Maxtrax Copy Slush Tests

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:04
ThreadID: 81324 Views:9588 Replies:14 FollowUps:31

Related Pages

Finally decided to shell out the big bucks for a set of Maxtrax at Melbourne 4wd show only to find that no one in the entire exhibition had any.

Rang around a bit next day, no one had any but became aware that close Taiwanese copies are now available with RR of $220 instead of $295.
They are called Escaper Buddies -> also All Terrain Trax on Ebay look the same.

Note - These are not the smooth holeless $75 each ones that have been around for a year or two.

At first glance they look identical but they aren't.
They are less rough, not quite as heavy, and don't stack closely together, and appear not quite as high.
However they take up the same room because of the slighty lower profile, and their more generous rib design may mean they are stronger.
Adds for them state uses in the high country before their sand advantages, so with no Maxtrax around we brought the look alikes.

My feeling is there is not much between the two anyway but one thing you can do with them is sit on them - you would have to be brave to do that with Maxtrax.

I thought I saw a comment on here a few weeks ago about huge Maxtrax lugs ripping a tyre, can anyone confirm this ?

It was simply beautiful in the bush (our property) and the ground was quite slushy so we set up the "Escaper Buddies" to see if they could get us
across some slightly slopping soggy grass.

Video's were taken with several senarios and a few stills from them are below.
(have no video host site)

The scene was set up with a 5 degree side slope and 5 degree upslope and car in 2wd with no lockers on and using BFGAT tyres dropped to 18psi.
This setup partly unloads a wheel such that the rear driver wheel would spin first and allow easy comparison between 4 types of traction aids.
Buddies, Carpet, Lockers, Chains.

RESULTS

The Buddies failed at first as the car simply could not drive up the leading edge ramp leaving marks on the tyres from the plastic spikes.

The carpet section actual moved the car forward until the rear wheel folded it up and spate it out.

Engaging rear lockers moved the car forward a meter until it bogged properly.

The chains simply tore up the mushy ground spitting mud everywhere until they bit down and we drove right out.

Was a little disappointed with the Buddies and figured that if I could get over the initial ramp section they would be ok. So we went back and dug under the wheel and placed a Buddy such that the leading edge was at the vertical centre line of the wheel.
This worked and gave them a head start and the car drove up onto them , but then began to spin wheels on the top flat section, however enough assitance was provided to get the car out just.
Interestingly as the car came down of the trailing ramp edge the Buddy was driven hard backwards into the soft ground some 300mm

This limited success may be due operator error on my part, next test will be in sand at Stockton so if anyone has any usage tips please lets know.

I will be sticking to my chains in Victoriia

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:33

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:33
Excellent post, thank you!

I have used Maxtrax wth reasonable success on the CSR, I found that you have to be very careful not to spin the wheels on them, as it melts the grip spikes off them.
AnswerID: 430264

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:45

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:45
Thanks Shaker - I did note a little wear on the plastic spikes after just this first use. Being in 2wd didn't help me control the wheelspin either - must be careful of that one - at least we could turn them around 180 degrees to wear both ends.

FollowupID: 701092

Reply By: Member - Geoff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:40

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:40
Great work Robin,

I generally don't have any trouble where I go in the bush, but the going can get tough on Fraser at times, these might be easier than snatch straps.

AnswerID: 430267

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 15:15

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 15:15
Understand Geoff - I'm working thru what will be best for my next sand trip which will be solo and can't count on anyone to snatch me.

FollowupID: 701118

Reply By: PradOz - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:35

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:35
Hi Robin

I have never used carpet, so if it works I was wondering why not just keep some carpet off cuts in back in case they're needed and can double up for other uses too? Simple enough to replace as needed? appreciate your ideas, Thanks....
AnswerID: 430276

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:30

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:30
Hi Prado

Just flipping back to thread 78368 for a minute - a number of things like shade cloth , carpet etc can and do help a bit.
The many situations , and solutions people have used make it hard to get a relative idea of which actually works the best,

Carpet really does work in sand and slippery surface mud , being so cheap , its worth always carrying as floor mats etc.

Chains pretty well beat everything when they can bite , pity I couldn't put video up , it shows that they had to tear down several inches to find there grip
and they usually do find it except in manmade bogs and sand.

You made me think that , in this case , the 2 carpet tiles I always carry probably would have got the car straight onto the Buddies flat area without having to dig them under the front of tyre.

P.S. I had to wash both the carpet and Maxtrax copy and carpet loses here bigtime.

FollowupID: 701128

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 10:45

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 10:45
I carry heavy duty rubber mats, drop them on the ground, handy to keep the sand out of the back, also can be used as mud/sand tracks, put them in the back and use them to slide other gear in and out, have folded them and used them as a base for the high lift jack. Not perfect but useful.
Probably more use than carpet.
FollowupID: 701302

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:21

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:21
G'day Robin

Interesting post as - as usual.

Actually I had cause to see some Maxtrax in action a couple of weekends ago. We were in the Stanthorpe region and one of the guys didn't put his foot down when I told him too and sunk into the mush (consistency of wet cement).

Well the bottom line is that the Maxtrax were totally useless in that particular circumstance as they just sunk into the muck and provided zero assistance.

However I must concede that chains, carpet etc would not have fared any better. I used a snatch strap to pull him out.

I imagine that Maxtrax and the like would be best in sand where there's a firm footing for them.

Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 430283

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 18:29

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 18:29
Hi Moose

That would have been fun - you get those deep nasty ones sometimes and a snatch strap and friends are the way to go.

Last weekend I was alone , and approached a swamp , for some reason I got distracted and drove into it and had a few tense seconds as car sank and swam and just got out as lockers engaged , it was so close and swamp stank as well - would not have wanted to fish the Buddies out of that slime.

FollowupID: 701153

Reply By: Signman - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:51

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:51
The 'genuine' Maxtrax were $275 at the 4WD show at Eastern Creek a few weeks back. And from what I noticed they were fair 'walkin out the door'.
I got a set, and was asked 4 times by the time I got them back to the car "where did ya get 'em and 'ow much".
I think thats even better than ePay prices??

AnswerID: 430285

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:51

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:51
Good price Signman , they must have sold out hence nothing left for Melbourne.

I think this new offering will soon be at $199 for Xmas and may help bring Maxtrax down to a more realistic price.

FollowupID: 701167

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 14:05

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 14:05
I don't know if those copies would be as strong, but last year a pair of MaxTrax under two of eight wheels got 7½ tonne of rig out of the stones at Carawine Gorge. They are amazingly strong plastic.

AnswerID: 430288

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 07:54

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 07:54
That should convince anyone Motherhen.

I hope the Twainese ones are as strong , plastic is same type and they look the goods as opposed to chinese $70 each items.

FollowupID: 701202

Reply By: 93 Navara - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 14:37

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 14:37
Took my Maxtrax to Fraser last year and used them a couple of times on others vehicles. Most niticeable was at Indian Head when a Fraser tour bus became bogged. Was well and truly axle deep. With the maxtrax and a snatch it drove straight out. Very impressed, as was the driver and the other tour bus who stopped. Both were from the same company and were heading back to demand their boss get a set for each of their vehicles. That said, have never bothered to take them away around Vic or had need to use them in mud.
AnswerID: 430293

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:51

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:51
Getting a bus out must have impressed all right - they may now be very used Maxtrax though.

Same here Navara - no need for them normally in Vic , but maybe for next border track trip there is still one hill out there I haven't got up.

FollowupID: 701172

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:57

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:57
Thanks Robin - Good advice

Saw the Maxtrax in action in the Simpson late July, early August. We went it alone and had to winch to buried tires :-)

Watching people use Maxtrax made it look easy so thought maybe I might just get some.

Problem is how do you get the mud off them later :-)

Cheers Tony

AnswerID: 430313

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:30

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:30
Hi Tony
We store ours on the roof and after I used them, still full of mud I had no option but to place them back up on the roof, no big issue as the car was covered from one end to the other in mud. When you get the next chance, which in my case was 6 days later, I gave them a good hose down and they are like new again.

FollowupID: 701247

Reply By: Wilko - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:02

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:02
Hi Robin,

I don't like buying knockoffs as it doesn't encourage/reward new ideas. If everybody sold knockoffs and nobody developed new ideas it'd be a race to the bottom of the quality barrel.

I've used my Maxtrax several times and they work well when they can get a good grip of the ground underneath and you can clear the axles up off the mud/sand.

I got well and truly stuck 3 weeks ago whilst fishing. I broke thru the top crust into what can only be described as melted chocolate icecream underneath that had no bottom.

I used the maxtrax and they got sucked under the goo, It took the best part of an hour to find and pull them out.

I had a neighbours tractor eventually pull me out.

All in all Maxtraxs well worth the money for what they are and can do.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 430314

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:52

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:52
I have read a suggestion to put a rope onto the MaxTrax and a float on the end to find them when buried or under water. Even in the stones at Carawine, the MaxTrax were well buried after rescuing us.

Mh

FollowupID: 701147

Follow Up By: Wilko - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:54

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:54
Thanks MH I'll be doing that in the morning ; )

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 701182

Reply By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:03

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:03
"I thought I saw a comment on here a few weeks ago about huge Maxtrax lugs ripping a tyre, can anyone confirm this ?"

Yep. I done that. It was on the second occasion I used them on the Simpson this year. Up to the axles and beyond. Got winched out the next day. The Maxtrax have a low risk of puncturing tyres, I understand it increases if the tread on the tyre is worn. It was. The old Dunlop Grandtrek was still legal but well past its best. Punctured the front passenger side tyre. Objectively this was no big deal as I had two spares but it was rather demoralizing at the time.

I used the Maxtrax three times that trip. Used all four on each occasion. Worked well the first time and the last but were of no use on the second only adding to the problems. The cases where they helped I had lost traction but had not sunk into the muck. They are very heavy when covered in mud and it is hard to get it off. I have left my Maxtrax out in the rain for a month and they are now just about clear of the desert mud.

I would rate them 75%. Worked last year in a recovery of another vehicle and so they have been good three times out of four, hence 75%. For the serious deep bogging something else is needed. The are good but, as I found out the hard way, they will not get you out of everything.

Flynnie

AnswerID: 430327

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:23

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:23
Thanks Flynnie - appreciate you coming back on that point , it makes this thread more useful to others.

The smaller lugs across the top of the "Buddies" shouldn't cause as much tyre stress - but wether they have gone to small and slip to easily is still to be determined , and our collective experiences may help here.

FollowupID: 701159

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:59

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 19:59
Robin

I don't mind sharing my misadventures. I think we learn a lot more when things go wrong than when they go right. Must get to work again on the blogs and finish this years' reports. There will be a bit on people being not entirely truthful about how easy or hard something was. There is a tendency not to admit problems and pretend all went well. I travelled behind a few people where the track told a different story to their "no problems" accounts.

I should have added that with the Maxtrax I found it necessary to clear away around the tyre so that the Maxtrax could be wedged a bit under the tyre. I did this by hand a few times. A muddy and dirty business but I found the shovel a bit clumsy for that.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 701168

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 22:05

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 22:05
Even harder to dig in those stones at Carawine Flynnie! A little digging looked necessary before placing the Max Trax, and they gripped every time. First and only time we've used them.

Mh

FollowupID: 701184

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:11

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:11
G`day Robin,
As others have said, they can be difficult to remove from the mud ( read slop ).
We broke one of Jeff O`s and one of another blokes while helping him on the Simpson last July.
They were both Maxtrax and broke relatively easy I reckon.
It put me off them a bit, considering their cost.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 430334

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:23

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:23
Sorry, I should have also said that we were told on two occasions while discussing broken Maxtrax that the distributor will replace them free of charge if they were broken during "normal use" .
I will ask Jeff O how he got on.

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 701169

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 07:51

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 07:51
Hi Scrubby

Was that our type of "Normal Use " or Jeffs type of "Normal Use".

Hope he got the car fixed up ok , we never did here how he got on.

FollowupID: 701201

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 12:38

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 12:38
Hi Scubby.
Did you guys get bogged somewhere?
I would have thought our Team Leader, Chief Scout ( Howard) would have caught up with you.
I just ticked along with Robin and Anne behind , following Rob & Judy, fantastic.
The great people and the country I have met and seen. Hard to put into words.
I know one thing for sure I am going back next winter.
Russ
FollowupID: 701215

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 13:46

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 13:46
Woops, my mistake, Simpson not Canning, here was me imagining it may have happened on your quick exit from Durba Springs, my mind and imagination was getting a bit carried away.
Russ
FollowupID: 701218

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:32

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 20:32
Hi Robin
We had the misfortune of getting bogged in Lake Poeppel a few weeks ago after being told that it was no problem and stay in the middle - which we did. The end result was that we were bogged in knee deep ruts of mud. Out with the shovel and a few tries of forwards and backward resulted in no action at all.

Step two was out with the MaxTrax and I was not able to get any movement forward - which in fairness the car was bottomed out in one very sticky situation. My first try at putting them under the back wheels and we went back the length of the MaxTrax and another foot before running out of traction. Out with the shovel again and it took quite some time to get them out of the deep mud, the suction made them very hard to retrieve. This went on for 2 1/2 hours and yes I was making slow progress backwards.

A vehicle then came out under my guidance and was snatched out in a couple of minutes. The end result was that if no other vehicle did come along, it would have been a very long recovery, but they were working and I would have got out using the MaxTrax.

One question asked above, what do you do with the MaxTrax when covered in mud. The simple answers is put them back up on the roof, the biggest problem is not the muddy MaxTrax, but the person doing the recovery and covered in mud. All that I was wearing were jocks and a T-shirt and trying to get back into the car with as least mud on me as so not to fill the inside of the car with mud is very hard.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 430337

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:13

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:13
Well Stephen , you got some beautiful pictures for the big effort , I think I saw your first picture before and thanks for taking the time to add to this post I am sure it has helped a few to appreciate whats required.

I am learning to always take the time to take some snaps to assist with a later review.
Also learnt to always take some junk clothing which can be scarificed for the cause.

Just reading your reply I have a question or two , as I am considering buying a set of sand tyres for next trip.

What size tyres were you running - do you think another inch up may have made a difference ?

I had trouble with spining on my trax - your mud looks thicker than my slush - did you wheel spin much ?

Did you need to go to extra trouble to get them under your tyres (more than just a hard push ) ?

I am guessing your conclusion is that they may be slow , but a must have, when by oneself with no easy winch off points ?

FollowupID: 701177

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:46

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:46
Hi Robin
Hindsight is always a wonderful thing and I should have gone with my gut feelings, but being told it was OK, I took their work, how silly of me.

To answer your first question, I am running the standard size tyres on the Prado, 265/65 x 17 in LT form. To get me through those ruts, I would have needed a minimum of 6" of lift, but even then the diff is the lowest point and prior to coming to a complete stop, I was leaving about a 2" scrape in the mud by the diff.

Even though the video shows just clearing the mud from the tyres, I tried to get as much mud from under all parts of the vehicle as possible, to give the MaxTrax a better chance. When I first put them in front of the front wheels, it was a very big ask to try and drag my vehicle forward with the diff and sump completely stuck in the mud, and going down further if I did manage to go forwards.

When you get the MaxTrax you get a DVD on how to use them etc and the most important thing they stress is slow as you go and do not spin your tyres. I did not dig the trax in place, just put them at an angle to the back tyres and went back in low range reverse and the tyres gripped the Maxtrax and it went straight back until I was free of the Maxtrax and I just went straight down again. It may have taken a very long time if I was not snatched out, but yes I would have been able to free myself. Fiona was already putting plans in place of taking our camping gear and food to solid ground in the event that we had to spend the night out there in that lovely mud!

If I did not have the MaxTrax on the roof as my back up insurance, I would have taken the longer detour, not second thoughts about that. Like I said to one person out in the desert, give me a sand bog any day over mud. The picture below shows how I started off, but ended up using them at the rear, at the same angle and slowly making progress.

FollowupID: 701180

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 23:14

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 23:14
"and trying to get back into the car with as least mud on me as so not to fill the inside of the car with mud is very hard."

I reckon it's a lost cause. The picture below is after the first bog. It got much worse later. My boots were just about being sucked off by the mud. Probably more clay than mud. The inside of the vehicle getting dirty was of little account. That is one of the reasons I got a truck rather than a wagon as a bit of dirt is not so out of place on a truck.

The muddy Maxtrax were a storage problem and one I did not anticipate. Next time I will keep a space clear at the rear of the tray so they can be carried muddy or not. All the tray floor space was taken with other stuff so I just strapped them across the top of the empty jerry cans. At least there I could get to them quickly for later uses. I noticed one of the the Mt Dare vehicles has them mounted high on a modified ladder rack with swags and other gear. That could be something worth pursuing for a trayback. Anything else probably a space on roof racks.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 701193

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 08:09

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 08:09
Hi Flynnie
How did you go cleaning all that dried up mud. It took me days and it dries like cement. What I did was strip right down to almost nothing, as it was bad enough getting everything else muddy, let alone my boots and cloths. One special piece of special mud recovery gear that I usually wear (LOL) are the plastic type supermarket bags on my feet, but they were sucked off after a few minutes.

I usually carry an old chamois in the car and when I got to Poeppel Corner, tried to clean as much mud off of the steering wheel and gear sticks as possible, which made a very big difference.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

FollowupID: 701203

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 11:33

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 11:33
Great thread all, thks.

I've used mine on 2 occasions, one sand and one mud but and they worked brilliantly each time, but the situations were not extreme.

Re the boots issue, when I was in the mud I used my neoprene dive boots which I judge are unlikely to be pulled off by suction, altho, again, my mud sitn wasn't up to my knees.

FollowupID: 701210

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 14:07

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 14:07
Hi Stephen L
Looking at your experiences I am pleased I chickened out and came back via the Birdsville Track instead of the Simpson.
I hate getting bogged anyway.
No matter the amount of lift and/or tyre size when the diffs ,axles come in firm contact with the surface you a pretty much stuffed anyway.
I did think that the Simpson will still be there for another trip, but the Cooper Creek Ferry might not be running for another 20 or so years.
Got that done!.
Russ.
Thanks for your advice on when the road would be cut by the flood, as it turned out I was 3-4 days to late
FollowupID: 701219

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 14:22

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 14:22
Hi Russ
I am not proud to post the above pictures and I would have preferred to have left the MaxTrax on the roof and never have to use them. I am still copping if from Fiona about we should have never taken that track, but that is another story. I am glad that we saw the Cooper Ferry when we did, as we have tried to get back two other times and the roads have been cut from that continuous rain. Yes the Simpson will be there next trip and hopefully with NO MUD!!
I am glad that you were able to see the ferry, it is a great experience.

All the Best

FollowupID: 701220

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:45

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:45

Thanks for the reply Stephen re storage after use :-)

Above is what you do without the Maxtrax - I then had to put the muddy spare back up on the ute.

I am swinging towards owning a set - It would save a lot of effort :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701248

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:03

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:03
Gotta say that chains work well there and they both packup and clean easier than my Maxtrax copies did last weekend.

FollowupID: 701253

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:30

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:30
Responding to "How did you go cleaning all that dried up mud. It took me days and it dries like cement. What I did was strip right down to almost nothing, as it was bad enough getting everything else muddy, let alone my boots and cloths"

This was a dilemma. I briefly considered using a lot of the water I was carrying to do a thorough cleanup. I would have had 160-180 litres or so. But what do you do next? So I allowed the stuff to dry and then brushed most of it out with a small dustpan and brush I carry. Simple but very effective. Have got almost all of it out of the interior now. As to clothes that did not worry me. The old work boots did not mind the mud. A soak and rinse in a bucket followed by a good wash at Birdsville got the clothes clean. I did use the washdown facility out of Birdsville to get a lot of the mud out from under the vehicle, but not enough to save the rear brakes from destruction.

One tip to do with morale. The evening after being winched out I camped early. Had a good hot shower and changed all clothes. Made me feel a lot better.

The Maxtrax were impossible to clean during the trip. The mud was very clingy and even ones I left immersed under water overnight did not clear. I did that while bogged. As they dried much of the mud came off. A bit of a shake and a bash gets a lot off. The stubborn remainder has been washed off by recent rain.

I should add that none of the Maxtrax were pushed all the way under the mud. There was always something visible. Before heading out again I would attach cords to each to make them easier to find if they should be pushed down and out of sight. The cord should also float.

Flynnie

FollowupID: 701255

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:42

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:42
Hi Robin/Tony

Robin
Not wanting to a spoil sport, but looking at your pictures again and it is not a good comprision. In my above picture, that is the way that MaxTrax recommend that they be used. In a situation where you are wanting to travel forwards, you place the two tracks at an angle similar to mine in front of the two front tyres and if travelling in reverse, then at the same angle but at the rear of the real tyres. The way that you have layed the single track down in front of the rear tyre is not the recommended way for a recovery. Without knowing what instructions came with your copy Trax, it is not the way to use them.

Tony
That looks about the same spot that we went down and like you know it was not the best place to be caught out. Like any piece of recovery equipment, it is better not to have to use it, but it is good insurance if you have to. Like I have said above, we could have got ourselves out, but it would have been a very big job of going backwards, bogging down again, retrieving the MaxTrax and starting the process again. Even though they cost around the $300 mark, it would have cost a dame sight more if a vehicle had to come from Mt Dare or Birdsville to get me out.

FollowupID: 701258

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 07:45

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 07:45
I Agree completely Stephen - my test is definately not a demo of how to use them - It was hard to bog the Patrol and had to do this and also be in 2wd - to get to the real issue which was to test which device generated the most forward thrust.

Copies don't come with a DVD either. But I did have them right way up which is more than 1 set I saw being used once.

FollowupID: 701287

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 12:05

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 12:05
Hi Robin & Anne.
Almost got bogged in the Bush block here at home the other day in my shorty Landcruiser, firsts thoughts were I wish I had the MaxTraxs with me.
As I said on the CSR they are just like Insurance good to have but you hope you never need to use it, don't have it and Murphy's Law will happen. If you let that mud out there dry it sticks like the proverbial to a blanket. I had some minor problems with that.
I hope I can keep mine up on the roof and stay nice and clean.
Russ
AnswerID: 430408

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 14:41

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 14:41
Hi again Robin.
I hate chains but carry them in the winter if I am heading inland.
Do you normally put them on the rear wheels?
For snow and Ice here I like most would put them on the front so they open up the wheel marks for the back.
A lot of people don't realise going up they give more traction, lock the wheels going down hill they are no better than straight tyres.
Russ
AnswerID: 430416

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:59
Hating chains is good Russ - makes you think a bit before going where you might need them .
They are seriously effective , and I was wondering if Stephen above might have made it with a set on.

Normally I have them on front wheels to assit with steering - except if going into steep downhills , then I use them on the back.

In your previous post , I was wondering if you felt the earthquake down your way, from the bits we saw on TV a 4wd shorty may have been handy in some areas.

FollowupID: 701252