towing with LC200

Can anyone provide advice on what is the best way of eliminating the taildrag experienced when towing a van behind my LC200.Just don`t understand how Toyota can claim to have the best towing 4x4 but when you add accesories and/or tow a van their characteristics dramaticly change.I have 65 litre Long Ranger tank added and drawer system and the van I am towing has a ball weight of around 350kg.Tow hitch is an eazlift WDC which I have just had set up by towber centre in Adelaide,have been told differing opinions which vary from should install polyairs to replace springs and shocks.Any recommendations appreciated?

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:11

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:11
I have used polyairs on 3 vehicles and they are a good solution if your weight varies. New springs are a good solution if you have constant weight.

OBT
AnswerID: 429292

Reply By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:32

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:32
A Outbacktourer said polyairs are excellent. We used them on our 80 Series. We also put them on our Troopy and we will no doubt out them on our new Prado.

Bruce
AnswerID: 429298

Follow Up By: Member - Ozzie Nomad (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 21:25

Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 21:25
The Tojo's are terrific trucks, but these days they are a bit of a Toorak Tractor straight out of the box. Comfy & soft on the saddle in the traffic.

If you are always going to be loading it up to the max and then hauling a bigarse van out backayonda, even the big LC200 needs a hand. You'l likely need bigger stronger springs, Airbags, load distributing tow hitch thingamies, ect ect.

But remember, even with all the biggest strongest hairychested bolt ons, the truck is still only built to carry and tow so much.
You might sort the suspension and towing problem, but spare a thought for your wheel bearings, axle housings, control arms, chassis systems.

You might be able to pull it all. But you also have to stop it too.
Things all change when you leave the black top and venture into the rough stuff. I've seen some sadness out there. By the time things break, you can bet you are miles away from any easy help.

Ozzie
FollowupID: 700148

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:50

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:50
Hi first thing what is the ATM of your van? with a ball weight of 350 KG you would be on your limit I would say, so the ATM may be well over 3.5 tonne.
LC 200 is probably 3500 KG rated, this is always a problem when sorting out your van etc.
Towing a van on most of our so called HWY is bull bleep , the conditions of most is bloody atrocious, I only tow a van of 1700 KGs and find it sometime very stressful, so I am thinking it is time to go back to a camper trailer.
AnswerID: 429300

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:03

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:03
I am extremely familiar with a vehicles GVM and GCM, however this ATM thingy has me confounded. C'mon what is it.
FollowupID: 700052

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:14

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:14
This might help you

FollowupID: 700053

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:15

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:15
ATM is Aggregate Trailer Mass which is the total legal weight that the van can be.
The reason I was saying about the ball weight is that normally it is around 10% so may be you need to have the van weighed, any private weight bridge places will normally do it for you
FollowupID: 700054

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:25

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:25
Ah! thought that is what it might be, however couldn't and still can't correlate how being under, at or over the ATM would cause the rear end of the 200 to 'drag' on the ground so to speak.

FollowupID: 700057

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:47

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:47
Hi as I said get the van weighed and if it comes under 3.5 tonne then take your vehicle back to Toyota and ask why it's dragging it's ass
FollowupID: 700058

Follow Up By: CLBL068 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:13

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:13
Hy Bruce,
Thanx heaps for your advice I intend to have it weighed early this week so as to work out first things first
FollowupID: 700211

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:52

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:52
Hi. My brother has the same set up as you with a 75l aux tank. He has polyair bags fitted and the van sits quite level. If you look at your ball weight, draw weight,Aux tank and spare wheel you are up around the 600kg max load recomended by Toyota so you can't really blame them. My brothers ball weight was 420kg for a while till he weighed it and was shocked. He redistributed water tanks and tool box on the van which brought it down around 300kg. As I said, with the Polyairs it now sits pretty level. Regards,Bob

AnswerID: 429301

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:00

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:00
What may I ask is a 'easylift WDC'
AnswerID: 429302

Follow Up By: CLBL068 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:19

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:19
Hey Dust-Devil.
Yeh sorry I meant WDH(Weight Distribution Hitch)
FollowupID: 700212

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:09

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:09
Just another question here.

There are two references to added aux fuel tanks of different capacities in this thread, both being approx 100% in excess of the aux fuel tank Mr Toyota supplies.

Soooooo! are the aforementioned two aux tanks over and above additions to the OEM aux tank, or are they in place of same.

AnswerID: 429303

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:56

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:56
Hi. My brothers vehicle is the first Sahara model and did not have an auxillary tank fitted. His new tank fitted above the spare wheel carrier. Later models did have a tank of around 35ltrs I think so it could be replaced with a larger one. Bob

FollowupID: 700060

Follow Up By: CLBL068 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:26

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:26
Hi there,
The auxillary tank I am referring to is a 70 Litre Long Ranger tank that sits above the spare wheel (No need to relocate)
With the LC200`s only the GXL comes standard with sub-tank as Sahara and VX models are fitted with KDSS suspension which puts the vehicles GTM? over if a sub tank were fitted standard,so I am led to believe?
FollowupID: 700214

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:56

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:56
Sahara's from around the middle of 09 had the factory sub tank tank fitted after much owner feed back. Bob

FollowupID: 700220

Reply By: Member - Carl- Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:39

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:39
I have towed a van upto 4 ton with a LC 200. (not anymore however changed vehicles)

No you no longer can just take the standard LC200 and use it for towing a large van. It is something of a street vehicle these days so you will need accessories.

The other advise given is good but the first thing I would do is get some airbags. Either polyair or firestone. I have had both but prefer firestone. Then re-assess the towing and if not happy look at adding something else. Maybe stronger springs as well.

You did not say if you had a Haymen Reece ride level kit either.

AnswerID: 429304

Reply By: splits - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 00:33

Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 00:33
CLBL068
Those advertised towing weights are the maximum possible in ideal conditions. Conditions are not just road conditions though, there is a hell of a lot more involved and all have to be taken into consideration.

First of all, as Toyocrusa said, the maximum carrying capacity of your car is about 600 kg. That includes everything that has been added to it after it left the assembly line. In your case that would be the weight of all occupants, the tow bar, the weight on the tow ball, the contents of the standard fuel tank, the extra tank and its fuel, your drawer system and its contents and anything else. All of that has to be deducted from the maximum carrying capacity of the car. When you add it all up, there is a fair chance you are way overloaded.
This is where you have to start working things out to see what you can and can't do.

My Toyota handbook says the ball weight on my particular model should be between 5 and 10% of the total weight of whatever you are towing. Yours may be the same. This means if the towing capacity of your car is 3500kg and your van weighs in at that weight fully loaded, Toyota says the car will perform ok with 175 kg on the ball. That alone will make a huge difference providing the van has been designed to work at that weight. If its manufacturer says it should be 10%, or 350 kg, the car is still ok but the other weight in it will have to be reduced.

If on the other hand if you wanted to tow a 3500kg boat for example with two 100 kg people in the car and nothing else, you would be fine even with up to 350 on the tow ball.

If you have the right combination with everything within factory limits, it will work. You can't just load it up with five people, maximum tow ball weight and lots of accessories, as many people do, and expect it to work.

Be careful if you add air bags. They lift the car ok and make it sit flat but they don't increase its carrying capacity. You still have a standard chassis, axle housing, wheel studs, wheel bearings and wheels holding up all of that extra weight. Anyone who has ever worked in an outback repair centre will tell you they have lost count of the number of cracked chassis and broken axle housings that they have seen. Have a look in the vehicle and trailer breakdowns section in the photo gallery on the Mt Dare Hotel website and you will see what I mean.
AnswerID: 429319

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 09:40

Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 09:40
The adding of Airbags ONLY LIFTS WHAT IS ABOVE THEM.

They do not and CANNOT in any way compensate for the weight lifted off the front axle by the weight on the towball.

A WDH is the only way of restoring your rig to somewhere near its original axle loadings.
I see you say you have a WDC is that the same as a WDH

If you have as much as you say you have probably exceeded your rear axle loading on the Cruiser as well.

Mr Toyota bulids a vehicle to certain specifications and then people load them up way beyond what is sensible and then moan about it.

Think about what you have put in it with full drawers extra fuel etc and then stuck 350kg on the back Unreal. About ???? 350kg 350 is the legal MAXIMUM

Also if your vans weight is reflective of the towball weight you have possibly exceeded the GCVM as well.

Happy days with the insurance company if anything goes wrong and can be attributed to the weight factor.

Its not just load her up and away we go a bit of common sense and thought should go into it

Have seen lots of 200's towing big vans in the past year and not seen any dragging their tails significantly so would suggest there is a load problem rather than a vehicle shortcoming here.

A set of progressive springs as I have on my 100 may help.

AnswerID: 429335

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 21:58

Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 21:58
Further to the above
On looking at the specs of a 200GXL TD its GVM is 3300kg and its GCVM is 6680 kg
Its payload is 600kg

SO put an extra tank in and fill it up say 180kg add ball weight of 350 KG= 530kg

Leaves 70kg to stay legal

How much do you and Mum weigh before you put ANY gear or kids in it.

So its at 3300kg hopefully Then its Gross Combined Vehicle Mass or in plain language
The Total Legal weight of the loaded vehicle and the trailer its towing Can ONLY BE 6680kg

So 6680 minus 3300 is 3380 kg and thats all you can tow legally at maximum loaded weight. So the 3500kg towing capacity is only able to be achieved with a half empty fuel tank and no gear in the back.

Also whilst the GVM can be upgraded the GCVM cant so although you can carry more in the car you cant tow as much.

However it seems that the RTA take GTM as the figure being towed so if the
GTM of the van is less than 3380kg you will be legal. maybe!!!!!!!!!!.

As per this answer when I asked a question about a similar scenario

Yes,you can tow the caravan under the following conditions.

1 / You do not exceed the vehicle manufacturers tow capacity of 2500 kg for the vehicle, ( this means that the caravan cannot exceed its GTM, of 2500 kg,even though it has an greater ATM ).

2 / Your vehicle must have a compliant tow bar fitted and it must be correctly rated,the RTA do not have any requirements on "ball weight".

RTA Tech Enq

The vehicle enquired about had a 2500kg cappacity but you will get the picture.

FollowupID: 700150

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 11:38

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 11:38
We learned the hard way about paying attention to the payload numbers.
We had an 80 series with all the accessories (bull bar, winch, draw system, extra tank, dual wheel carrier etc etc). It had upgraded suspension capable of taking the weight and even polyairs in the back because we towed a camper trailer. And a mighty V8 diesel engine to pull everything along.
But moving states we found it hard to register because it didn't leave that much payload left for gear and passengers, our kids were young so we were withing the limit and we didn't load anything into the back apart from what was in the draws already and the fridge already in there. But there just wasn't enough payload left to keep the rego people satisfied. Not just that though like others have mentioned you have potential insurance issues should you be in an accident.
Also don't forget about the brakes too having to stop all that weight, we had to do a brake test as well which it passed but only just (not sure which state that was in, we moved several times!).

Anyhow hopefully you can sort your issues out without looking at either a new vehicle or a new van!

AnswerID: 429406

Reply By: JAX W - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 14:00

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 14:00
This is not entirely true.

1. Our 200 Series has a Lovells GVM upgrade to 3800kg. This is signed off by an approved Engineer. The appropriate Compliance Plate is affixed to the vehicle. The NSW RTA has endorsed this modification and it is referenced on Registration documents. Our Insurance company has been advise and have accepted the modification. The Engineers Certificate must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

2. Our 200 Series has an upgraded Towing Capacity to 3850kg. This is signed off by an Approved Engineer. As with the GVM upgrade, an appropriate Compliance Plate has been fitted, the RTA have been notified, the Registration documents duly acknowledge the modifications and the Insurance company has been notified and accepted the modifications. A copy of the Engineers Certificate must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

The Towball Mass has been set at 420kg. Assuming this Towball Mass, the GCM of vehicle and Caravan (in our case) is 3800 + 3430kg = 7230kg.

3. We have also upgraded the ATM of our caravan from 3500kg to 4320kg. Once again the modifications are approved by an approved Engineer etc, etc. We are limited to towing up to 3850kg.

May I suggest that there are options available which will improve the overall performance and safety of the 200 Series as a towing vehicle.

I hope this helps.

Regards, Jack
AnswerID: 429421

Follow Up By: JAX W - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 14:02

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 14:02
These comments refer to those made by Graham H (QLD). My apologies for any confusion.

Regards, Jack
FollowupID: 700187

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 16:17

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 16:17
Well it does help and up till now it has been assumed that it was not possible.
The figures I quoted were from an article written last November and by others on here who had done the car upgrade but said the GCVM was NOT upgradable.

I wish you well if you ever have to stop in a hurry.

FollowupID: 700195

Follow Up By: JAX W - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 17:16

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 17:16
Hullo Graham

Please be assured that a major brake test was completed with each stage of the upgrades. The final one was with the Landcruiser loaded to 3800kg (including Towball Mass) and the Caravan to 4320kg (including Towball Mass). Total weight measured over a weighbridge was slightly more than this at 7740kg (GCM). There were certain criteria to be met and the combination exceeded those parameters. I was driving the combination "rig" and it behaved very well.

The van is fitted with electro/hydraulic disc brakes with the Actuator and the disc calipers upgraded from the 3500kg rating to 4500kg rating as part of the process. We have travelled some 7,000km since the upgrades and I am much more comfortable with safety aspects than prior to the upgrades.

I always intended to meet or exceed the requirements for the upgrades and I certainly have. I must acknowledge that it was not always a simple process, but if you want to do things properly then you have to pay the price and be thorough.

Regards, Jack
FollowupID: 700204

Follow Up By: CLBL068 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:39

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 19:39
Hey Jack,
Thanx for your info will take it on board when I consult suspension and tow centre tommorow
FollowupID: 700216

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:06

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:06
Hi Jack. I have been wondering if this was possible on my 05 Prado. Was your upgrade done in NSW and if so could you tell me what was involved. I would like to upgrade mine to 3 tonne. as my van will weigh up to 2750kg when fully loaded. Thanks,Bob

FollowupID: 700222

Follow Up By: JAX W - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 08:07

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 08:07
Hullo Toyocrusa

I am sorry to say that I do not have any meaningful information on upgrades for your Prado.

Regards, Jack
FollowupID: 700252

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 08:24

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 08:24
To Toyocrusa

Read my followup to my reply no 9 starting with HOWEVER

That was specifically asked of the RTA in regard to a vehicle with the same towing capacity as yours.

According to that answer you can tow your van PROVIDED ITS GTM does NOT EXCEED 2500kg even if its ATM is higher.

Taking that it means that as your ball weight is part of the tugs load it is not towed so it works out.

However I wouldnt like to tow a van of that weight with a Prado.

FollowupID: 700253

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:08

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:08
Thanks for that Graham. That enlightens me a bit more. The van is a Sterling Outback with a GTM of 2314kg so If I am really careful I can be closer to 2600Kg than the 2750Kg. The Prado tows it well enough although 90/95 is plenty fast enough for us. It is the 2nd 120 series so only has vacuum servo brakes making pedal pressure feel "soft". The later series had the 100 cruiser elecric servo system which, as you know, are brilliant. Thanks again,Bob

FollowupID: 700323

Reply By: Member - Neil B (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 17:28

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 17:28
I am also running the Lone Ranger 70 litre auxilliary tank on my LC 200 TD Sahara. I found installation of airbags (Firestone) was a huge improvement on the stock standard for towing.

I also found another huge improvement by changing my coils and dampers to an ARB heavy duty setup. It is not a particularly cheap solution - but I haven't regretted doing it. It has also enabled me to get a legal GVM upgrade to 3580 kg on the back of ARB's engineer's design.

I tow a Kimberley Karavan which is about 250kg down weight and take this off road. I originally towed a Kimberley Kamper - and the stock standard suspension just didn't cut it towing that either (about 150kg weight).

The stock standard vehicle just doesn't cut it for towing. It doesn't mean that it isn't a good towing vehicle when modified. There are some great upgrades for the LC200 now - it wasn't the case when they were first released.

Good luck with it all.
AnswerID: 429441