something out of habit. Applies to most things really....

Val

FollowupID: 716119

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:12

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 08:12
Val, it doesn't take much intestinal fortitude to post on the net ;-). I just got tired of the type of discussion which goes on , on most forums. I genuinely wanted to raise a point and ask a question. That's why I've put some time into posting answers, I think if people are forced to think about issues they may consider their own opinions a little more. Makes for a more interesting and productive discussion, don't you think?

Not trying to ban anything, have more rules (they're coming anyway) or change anyone's opinion. Just asking a question about a subject which both bothers and impacts upon me.

FollowupID: 716205

Reply By: the campfire guru - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 10:01

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 10:01
for an old out back camper like myself. A camp fire is essential. takes you back to where you belong. many great inventions came from sitting round a camp fire.
AnswerID: 444012

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 10:52

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 10:52
Re Deserts: It all depends on where you are camping. You can't make a blanket statement saying they are good or bad. I see no issues with remote desert travel and using dead fallen mulga/gidgee to have a superb fire for cooking a roast in the camp oven.

But the issue comes with the deserts that are heavily used - Simpson Desert springs to mind, and areas adjacent to the commonly used tracks and features are badly denuded. A bit like Dalhousie was 25 years ago.

We like to carry our firewood from outside camp, so we don't denude the good camp sites. A drive of a few k's to collect firewood is no problem. Our Landcruiser has an empty roofrack and our TVan has a firewood carrier. Too many people I see out there have no way of carrying firewood. At some of our favourite spots in the GVD, we carry dead wood in and replace it in areas that are becoming denuded.

As for the populated parts of Australia - we often buy a bag of Bunnings firewood - its never very good though :-(

AnswerID: 444020

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:34

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:34
Phil I'm not sure I did make a blanket statement. I said "this is especially true of deserts". I didn't say there should never be fires in desert areas. I would say, however, that most studies done on desert ecology point to a very low nutrient availability at all levels. Large burns which take out large timber resources are rare in most desert areas. In areas where, as you point out, there is heavy or even moderate use the surrounds can be depleted of much needed and relatively rare nutrients and shelter through campfire use. I'm not convinced a lot of the mallee country I've seen can sustain this, though there appears to be "plenty" of good timber about. As mentioned in an earlier post, it is very hard to see our impacts over a short time, they usually become more evident over longer periods. We can often believe we make little difference or have minimal impact upon a local environment without understanding the real effects.

There's desert and there's desert, as mentioned earlier, Australia's deserts aren't all sand dunes. They are, however, all low resource environments and the existing ecologies can be disrupted relatively easily. There are all sorts of impacts from human involvements, I'm not sure recreational fires are a valid addition. If I were to step out on a limb and say there should be bans on campfires it would probably be in desert regions. I know there are times when fires may be appropriate here, but there are times when speeding down a freeway might not be unsafe. Common sense and commuity welbeing demand we have laws to cover the more likely scenarios. I'd suggest the same could apply here (no, I'm not suggesting fires are to be held in the same regard as speeding!).

I do agree about Bunnings wood though!

FollowupID: 716122

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:07

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:07
Gday Mark,
This is a good thread - makes people consider think about what they do.
Sorry about my bad wording on "blanket statement" - it wasn't aimed at you.
Most of my opinions come from my time in the GVD and Simpson Deserts where I do volunteer work these days.

Regarding the "human impact", I'd suggest it is very minimal in the GVD and very noticeable in the Simpson desert. In the GVD, the major issues I see affecting the previously pristine desert are the huge numbers of camels, the recent return of rabbits and the bulldozing of 1500km of new mining exploration roads (this is just on the SA side). The presence or absence of campfires simply doesn't rate as being an issue in the GVD because the tourist presence is low. Even so we will not denude common camp areas - we carry most of our wood in from nearby, and use common sense with single campfires that are suitable for cooking and warmth.

Simpson Desert is a problem along the commonly used route - French Line/QAA Line and also the K1Line. The traffic flow in good conditions is huge, and common camping zones around Dalhousie/Purnie/Knolls and Poeppels Corner are badly denuded. But I have to take my hat off to the DENR and FOS with their management around Dalhousie and the Knolls. On our first visit there in 1988 the area was a dustbowl, and you could camp adjacent to the main spring. But their attempts at revegetating the area and moving the campers away from the spring has been worth it, given the volume of people that travel through this fragile area. I wonder where everyone gets their wood for their fires at Dalhousie - sure they pick it upon the way in, but a lot of wood gets burned in a season. Our solution to this situation is to never camp at dalhousie or the common areas - these days I get a lot more enjoyment from areas north of the NT border.

Your post suggests that you've seen some good research on desert ecology - I'd be really interested if you can point me to your sources as its an area of increasing interest for me. I haven't seen anything in particular about effects of tourist camp fires in deserts, but I am against banning fires in areas where they do not pose a problem.

phil
FollowupID: 716188

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:40

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:40
Phil I have no disagreement about the impact being different in different areas. This is the same for many areas of conservation. As pointed out above, however, usually the resources needed are not available to differentiate via individual area management. This is why we get blanket rulings, easier to ban it than to try and effectively manage affected areas.

I said if going out on a limb, the areas in which I woud support a ban are the desert regions. I'm not suggesting all these regions are badly impacted because of a few fires, but once you give flexibility (you can have fires here, but not here) you always get those who think they have a good reason for stretching the boundaries. By banning something completely you do minimise the impact overall but still get some who ignore the rules . As mentioned by others, it's usually a minority who ruin things for the majority, then that minority are still likely to ignore the rules. If you were a park manager with limited resources would you support trying to police individuals, or just ban behaviousrs or fence off areas? That's why I say, if anywhere, I'd support a ban in Deserts.

The work I read on desert ecology was in uni, a looong time ago :-). I'll try to source it. It wasn't specifically about fires though, from memory I think it only briefly mentioned wildfires, and I don't recall anything about campfires. What really struck (and stayed with) me was the emphasis on just how fragile most desert areas are, complex ecosystems which can crash with minimal changes. I'll have a look and see if I can source it, but the papers I read were part of the Environmental Management section at Uni SA. You may be able to find it yourself, particularly as you seem to have much more involvement in the area yourself. I believe the papers were part of a series on Nutrient Distribution in Natural Environments, but that's probably not the title. I remember reading it because I was doing paper on Stream Ecology and needed data on nutrification. In hindsight, I shouldn't have mentioned somethng I didn't have references for. Sorry.

Overall most posts here are encouraging. Most people want to have fire (just like you and me!) but seem to realise they may not be essential nor appropriate occasionally. Thanks for contributing to the discussion.

FollowupID: 716201

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 13:54

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 13:54
I think it was Robert Louis Stevenson who said "A fine meal without wine is like a day without sunshine".

I feel the same way about camping and campfires (well, the wine bit too).

AnswerID: 444029

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 16:05

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 16:05
I've heard that attributed to Stevenson, Pastuer, Brillat-Savarin and as a "traditional" Italian saying. I think the evidence suggests Brillat-Savarin. Can't agree with it in terms of campfires, but I sure as hell dislike a day without wine! As someone said-" maybe so, but on a day without sunshine you can still get drunk!.

FollowupID: 716114

Reply By: Member - IdahOz - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:23

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:23
As a newly transplanted "australian" I fall back on the words of John Williamson, my favourite singer, in my favourite song:
"we must never let them take this life away, old stock routes belong to one and all, drovers, dreamers all agree, poets, aborigines, we have a right to light a campfire on the road"
AnswerID: 444031

Reply By: the_fitzroys - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 16:43

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 16:43
We always have a fire in allowed areas and where there is a super-abundance of timber. Not conflagrations but just enough to warm, cook, boil the kettle, heat some washing water. To us, it's an integral part of our camping experience and we wouldn't consider giving it up. We're careful about what we burn and where we pick it up. I think one can get a bit too precious about habitat. Ask the victims of the Victorian Bushfires about the fallen timber that wasn't allowed to be removed from the roadsides. Equally, during floods a build up of timber can be a disaster. A friend in the country recently had their bridge destroyed because flood water washed loads of "protected" logs down the river. As it is a privately owned bridge no one is paying them for the damage. Ask them what they think of having to leave fallen timber. And then stand back.
Lou
AnswerID: 444037

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:34

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:34
Can you all stop calling it TIMBER.
You burn WOOD, You make things with TIMBER.
OK, That's off my chest now.

Carry on.

AnswerID: 444041

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:03

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:03
But Jon,

When I cut it down I don't call "wood" as it falls. That just woodn't be right.

FollowupID: 716134

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:03

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:03
Duncs, depends upon how excited you get cutting down trees! Hairs, I'm embarrassed and contrite, of course you are correct, unless you consider making a fire as making something ;-).

FollowupID: 716148

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 21:52

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 21:52
Ok Duncs,
That's a fair enough call I guess,

Mark,
Your splitting hairs now.

FollowupID: 716168

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:54

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:54
Hmmmmmmmmmm..........silk wood..........maybe a clue there????????
FollowupID: 716184

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:43

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:43
In the area where i live (and in much of the south west), campfires in summer are totally banned for very good reason. Also like John and Val, we have had to fight a fire in a camp ground in the Kimberley started by a very foolish person who lit a campfire; in long grass, during the middle of the day, on a hot windy day; which were conditions that we wouldn't light any fire in a fit. If you grow up with bushfires, you learn the signs and the fear.

I agree with Mark than we see many camp fires which are large way beyond the need. We call them "Whitefella Campfires". A "Blackfella Campfire" is one which is small, but adequate to meet the need.

AnswerID: 444056

Reply By: MarkSom - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:45

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:45
Hi Mark, Mark from Ballina here, do a bit of bush camping & agree that many thoughtless campers build these huge fires, dont cook on them, pinch every one elses wood, & sit 10 yards away from them coz they"re too bloody hot. We cured this.... built my own camp stove, 9kilo gas bottle, air vent, 3 legs, oven rods, grill, etc, etc..........minimal wood ( usually take our own ), perfect adjustable heat for cooking or hot water, no smoke, ash into drum under neath (no embers flying), got top with chimney & spark arrestor (for national parks if required), all fits into a crate on A frame........Check places, New England NP, Thungutti Camp Grounds.
AnswerID: 444058

Reply By: shanegu6 - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:32

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:32
Its un Australian not to have a fire and a firearm when camping!!!
AnswerID: 444067

Reply By: 3gobush - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 00:05

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 00:05
Well I'll be sexually intercourced, I had the fortune to teach my 5 year old how to make a camp fire the Binjing way, I told him story on how to make a camp fire and he did so with ease, I then gave him the credit he deserved and let him cook munme ( Dinner) we had a great time and I doubt he will ever go camping withoutcooking on a CAMP FIRE again.
AnswerID: 444097

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:06

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:06
Hi Mark,

It seems that you have IGNITED a very interesting debate on this topic!

We love having a small campfire to cook our evening meal on and choose free camping and places where we are able to have one while travelling, staying out of caravan parks for this very reason. However we use minimal wood and we put it out soon after we finish cooking unless the night is very cold, or we have friends sharing it.

We would never use green timber, cut down trees or collect wood where it is prohibited to do so but have seen other campers do this even in National Parks.

So I guess we fall into the category of occasional users. We carry a 'Little Wombat' portable campfire/BBQ in which the fire is enclosed in an insulated firebox and off the ground so it leaves no trace. To date on this trip in Tassie ( almost two weeks so far ) we havent used it but are hoping for the chance to do so soon. I just love a slow cooked meal in the camp oven.

I agree that with increased numbers travelling that there is certainly a problem, especially in areas where there is limited wood to collect.

Heather G
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 444102

Reply By: Teraa - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 13:52

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 13:52
After reading all the bad camp fire stories and it seems everyone has one are we sure it's a minority and not a majority. I would really like to see those heavily timbered areas on the Birdsville track mentioned ? So if you will drive for a couple km's for wood now in a few years when you have drive even further will it matter then. I agree that a campfire is nice in the cold but there are some areas that even ground timber that is far and few between maybe should be left alone and if you rely so heavily on having one don't go there. I reckon all there needs to be is a bit of thought on where your going and it seems those so hardened on the idea no fire no camp need to stay close to the timber or bring their own. There are so many alternatives why not open your mind to new things and maybe the fires should be left for those old stockman from the days gone by or when you are broken down. Get real on the loads of trees growing in desert.
AnswerID: 444160

Reply By: G.T. - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 13:42

Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 13:42
Some mail order catalogues advertise a gizmo that enables one to make a brick size fire logs out of newspaper, presumably for log fire burners.

Would these bricks be any good on an open fire? If so, they would be an alternative to burning wood. Also being square shaped it would be easy to store in your 4wd. Just a thought. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 444504