Nissan ZD30 Engine

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:51
ThreadID: 62797 Views:11564 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
Hi like other patrol drivers i have a engine that has blown up after 200000km not to mention all the other know problems that i have experienced. Wrote to Nissan about their duty of care as my car was out of warranty, they replied with nothing we can do. (must be a standard letter they reply with. There appears to be so many options available. If anybody has some sound advise i'm all ears. I would like to take Nissan on but i'm a small fish in a big pond. If i don't get my engine fixed i was looking to use my blown engine as bargining power for the 2008 Nissan Patrol. Please advise. Jonesy

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:59
I can't figure this out, You would buy another one of the same after the issues you have with the first??

Nothing has changed with these engines from what I can see and the same issues are developing as time goes by.

Have a look at this Thread on blown Series 4 engine

AnswerID: 331347

Follow Up By: Jonesy65 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:10

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:10
John, understand what you are saying. I don't want to purchase another patrol either but it appears from what i have read the car is worth nothing dead or alive. Thanks for the link but this still doesn't help find answers yet. I read an article on this forum which I can't again about a 2007 motor or 4.2 motors being installed so l was looking for more info.
FollowupID: 599113

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:42

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:42
Start with this Thread on project TONI.
Which was a 4.2 Toyota engine transplanted into a former 3.0 litre Nissan.
Have a look at Colins Blog as it has the whole story.

FollowupID: 599119

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:30

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:30
I am a Toyota person myself, but that aside, what is needed is for a group of Nissan owners to commence a class action. Someone needs to set up a Web Site and ask for contributors to provide details of FACTS and Nissan replies and costs and outcomes etc.

Obtain financial contributions from a group of COMMITTED owners (or ex owners) and go to a good class action lawyer in Sydney or Melbourne - that would frighten the pants off NISSAN but in the end I expect they will win (bigger dollars), but if it was me with a Nissan I would get an awful lot of satisfaction by providing maybe $500 to such an action. Who knows, it could even change the way vehicle manufacturers deal with warranty and out of warranty issues
AnswerID: 331353

Follow Up By: swampey - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 01:02

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 01:02
Hi all, first time here so here goes;
I own a nissan gu 03 but i must admit im turning.Give it another few months and i think im going to abandon ship.Only because of reliability everything else i love about it .

Thats it thanks.

ps this isnt to start a us them thing its just me!
FollowupID: 599122

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:13

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:13
Fellas

Go look here http://www.slatergordon.com.au/pages/class_actions.aspx?gclid=CP64wd_Ru5YCFQNbxwodvVeing

its something I googled. Also there is plenty of anecdotal evidence of ZD30 blown motors on Google

An Archive Search is also good here on EO to help with a Class Action.

In North America Nissan has been suied for a number of vehicle faults(also Google)

FollowupID: 599131

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:45

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:45
Class action is the only thing that is useful, once you get it rolling, you can then seek publicity for the cause.. Imagine a line of Patrols and Navaras wiith a pile of broken bits displayed in front of each vehicle and its mileage.. Would be really embarrasing and hard to explain by a Nissan spokesperson of their lack of anythiing helpful to the affected customers... Michael

FollowupID: 599151

Reply By: ingo57 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:19

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:19
Hi again Jonsey

I hope you get your answer mate.
As discussed in previous post I would be looking down the line of a 4.2 Nissan transplant, no cutting/chopping or modifying should be able to buy everything from a good Nissan wrecker.

I cant understand why this is not a viable option for blown 3lts except for the auto jarga, but this has also been done.

AnswerID: 331389

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:13

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:13
Agreed that a class action is pretty much the only thing that is going to work as Nissan knows of the problem, has done its research into what it will cost to repair the engines versus what it will cost to fight the poor consumer on every issue.

They have a list of standard letters that are sent out in the hope that consumer will go away... and then at the 11th hour they offer something short of what the owner wants but facing going through court etc on their own accept the deal..

If a single owner goes to court it is very easy for a large manufacturer to say that they produce heaps of these cars and it is an isolated incident but if it is a group thing the evidence quickly mounts that there is a major fault and hence liability lies with Nissan.... they then have a precedent set for other claimants in court who can refer to that finding... big business!
AnswerID: 331409

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:16

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:16
Try The Complete Engine Company in Vic. It would be the most economical way to get it back on the road. Thats who I use through my business. Most ZD30 owners rebuild it and keep until the new engine warranty is out and then trade it or sell it.
No affiliation just a happy customer.
Scott
AnswerID: 331450

Reply By: TheMajor - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:58

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:58
G'day Jonsey
Really sorry to hear about your problems with your ZD30. It is a shame you know, for such a good car to have such an unreliable engine. I don't think it is anything to do with the 3ltr being too small. I think the problem starts right from the very beginning when it sucks in the first gulp of air. I purchased a Series III ZD30 in late 2002 brand new and just recently sold it after my 150,000 km extended warranty ran out because it just made me feel uneasy hearing about all the engine failures. I remember I used to inspect my air filter every 5,000 kms and I changed it at every 10,000 kms because it was absolutely filthy and sometimes at 5,000 kms whereas Nissan recommend it gets changed at 40,000 kms. There was also problems with the MAF sensor and I used to clean that every 10,000 kms as well. I was contemplating disconnecting the pollution recycle system as I feel this was also contributing to the engine failures, particularly blowing no.4 piston, but decided against it and just got rid of the vehicle and bought myself a new 2008 Toyota Landcruiser and mate the difference in feeling of peace of mind is well worth the extra dollars, not mentioning the power of the twin turbo V8. However, before I purchased the Landcruiser I rang Nissan's customer service in Melbourne and asked him what engine modifications had been made to the new common rail diesel engine and after 3 letters to him with still no answer he informed me that this matter of the Nissan engine enquiries was terminated and no further conversation would be entered in to. His name was Andrew and he told me he was the Customer Service Manager for Nissan Australia. After this negative response to a Nissan owner who was thinking of purchasing the new common rail diesel I considered the service and response I experienced to be appauling. So I wish you all the best of luck mate!
I know Nissan Australia monitor this website and its a pity they don't take on board the comments and problems of their loyal customers.

All the best and I hope your situation is rectified by Nissan.

The Major

AnswerID: 331458

Reply By: anglepole - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 16:42

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 16:42
Hi Jonesy65,

I am sorry to hear your problems with your ZD 30 Engine. As the vehicle is barely out of Warranty in time and kilometres I find it extraordinary that Nissan is so truculent

I spoke to my local Nissan dealer earlier today and he has not ever heard of 4 cracked pistons.

I would certainly press Nissan to to find why they have not offered to contribute to its costs.

I had a Holden that developed an expensive fault 3 months out of warranty, However they came to the party because I had documentary evidence that the vehicle was serviced and maintained by a Holden Dealer.

Any way keep us informed and I hope Nissan give you some financial relief.

AnswerID: 331651

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 17:24

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 17:24
The way to take them on is simple, cheap and risk free.

The Small Claims Tribunal, (VCAT in Vic). Costs about $30 to lodge a claim, no lawyers allowed, no costs can be awarded so all you risk is $30.

With the amount of eveidence available you would be a "walk up start". I know, I've done it with another manufacturer with an out of warranty car.

If you want any advice on how to do it, call me on 0411 874406.

It is very easy.

AnswerID: 331656

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:11

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:11
Thanks for that Jim

I thought I would post this reply I received from the Queensland Office of Fair Trading ....

With regard to Nissan and their awareness of this problem, I would recommend you contact Nissan and enquire about any recalls on that particular engine and deal with them direct, rather than through the dealer. But again you will need to seek you own independent legal advise.

Legal advice is recommended. To obtain independent legal advice, you should contact a private solicitor.

Alternatively, you can contact the following agencies who may be able to assist you with legal advice; however there may be restrictions on who may be eligible to use their services.

Alternative agencies:

* Community Legal Service - Check your white pages under Community Legal Service
* Caxton Legal Centre - www.caxton.org.au
* Consumer Law Advice Clinic - www.qpilch.org.au
* Legal Aid Queensland - www.legalaid.qld.gov.au

I'll continue discussion in my thread.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 599455

Follow Up By: Jonesy65 - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:39
Hi Jim. I like your idea. I'll call next week to discuss further.
FollowupID: 599537

Follow Up By: Jonesy65 - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:42

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:42
Hi Malcolm,

Thanks for the info. Pat Farmers office I have spoken to the office office of Catherine Cusack MLC, the NSW Shadow Minister for Fair Trading who have said they will look into the matter further for us.

Catherine office confirmed yesterday that this matter will be escalated on Monday

Spoke to Jim yesterday and he was very helpful. I have passed the information onto Pat Farmer (Federal member for Macarthur) and I'll be following up the small claim tribunal option as well.

I also like the idea about collecting as much evidence as suggested by another member. I have a mate who may be able to start up a web page and record this data so it can be used against Nissan.

I will let you know of any developments. We may be able to attack this from two angles.
I can be contacted on 0418977601 if you wish to have a chat

Kind regards,

Ray
FollowupID: 600829

Reply By: Eric Experience - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:24

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:24
Jonesy.
It's natural to get upset but the motor can be fixed for under $1k if you do the work yourself. To stop it happening again all that is required is some form of over boost warning, you could just have a gauge or a pressure switch and buzzer.If I had one of these Nissan I would fit the warning ASAP. Eric.
AnswerID: 331702

Follow Up By: Jonesy65 - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:49

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:49
Hi Eric, are your referring to purchasing a engine kit and doing the work myself? I don't have the knowledge or the tools required. Or are you referring to something else?
FollowupID: 601450

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 21:18

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 21:18
Jonesy.
Yes the $1k is the price of 4 pistons and the gaskets. You could buy a workshop manual that explains how to change the pistons and the tools for about $500. Still way cheaper and better than any conversion. Eric
FollowupID: 601456

Reply By: Jonesy65 - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:37

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:37
Thanks to all the valuable information posted on this thread. Colin the engine conversion sounds impressive but unfortunately i don't have a spare 24k. I have contacted my local member in Macarthur who has agreed to reply to Nissan on my behalf. Lets see where this takes me.
AnswerID: 331705