Is an AWD a 4WD?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 12:58
ThreadID: 80787 Views:7975 Replies:13 FollowUps:20
Just finalising the last part of our great adventure to QLD from SA via the Birdsville Track. I noticed on the Transport SA website that the Birdsville track is currently only open to 4WD vehicles only, due I guess to the recent rains.

Hence my question. Is an AWD, eg: Holden Captiva, Ford Territory, Subaru etc able to travel roads classified as 4WD only?

I understand the moral implications, eg: 2WD's ripping up the roads etc etc etc, but I also am aware that driving a 2WD on a 4WD only road may attract a fine.

Has anyone ever looked into this, or know of who can ultimately make this decision?

Seems a bit ambiguous considering that I doubt there would be spot checks to see if 4WD's actually have the front hubs locked and transfers engaged while on these roads. Once met a bloke who bragged about getting nearly all the way across the Simpson in 2WD in his Toyota L/C. I thought this practice was illegal, if not immoral because it tears the tracks up.

Cheers....Fab.

Reply By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:01

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:01
To clarify things... I know an AWD is not a 4WD in any other sense of the word, I'm not that stooooopid. Question relates purely to the raod traffic act interpretation.
Fab.
AnswerID: 427581

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:20

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:20
In Australia the term AWD normally refers to a road car that has all four wheels driving - like an Audi Quattro, a WRX, Liberty etc. These are generally characterised with low ground clearance, road tyres and no marketing that relates to off road.

In 4wd vehicles there are usually two groups - softroaders and full 4wds.

Softroaders may be part time or full time 4wd and generally characterised with a little more ground clearance than onroad vehicles but no low range. They may be quite competent off road bit are usually restricted by ground clearance and hill climbing ability.

Full 4wds have ground clearance, low range and are generally more competent off road.

In the circumstances you are talking about softroaders and full 4wds would be considered to be 4wds but as always the capabilities of the vehicles needs to be considered compared to the terrain being driven on - softroaders go very well in sandy/desert areas but do not like slow steep climbs where low range is needed.

I would say that awd road cars do not count as 4wds as far as legislation is concerned.

Garry
AnswerID: 427583

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:34

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:34
Yes.....If it has 4 wheels and they are all being driven its a 4wd.

For rego purposes...probably not.

What is a HJ60 Landcruiser without the hubs locked in? A 2wd or a 4wd in 2wd. What if the front diff broke? A 2wd with a lift kit or an off road 2wd?

Whats a WRX with a lift kit? 4wd or still awd?
How high do you go before it officially becomes an off road 4wd?

Or is it all determined my make/model?

You could argue the point till the cows come home....
But a 4 wheeled vehicle with all wheels being driven is a 4wd.... whether or not its off road or not is up to the driver.

lol

AnswerID: 427584

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:35

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:35
maybe when it becomes a "truck"?????
FollowupID: 698273

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:59

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:59
Gidday

WRX with lift kit ... good one ... I needed a laugh today ...

Rocco
FollowupID: 698275

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:07
Rocco2010 , y 4 you laugh , wrx lifted and modified do VERY well in rallying.
FollowupID: 698286

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:25

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:25
Alloy c/t

I gotta admit I hadn't thought of that ... was thinking more of the Canning Stock Route ... probably towing a camper trailer

FollowupID: 698289

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:24

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:24
There is a mighty boy ute here that has been raised and converted to 4wd. It is now higher than my patrol.
Don't think it would be to practical off road.
FollowupID: 698303

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 08:13

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 08:13
Seen a new hilux the other day - lowered and with low profile tyres.... Looked as stupid as the fellow behind the wheel :)

Think the car lost its identity as a 4x4 , will prob see it in the Mardi Gra next year in sydney :)
FollowupID: 698463

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:37

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:37
I doubt the road transport people would check, or care greatly for that matter. But make a claim for damage from your insurance company and they may look a little closer to determine whether the vehicle should have been there or not, and whether the road conditions were a mitigating factor in the accident.

Also is it a traffic directive or traffic advisory that is on the SA Transport web-site?

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 427585

Reply By: wato35 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:38

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:38
Hi Fab72

You better look into this properly, yes AWD & 2WD vehicles are able to travel these roads if the conditions are good. I was told that when the roads are closed it a $1000 fine per wheel. Not sure if the same applies to your question, but it is expensive if you are wrong.

Wato35
AnswerID: 427586

Reply By: Honky - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 14:16

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 14:16
The way I would interpret open to 4wd only sign is to protect the stupid.
In otherwords if you take a 2wd on a 4wd only road than you could suffer vehicle damage in regards to low clearence, inadequate grip easy bogged etc.
If you have a 2wd and get stuckl and ask for help you will not get any sympathy from the powers to be and would most likey have to pay for any rescue and get a talking to.

honky
AnswerID: 427588

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 15:16

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 15:16
I would say it is probably to protect the people and departments who look after these roads more then to protect the stupid.

The word 4wd should be changed on the signs to say vehicles equipped with low range much like the have on some signs in national Parks, this would stop all the clowns who have be misinformed by car salespersons and advertising hype that suggest a Rav 4, Klugger, Captiva and many more soft offroaders can go anywhere a REAL 4wd with low range can go.

I would say this wording they use on their signs came about many years ago when all 4wd's had good ground clearance and low range, typical naive pen pushers still think this is the case and it's going to cost us tax payers money to change all the signs and pass in legislation for it to become law.
FollowupID: 698278

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:12

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:12
SO since when is a Rav 4 NOT a "REAL " 4wheel drive , .next you will say that any vehicle without the stubby stick is not a REAL 4 wheel drive ,
FollowupID: 698288

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:54

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:54
Whether it has low range or not really isn't the problem with them..... it's more the ground clearance. We were in Birdsville 2 years ago and rescued two cars from being bogged to the floor pan...... one was an Xtrail and the other a Rav4. Why were they bogged? They simply couldn't straddle the ruts.
And that is more likely the thing that will stop a Rav4 out there than low range.

FWIW, I tend to agree with olcoolone on the signage.... simple fact is there ARE people who disregard signage, and then ask for help, which then puts "avoidable" stress on the rescuer and his recovery equipment.

Just my opinion.....

FollowupID: 698307

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 15:05

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 15:05
This is one of the best topics and always gets a lot of feedback.

Now ignore free wheeling hubs, variable torque centre diffs etc etc.

AWD has the ability to provide drive to one of the 4 wheels at any given time.

4WD has the ability to provide drive to one front and rear wheel at any given time. (centre diff lock).

My daughter Subaru Imprezza is an all wheel drive, but jack up one wheel and it don't go anywhere. (no lockable centre diff).

My Landcruiser is an All Wheel Drive and the same applies with one wheel off the ground, but I can lock the centre diff = 4WD and off she goes.

Subaru Outback and Forrester are 4WD Captiva and Territory AWD most police or State authorities would know that.

AnswerID: 427596

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:28

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:28
good post tony...

and lets not forget, jack up one of a 4b's front wheels and one of a 4b's rear wheels an' it wont go anywhere ether - long live the mighty diff lock!
FollowupID: 698290

Reply By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:05

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:05
Thanks to all.
I am very aware of my vehicles limitations and having been on a pre trip scout out to the Birdsville track as far up as the Cooper, I have a fair idea what to expect.

Will I venture with my Captiva to the Simpson Dessert? Yeah sure...well to the base of big red and that's about it. I'm very mindful of the safety of my vehicles occupants, others safety and the fact that the car will still have about 6000kms in front of it to do, plus the additional load it will be carrying.

I'm not out to set any "hero records", but I do want to travel the length of the Birdsville track LEGALLY.

If it dries up and reopens to all traffic, then my question will be null and void. If however, the track keeps getting top up rain, I may have to look into this further.

$1000 per wheel....YIKES! I hope they don't count spares as well...LOL.

Thanks again and keep the posts coming.

Fab.
AnswerID: 427597

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:47

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:47
If the captiva is an AWD then there would be no reason not to climb big red, unless rutts or ground clearance is an issue, have seen subarus, klugers and ravs (no centre diff locks) climb many a sand dune some easier then a big 4wd.............
FollowupID: 698280

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 17:39

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 17:39
I agree in sand - softroaders because of their lighter weight and better power to weight ratios very often perform better than full size 4wds.

Garry
FollowupID: 698284

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:10

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:10
Yeah..she's AWD, auto, diesel.
FollowupID: 698302

Reply By: smokie - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:13

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:13
yes they do count spares
AnswerID: 427598

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:43

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 16:43
In all reality they were driving cars up and down these and similar tracks back in the 1920’s, and that isn’t to say they had an easy run of it.

But today, we have far more capable and reliable vehicles (yes debateable I know!) and everyone worries about whether it is suitable, and that isn’t a go at those responding here...just an observation of the pen pushers, and do-gooders trying to ‘protect’ us.

Tom Kruse was doing it in the ‘Badger’ in the 1950’s on a track that looks nothing like the track we see today....

Litigation lawyers and many of their clients have a lot to answer for in my opinion; they’ve managed to turn the world into a place where even walking from the front-door of your house to the letter-box and back is considered dangerous and something to be protected from!

Ah...fell better now!

Cheers, The Landy

AnswerID: 427601

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 18:07
"
Litigation lawyers and many of their clients have a lot to answer for in my opinion; they’ve managed to turn the world into a place where even walking from the front-door of your house to the letter-box and back is considered dangerous and something to be protected from!
"

Absolutely.. 100% agree....
FollowupID: 698285

Follow Up By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 20:45

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 20:45
That old truck,you could probably fix it with a bit of chewy,a piece of string and a good hard flog with a hammer! They dont make 'em that tough anymore.
FollowupID: 698299

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 19:21

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 19:21
How does this Hyundai AWD transmission compare to the drivability of true 4wd's ?

They have an electronically-controlled on demand AWD, including driver selectable centre differential lock for 50/50 front/rear, with a 6 speed automatic with electronic sequential manual mode gearbox.

Not interested in comments on height or ride etc, at this time, just the way the transmission works ?

Would it be suitable for launching and retrieving a 4mt tinni off the beach ?

Hyundai ix35 AWD

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 427612

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 23:06

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 23:06
Maîneÿ . . .

On demand can be a bit "iffy", the early Freelander and Nissan X trail had similar type transmission. They drive the main wheels (front) if they get slip, the rear get variable traction. 80 - 20 through to 50 - 50.

Excellent in 75% of cases, but in very slippy or boggy stuff, the extra drive came in just after you got stuck.
The manual override is a bonus as on a slippy ramp you can lock it in.

Most of the new systems are good and work well in soft roaders and in some of the larger units.

I'm waiting for the 12 speed auto box that has 5 or 6 speeds to use as low range and the rest for high range (Mercedes has an 8 speed already). No more stopping to drop into low range and back...

FollowupID: 698318

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 10:58

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 10:58
Mum has a Hyundai Tuscon V6. It does have the option of manually engaging 4WD but it will go back to 2WD above 40km/h (I think). I can think of a few situations where that will be a problem, ie sand and mud.
FollowupID: 698348

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:36

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:36
just a little story...

went to the snow once with a mate in his Mazda 323 Turbo 1.6L DOHC Full Time Four Wheel Drive (that's about what the stickers down it's flanks said) which had a good 4" clearance and low profile performance tyres. They were fitting chains to non 4WD's and when the ranger came over my mate said "it's 4WD, do we have to fit chains" and he let us through. Thankfully the little Mazda ploughed it's way through the snow the rest of the way to the carpark and we didn't end up looking like jackassses, stuck somewhere!
AnswerID: 427626

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 00:21

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 00:21
I was wondering about the snow chain angle as they are compulsory on the Snowy Mtns highway 4wd exempt. Mike
FollowupID: 698322

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:05

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:05
Hi Fab,

I would think that the only problem you are likely to be confronted with is ground clearance, some of the tracks in the desert have been cut up this winter due to the wet, and you "might" get stuck. If you have recovery gear with you, there will always be someone who would help you out. Just make sure you have your recovery gear with you, and not left in the caravan park.... LOL... it does happen!

"Once met a bloke who bragged about getting nearly all the way across the Simpson in 2WD in his Toyota L/C. I thought this practice was illegal, if not immoral because it tears the tracks up. "

Not illegal, dunno about immoral.... I wouldn't brag about it, but it depends on the vehicle and the drivers capability. I towed my Tvan across the desert last month, wets to east, did most of it in 2wd. Not the wet area's or the dunes, but a lot of the easier stuff was 2wd. Only to conserve fuel, not to be a hero. 16psi all round, careful track reading and common sense got us through.

Enjoy it out there mate.... it is truly awesome!!

AnswerID: 427631

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:57

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:57
....."common sense got us through". Where have I heard that before? Haha.

Thanks Brian, I have found over the years that my commonsense has adapted to compensate for my light wallet that doesn't allow for the purchase of the Wizz bang, go anywhere, off road machine.

Also, I don't mind a challenge (safe and calculated one with a good exit plan of course).

As for the Guy in 2WD across the Simpson. I doubt this guy had enough grey matter to even consider any significant reduction in tyre pressures. Hence my immoral comment..... he would have ripped the guts up out of the tracks making it both harder and more uncomfortable for fellow travellers.

Fab.
FollowupID: 698341

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:27

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:27
LOL!! Glad to see it wasn't lost on you Fab!! I slipped that one in there to see if you were awake.... ;-))

FollowupID: 698393