Fire Arms?

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:44
ThreadID: 80907 Views:4932 Replies:15 FollowUps:21

We will be becoming gypsies soon for a few years and I am wondering if we need to carry a gun/rifle in case we come across feral pigs/dogs or croc's as we intend going to remote locations. What sort of fire arm would be suitable if needed? Any advice/information re this topic would be appreciated.

Thanks for any help offered

Wayne & Gaby

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:10

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:10
First up I am not a gun owner but I support your right to carry one if you desire to and can justify a need.

To answer your question Wayne & Gaby, I would say you do not need to carry a gun.
Almost all risk from animal attack can be removed by a sensible approach to camping.

Chose your site well, not too close to waterways and keep it tidy to avoid attracting any animals, feral or otherwise.

I make a point of tidying up after each meal to make sure there are no food scraps lying around. Each night or before leaving camp I put the garbage bag in the car and close all doors and windows to keep the smell in.

I once lay in bed and watched a possum very intelligently open my esky. I had put a heavy box of gear on top of the esky to stop this but the possum pushed it off and simply lifted the lid. This guy had done it before. I chased him away before he got anything and then put the esky inside the camper.

Finally, I think having a gun may cause more problems than it solves. Without too much thought I know you are not allowed to carry one into National Parks. I know, you could hide it in your luggage somewhere and the ranger would never find it but that does not make it right.

AnswerID: 428248

Follow Up By: Polaris - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:30

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:30
No right to carry firearms in Australia since jackboot Johnny changed the gun laws after the Port Arthur massacre!

If you need to carry - move to Arizona.

Can't even carry a slingshot here legally any more - Oh what fun we had with them when I was young.
FollowupID: 698935

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:11

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:11
Actually Polaris you can legally carry guns in this country.

I have a friend with a very impressive collection. He even wrote a song about his love of them, check out 'ilikeguns.com'. He has actually produced an entire CD of songs about guns.

While you are on that site have a look at the interview Steve did on A Current Affair. You don't have to be a red neck to own and use guns. In fact if more gun owners acted less like red necks it would be a much less emotive issue.

I stand by my advice.

FollowupID: 698945

Follow Up By: Polaris - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:04

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:04
Thanks for the reply Duncs.

I do own a number of registered weapons and myself, wife and daughter are all licenced shooters.

Please correct me if I'm wrong - but as far as Ive been advised - yes I can carry the weapons in a secure place in the vehicle IF
1. transporting to/from the club or shooting range.
2. transporting to/from a rural property where written permission has been given to shoot.
3. transporting to/from an armourer or dealer for repair.

Weapons and ammunition must be secured separately. Bolts must be removed from rifles and stored in separate secure storage.

We used to all own registered handguns as well and held the appropriate licences - but the changes in the laws made ownership much too difficult. So we sold them all.

By contrast - visited Arizona at a time when we were competing in international competition and found their "carry' laws allowed much more flexibility. In fact it is quite legal to carry a revolver in a hip holster in full view anywhere. No concealed firearms though.
In Tombstone AZ just about everyone carries a six gun! Same goes for knives - ok to carry a Bowie in a scabbard but not a flick knife in your shirt. As long as it is in full view it is ok.

I hate to think of what would happen if our vehicle (here in Qld) was broken into and weapons stolen - what a nightmare the paperwork would be. Probably would also take our licences off us too!
FollowupID: 698956

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 14:18

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 14:18
We have a couple of houses in Phoenix AZ and it's interesting to go to a nice restaurant with a notice saying
"Please place all handguns on your table"

Bruce
FollowupID: 698981

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 01:23

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 01:23
Polaris is correct with one adjustment.

When travelling to and from a club for a competitive shoot, that is not your normal club, eg travelling interstate, the rifles need to be stored in an approved gun cabinet.

When we have a comp here N.S.W. the police come and do spot checks on vehicles that are transporting rifles.

On another note,
You are allowed to carry a bow. You do not need a licence. They do not need to be secured.
They can and will do as much damage as a firearm.
I'm not recommending this as an alternative.
I also believe its illegal to shoot crocs
FollowupID: 699063

Follow Up By: the redbacks - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:35

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:35
Polaris & SDG are both correct, but as i understand the laws in any state, all guns should be locked in a case & "out of site from view" shell, etc., should also be in a locked case, kept in a different place to the gun & also out of view. One club that i visited had a police visit, & warned several shooters that while they are not actually shooting, & their gun is in the car, the car "MUST" be locked.

as a matter of interest, they{fun police} are looking at making all retail stores that sell "TOY" guns & even "soap-on- rope" shaped like a guns to be kept in a locked cupboard while on display ?????? Go figure !!!!!!

FollowupID: 699146

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:12

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:12

If your not an experienced gun owner I think it would be a recipe for disaster????
Ive go nothing against guns, infact I usually take one or three with me but pulling one out for protection if your not good with them might cause more harm than good.
Stay away from the waters edge, dont pick up baby pigs and dont feed the dingos is probably safer..

Hairy
AnswerID: 428249

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:29

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:29
Gooday Wayne & Gabby,
(1) carrying firearms in vehicles is a difficult thing to do and still comply with the law when you leave the vehicle
(2) different states have different firearms laws and you will have to be licensed and the firearm registered in each state. Thats not so difficult if you are are to be a permanent resident, but more difficult when travelling. You will have to consult each authority PRIOR to entering that state otherwise you are breaking the law.

My advice is you do not need one when travelling; its more hassle than its worth and a little planning and care you can avoid the need for one.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 428253

Follow Up By: The other Norm C (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:47
Hi Fred
Thats not quite correct most sates recognise a licensed firearm owner
and allow you to carry firearms through each state.
Thats been my experience travelling to competitions
Norm
FollowupID: 698952

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:11

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:11
Hi Norm,
you are correct... because their is an agreement in place for bona fide licensed club members travelling to competetion, which is different to others carrying firearms for other purposes. I must admit I am not exactly up to date on the latest, but I doubt it has changed that much.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 698959

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:26

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:26
I think WA is the exception....if I am correct you need to get approval to take your firearms into WA
FollowupID: 699077

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 10:23

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 10:23
in WA also you cant carry other peoples firearms

for instance if you decide to lend me your pistol for a competition I cant be found to be in possesion of it outside of the club
our license is a sheet of paper stating my guns with serial numbers

we also have a plastic card with photo ID which we need to buy ammo and we also need to show our license to prove the ammo we are buying is appropriate for out pistols

on a brighter note minimm activity is much easier i just need to attend 8 shoots a year

i can shoot air pistol 8 times which also covers my other pistols
FollowupID: 699093

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:46

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:46
Hi Wayne

I don't think you need a firearm for that use, nor is it effective, there are better ways.

A croc is likely to surprize you, and unless you sit there with a loaded gun
all night you aren't going to win.

An avoidance stratergy is best - followed by a noise maker (small handheld gas powered horn) and last kept an axe handy.

On the more general firearm suitability question a 30/30 is a great tool with its short range and heavy slug.
I use a lever action version known as a horse gun which is very flexible in short range bush.

If your actually out hunting you need longer reach firearm like a 308.

AnswerID: 428254

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:13
I use a 44/40 anything over 20m you throw the gun at it. LOL
FollowupID: 698946

Reply By: Member - A J- Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:13
Wayne & Gaby - lots of comments in threads 68468 and 66859 which may assist you.

When we started to travel back in the late 1970's we carried a rifle but have not carried one since about 1986 - and have never used one whilst travelling for any reason.

A J

AnswerID: 428256

Reply By: Wayne & Gaby - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:18

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:18
Thanks to all for your quick response's, I have now decided not to take a firearm but to carry the suggested loud handheld gas horn, this would be saffice for scarring feral animals and alike, what a great idea, thanks Robin Miller.
AnswerID: 428257

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:29

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:29
Hi Wayne & Gaby, you don't even need a handheld gas horn! Just have a good feed of baked beans each morning, there's nothing like a good fart to clear the area of unwanted visitors! LOL & happy travelling.
FollowupID: 698948

Follow Up By: Polaris - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:07

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:07
BEST POST IN THE THREAD !!

I LIKE IT !!
FollowupID: 698957

Follow Up By: tam16 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:38

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:38
Ahahahahahahahahaha...!!!!
FollowupID: 698963

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:30

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:30
other than crocs and sharks we dont have any land based carnivores....why would you want to scare anything else away?...maybe the odd the dingo you might happen to come across
FollowupID: 699079

Reply By: Member - Carl- Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:37

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:37
Wayne,

There is alot of hype and emotion in previous posts and follow up.

No you do not need a gun.

The second is you cannot carry one as a grey nomad travelling from state to state. The is a good deal of "yes you can" followed by "If". In the context of grey nomad on holiday, the administration going from state to state will kill you in itself.
AnswerID: 428268

Follow Up By: Wayne & Gaby - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:47
As I said above.

Thanks to all for your quick response's, I have now decided not to take a firearm but to carry the suggested loud handheld gas horn, this would be saffice for scarring feral animals and alike, what a great idea, thanks Robin Miller.

Wayne & Gaby
FollowupID: 698977

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:38

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:38
Wayne & Gaby,

""I have now decided not to take a firearm"" this is the best decision you could make

(forget the noise maker too)

As someone who's lived in camping situations near rivers in NT and WA you will not deter a crocodile with the horn, you will be so bleep scared by the sight and size you will either run away like a scared rabbit or be frozen stiff and then you're croc fodder anyway.

Remember, crocodiles can run much faster than you can

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 699048

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 14:23

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 14:23
Yes you can if you do the mound of paperwork and have a licence in each state etc etc. Then find out all the different flavours of the law from state to state. In some states there are severe penalties for illegally carring firearms (read mandatory prision sentance). Then don't go into any National Parks or most Aboriginal land. So should you? Nope, not required. Most legal storage would prevent the use in the case of pigs dogs crocs etc. Basically just have the brain engaged around water and when picking camping spots. Don't feed or play with the fauna, they may look cute but they are wild animals. I've yet to have any trouble with the native community either. Truth be told you are more likely to have trouble from some drunk tourist. Not that I think shooting either is a good way to solve these types of disputes.

If you are not a seasoned hunter I would not even think about it anyway. There are just to many traps for the newbie. If you must a .308 would probably be a fair choice for all occasions.

Basically, to do it legally it is not worth the hassle, if you do it illegally and get caught be ready for some pretty stiff penalties. Who needs the stress. For all the years I've been travelling the outback to some very remote areas I have never once thought 'I wish I had a gun'.

AnswerID: 428271

Follow Up By: Polaris - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:30

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:30
Steve - prior to the big change in gun laws here in Oz - subsequent to the Port Arthur masacre - I always had a rifle in whatever vehicle I owned. Either in the boot of a sedan or behind the seat in the ute. The rifle that I had was a M1 Carbine - useless for any long range stuff, but semi- auto with a 15 or 30 shot magazine - pretty effective on most things close up. Easy to shoot with 1 hand even.
Of course the automatics were banned and it was surrendered and destroyed in the buy-back - for a LOT more than I paid for it I may add!
Have never carried any firearm in the vehicle since - too hard to comply with the law.

But getting back to your "I wish I had a gun" - well I don't know how much outback travel you do, but on more than one occasion we have come across a bunch of cattle that have been hit by trucks/roadtrains and there were injured beasts everywhere. Most trying to crawl away from our vehicle. It is a pittifull sight - the poor things. Now it isn't easy to approach a wounded beast that is trying to get away, but has a broken back or broken legs. So to cut its throat to help put it out of its missery isn't easy.
On one occasion there were over 20 injured beasts and no sign of the truck that hit them.
Even an injured roo isn't easy to approach.

" I wish I had a gun" !!
FollowupID: 699037

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:36

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:36
"For all the years I've been travelling the outback to some very remote areas I have never once thought 'I wish I had a gun'."

I have ....just to pop off that feral dog, fox cat camel goat...or what ever feral it is

I am probably a redneck in some peoples eyes...but at least i help keep the feral numbers down, and enjoy doing it
FollowupID: 699080

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 12:34

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 12:34
We have done a fair bit of travel in the bush over the last 10 years (over 100,000km anyway) and have yet to come across an injured animal. I guess that is luck of the draw. If you are on the road all the time it would be much more likely (a truckie mate has this problem all the time, usually having hit said animal).

As for feral control, don't have an issue with it. But I wouldn't suggest to a newbie that that was the thing to do. Suggest you go down the Gary Highway and shoot a few thousand camels though. Every flat open spot had camel dung up to your arm pits!

FollowupID: 699104

Reply By: Jezza77 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 15:19

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 15:19
a 300 will be more than adequate, bring down pretty much anything except a buff (unless you are a really good shot) just make sure you notify the police on entering each state or territory with in two weeks.
AnswerID: 428279

Reply By: Begaboy - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:18

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:18
Here is a FAQ in regards to gun laws, i am currently applying for A & B ( vermin control ) and i have to jump through hoops whilst juggling in a pretty pink dress for big Brother. And i am on acreage, with letters from friends with 500 ac blocks also saying i will be vermin shooting for them , and this is hard enough! so i dont think you would have much chance of obtaining a licence, UNLESS your working for national parks / contracting for them which would allow you to keep a long arm in your vehicle for the purpose of vermin and humanity reasons

I did hear a rumor ( law enforcement friend ) that you may soon need to have a permit to transport weapons between properties / or notify of there movement BEFORE there moved.

Now for my RANT - As a person who wants to do the right thing by the law , I have a very hard time obtaining a licence to own and use a firearm , this includes safety courses, complete police back ground checks ( even a simple avo from an irate x that had no grounds filing one will prevent your licence being issued for up to 10 years ) then if successful , have to comply with safe keeping of the gun and amo.

Now , if i was a thug , with $500 - $1000 in cash , with the right contacts i get get an unregistered gun within a few hours for what ever purpose

So what do the gun laws do ? make it extremely hard for the Honest guy to get a gun licence, and make it an extremely easy decision for Joe scumbag to obtain a gun illegally..

end of rant

http://www.nswfarmers.org.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0020/12179/Firearms_FAQ_0507.pdf
AnswerID: 428321

Reply By: Teraa - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:20

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:20
I am curious isn't there a time frame you are able to be away from your firearms home state. Doing feral control without the properties permisson could get you in to strife as well. Glad to hear your not taking one. I work in a remote area and it's kinda scarey to think there is people running around with guns shooting whatever. It's like story of Clayton station 2 guys drove down the Birdsville track and decided to shoot the camels and horses on the side of road the only thing is they were family pets and racing camels, nice job.
AnswerID: 428323

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:17

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:17
We have a lot of trouble with exact issue ATM , farmers cows and horses have been shot - as well as cars from clowns shooting from the road onto people property - and no your not allowed to shoot onto private property without permission of the land holder

FollowupID: 699137

Reply By: balko - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:13

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:13
Take your gun get a safe put in the caravan ($250) and buy a 30/30 open sight rifle. I did it and i bet Joanna lees wishes she did to Cheers Balko
AnswerID: 428339

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 22:02

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 22:02
Hi Wayne and Gaby

As made clear by many in the previous threads, you do not need one for self defence. You will most likely get a long holiday in a fixed location if you use it. More likely if you are threatened by a genuine criminal, there is a high chance he will have it from you before you can think.

Shooting is illegal in national parks, towns, private property (unless with the permission of the owner), so there isn't many places you can discharge a firearm. Shooting native wildlife (unless with a permit) is also illegal.

As aforesaid, the logistics of legally transporting from state to state are horrendous.

There are better ways to avoid the danger of a dangerous wild boar. Even feral animals mostly want to get out of our way.

Remote outback locations are far safer than in any suburban street.

AnswerID: 428346

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 04:55

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 04:55
Wayne & Gabby

I love my rifles, and have a good variety of hi powered ones.

I take a rifle, most times, I head out, weather I go bush, or the outback.
I never make it obvious that I have a rifle on board either, that is only asking for trouble. And I never give it a thought of using them for self defence, but some property owner may ask me if I want to go for a shot, then I am ready and able.

Not seen too many feral animals in our camps, as we just try and keep away from spots where ferals frequent, and that includes the human variety.

CHeers

AnswerID: 428362

Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 10:29

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 10:29
Funny how all the scumbags dont need these permits to own or move guns!

Kinda strange really!

Just harass the honest people because its easier.
AnswerID: 428387